We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Cambrian
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Bristol(Adelboden)
US$172
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$156
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Baren(Adelboden)
US$181
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$172
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Beau-Site(Adelboden)
US$272
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Crystal(Adelboden)
US$110
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Adler Adelboden(Adelboden)
US$224
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$216
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Waldhaus-Huldi(Adelboden)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (917)
Filter reviews
917 results
Traveller rating
538
244
82
27
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
538
244
82
27
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoutdoor poolspa areadesign hotelpanoramic viewlobby barsteam roomski resortswiss alpssmall gymwinter gardenski roomspa treatmentssouth facing roomjunior suiteevery eveningbeautiful hotelgreat spa
Filter
Updating list...
435 - 440 of 917 reviews
Reviewed 6 October 2009

Spent a week here in September 2009, and found the hotel very comfortable. The spa facilities were excellent, and the food very good quality. We were staying for pure relaxation, and as a base for exploring the region by car. Although it is at the end of the valley, this did not cause any great problems, with Frutigen being a 15 minute drive away, and Bern 55 minutes away. However in peak season, parking would be a problem in Adelboden.

We had booked a half board package, and following other comments about the amount of food, were concerned that the portions would be less than generous. As it turned out the half board menu offered a different menu every night, and the portions were more than enough to satisfy our hunger. The breakfast was a wide ranging buffet with excellent choice.

Of particular note were the staff at the hotel who could not have been more friendly and helpful. From the spa, to the restaurant and front desk, they were all equally helpful and efficient.

Due to the time of year we were staying, the hotel was fairly empty, though weekends were a lot busier. Only real diappointment was a lack of a bath in the room, though it didn't really matter with the spa facilties on site, and the excellent swimming pools, sauna and steam room. the rooms themselves, whilst not large were perfectly adequate, very comfortable and very well equipped. After all, do you want to live in the bedroom, when you have the region to explore?

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simonlincs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2009

we stayed at Solis Cambrian hotel and spa for 4 days, we had a great experience... the staff were nice, the room was clean and cozy. It is a nice modern hotel and right in front of the bus station, which is also on the main street of the town, and there is a supermarket right behind it as well as a ski rental shop.

The breakfast buffet was Ok, it wasn't for 5-star hotel level.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noura77077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2009

We just made a stopover for one night in Adelboden and were curious to check the Cambrian Hotel. Very good located mid-village but with hardly no garden or similar. The outdoor area was small and only equiped with a few but comfortable sunbeds. We were given one of the few existing rooms under the roof in the upper floor, very spacious and with stylish interiour (like the rest of the place), don't know how the other rooms look like. Wellness area was very good, was just missing some hidden outddor space after sauna to chill down. Did not like the interiour of the restaurant, too stylish giving a cold atmosphere with bad noice protection. Food was very good, service in general too, only the restaurant had some coordination problems. Over all a good experience.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ric58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2009

The hotel website pretty much says it all. The Solis Cambrian is simply sensational in every respect and certainly offers a unique contemporary experience in Adelboden. Views, staff, accommodation, spa, breakfast and value for money cannot be faulted. Superb walks all around the valley.

Check their website for low season deals - we got 3 nights for the price of 2 and stayed in a 'Cambrian Suite' which was great. You can even keep up with your favourite TV programmes - the in-room system has 700 channels including all the main UK ones.

One notable thing to be aware of. If you fancy going to Europe's highest railway station at the Jungfraujoch, the train ticket from Lauterbrunnan (drive takes just over an hour from Adelboden) costs.......£107.50 per person (return !). We swallowed hard and paid it. It was an amazing experience but a very cheeky price. You can also visit Bern in just over an hour - a beautiful old town.

Outstanding hotel.

PS. absolutely gay friendly too.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rex-Farquaharson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2009

As a journalist for a travel agency, I travel widely and stay at many hotels. What was outstanding in the Solis - besides view, delicious bedlinen, mattress, and swimming pools - is the staff. They are cheerful and actually smile to you. It makes you feel special and welcome. I would certainly mention Stephan at the reception, who is friendly and unruffled even to difficult guests. I was quite trying: I asked at 23:00 to change my wet bed linen, and was met with concern and a full bed change. The hotel, even though I spent a lot of my time working, exudes an atmosphere of peace and caring. Another advantage is the wireless service all over hotel grounds. Definitely recommended!
D.F Belgium

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews