We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Bristol - a truely happy hotel - first class experience”
Review of Hotel Bristol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Bristol
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Adelboden
Reviewed 24 March 2011

The Hotel Bristol is a perfect place to stay in the village of Adelboden. Stayed here for a week with Crystal Ski and we were the only British couple there - the welcome from the staff couldn't have been warmer. They were all at the very least polite and most were very friendly and helpful - particularly Anke who worked on reception. We had the Papillon room which was bizarrely attached to the dining room but we had our own separate entrance if we wanted to go in and out that way. The room was large bright and airy and for a ski holiday was great - lots of hooks on doors for jackets etc., and plenty of hangers in the wardrobe. The food was of a generally good standard, and the waiting staff were also lovely and friendly. They conversed equally with the German speaking guests, spoke French to French and Belgian guests, and spoke perfect English to us. Locally the Hotel is classed as a 3 star, but I have never stayed in a 3 star as nice as this. The whole village is geared towards health, relaxation and spa experiences. The Hotel has a 'Wellness Centre' (outside just across from our room) which was free to use for guests with a Hammam, Swedish sauna and individual jacuzzi baths. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone, we had a lovely stay which made up for the lack of good snow!
There is a new sports centre in Adelboden where you can go bowling until 12.30 am, and there's a Curling Rink which offers taster sessions - if you phone beforehand you can book a session (providing there are sufficient others to make up a group), which is great fun.
For a nice drink visit the Hotel Beau Site at the top end of the village - it has a lovely basement wood-panelled 'Gaststube' serving very reasonably priced cocktails - and again, the barmaid who served us here was very attentive and friendly. It must be something in the Adelboden water - everyone is so friendly!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank C_Sutty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (146)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 146 reviews

Reviewed 25 January 2011

we booked this hotel for a long week end, as a group of 4 with 4 kids. the location is convenient, and the rooms large and very clean. food is a bit shabby but the people at the restaurant do their best. the service at the reception was very helpful expecially the very kind german lady. the owners mthough should learn more and try to smile and help clients. for a week end i can recommend this place but i would have dinner elsewhere

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Haiganush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2010

We stayed at the Hotel Bristol for 9 nights during late August / early September.

We were given an exceptionally good room on the top floor with great views. Breakfast, and especially dinner, were of a very high standard and far better than you would expect from a 3 star hotel.

The hotel is well situated, only 2 minutes walk from the main street and the bus station of Adelboden.

The one thing that made this hotel a great place to stay was the staff. From the welcome at the reception, the ever smiling dining room staff, and in fact everyone we came into contact with, all appeared to be happy at their place of work.

The owners of this hotel need have no worries as long as they have staff as good as this.

As for Adelboden itself we found it to be a lovely place to stay with great walks and great scenery.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank napier2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2010

We came on the location and couldn't find the hotel. It appeared to be located above the center of the village of Adelboden. We were very surprised by the reception at our visit. The lady was very kind to us and was helpful. She took us to the room, which was very cosy and well furnished with romantic parts like the curtain above the bed and reproductions on the walls. The balcony gave us a beautiful view over the surrounded mountains. The hotel offers free wireless internet. Breakfast and dinner were very good. Staff is very friendly and helpful. The only thing we want to mention is that the road ends in the village. If you stayed one week, no problem. But we stayed 3 weeks, so we sometimes wanted to have a look somewhere else. Then you have to drive the way back to Thun etc. But overall it was a very good experience.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Videobird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2010

We loved this hotel- we toured with a large group and 24 of our group stayed here in this charming hotel- run very similiar to a bed and breakfast.

The dinners and breakfast were some of the best we had on tour. They had candle light dinners.

The town had the best bakery. This is not a place for night life so if you are looking for that you must stay some where else in Switzerland.

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank penguin28173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2010

Location, quality of the rooms and breakfast were rather good and we really enjoyed steam and finnish Sauna.
At first sight, the staff seemed friendly and helpful, but proved to be unflexible and annoying at times (e.g. the reception lady ingnoring guests whilst having personal conversations on the phone), especially when confronted to criticism (e.g. bread served for dinner being old, problems with the car caused by staff).
Other problems not expected at a 3 star establishment at this price range were smelly rooms and average dinner quality. But it really was the staff's boldness that made our stay a disappointing experience...

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TheTravellingPerson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2009

Accommodation with package deal ski holidays is usually a let down, especially in the most expensive February half term holiday.
The pictures of Adelboden and Hotel Bristol were unremarkable, and so it was a most pleasant experience to arrive. Judging by the images on websites we were in one of the cheapest rooms, but it was still excellent. My fussy 8 year old daughter loved the food (even though it was "authentic", varied and not fish fingers and chips) and she really got on with the staff.
The "wellness" stuff was a bit of a mystery and not investigated, but there were such pretty walks in the surrounding woods and hills that this took up what little time there was outside of skiing. The hotel had several families with children staying despite its orientation to adults : children's facilties would have been good, such as a children's room/area where they can meet each other and play.
My only worrys are that this will be the only delightful hotel we will ever find when skiing on a budget, and that the company was about to remove it from its brochure as so few people chose it!!.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mongod M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Adelboden hotels
0.1 mi away
The Cambrian
The Cambrian
#1 of 15 in Adelboden
851 reviews
0.2 mi away
Parkhotel Bellevue
Parkhotel Bellevue
#3 of 15 in Adelboden
229 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Crystal
Hotel Crystal
#14 of 15 in Adelboden
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Beau-Site
Hotel Beau-Site
#10 of 15 in Adelboden
128 reviews
0.0 mi away
Adler Adelboden
Adler Adelboden
#2 of 15 in Adelboden
157 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Viktoria Eden
Hotel Viktoria Eden
#12 of 15 in Adelboden
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bristol

Address: Obere Dorfstrasse 6, Adelboden 3715, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Adelboden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Adelboden
#3 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Adelboden
#4 Spa Hotel in Adelboden
#4 Romantic Hotel in Adelboden
Price Range: £105 - £241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Bristol 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hotel is situated in the very heart of Adelboden (3 minutes walking distance to the cable car): we offer very silent and comfortable rooms, a warm familiar ambiance and a fantastic Wellness-Area with jacuzzis, steambath, Finnish sauna, biosauna and solarium - a pleasure for young and old! Hotel restaurant in a relaxed, solid atmosphere, where we do our best to spoil our guests. Have a drink at our bar or in front of the warming fireplace in our elegant hotel lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bristol Hotel Adelboden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing