We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel Hari was friendly, immaculate, excellent value with personalized service and care.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Hari im Schlegeli

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Hari im Schlegeli
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Adelboden
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hotel Hari was friendly, immaculate, excellent value with personalized service and care.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2010

My husband and I had a wonderful stay for a week at the Hotel Hari. Service was friendly and personalized. They offered us the use of a washer and clothesline, gondola discounts, bus and train schedules, assistance in renting bicycles and parking them, and immaculate facilities. The hotel is only a few blocks from downtown Adelboden, an easy walk or even easier bike ride. Our room was comfortable for the whole week, well-appointed, with a private balcony and gorgeous view of the mountains. Television was available in the common lounge, which facilitated our spending time with the other guests and not locked in our room. The breakfast buffet was bountiful and the 4-course dinner superb every night, served family-style at assigned tables. With the many languages spoken, this led to the making of new friends and learning of each other's cultures, as well as many hilarious moments as communication was attempted with signs and gestures. We were, in fact, the only English-speaking guests at the time, but several of the staff spoke impeccable English when my limited German or French proved inadequate. Best thing about the Hari -- the friendly, family atmosphere. Worst thing about the Hari -- the Internet computer in the reception area did not always work well, more of a problem for my husband than myself.
Pat from Baltimore, Maryland, USA

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PatDisharoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    9
    3
    2
    6
See reviews for
32
18
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
lausanne, switzerland
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2010

This hotel is a mix of the best and the worst:
The good things: The location is great for skiing, the bus to the ski trails stops in front of the hotel, cars can be parked for free , most of the staff is very kind (except an arrogant and unplasant german receptionist ), the rooms are warm, clean and quiet.
The bad side: Small rooms with no televisor (I wonder how they could get a three star classification), the christian orientation (prayer before the meal), the heavy meal organisation (dinner between 18 and 18h 45 only, table assigned, sometimes shared with somebody else), the obligation to take the half board with 2 set menus on week-ends (you can't choose the one on the first night, so if you're vegetarian, forget it), the price (180 euros a night is not really a bargain). All this special atmosphere remembers terribly the boarding schools of the 70ths and can really spoil a stay. Finally when checking out, we had to fight for paying with a credit card (while it stands on the reception desk that credit cards are accepted) because of the 3% commission they have to pay and as already stated in an other review check your bill carefuly: We were charged one evening meal we did not take and a single drink was charged as a full bottle.
The final feeling is that If they adore Jesus-Christ, they did not totally give up the earthly temptations of Mammon...

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank krutshovova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2009

My first visit at Hotel Hari was as a child 20+ years ago, I've stayed on every visit since and I'll be staying there again this summer. As much as I love the place, I can understand that it's not ideal for someone looking for a trendy, hip, fancy hotel.

The hotel is very quiet, catering mainly to older travellers, small groups and hikers in summer months. Bernd Zanker is the current manager. He's friendly, always willing to help, but not the warmest character. The rest of the staff are extremely pleasant people.

There are several parts to the property, and depending on which part of the hotel you choose, there are large differences in the age of the rooms, decor and the view. The older part of the main buidling (upstairs from the diningroom) is older, clean, well maintained, but with most rooms sharing common shower and WC facilities. The newer parts of the hotel (opposite the front desk) are mainly en-suite and some have balconies overlooking the valley towards Esligenalp.

I prefer the older part of the hotel, simply because of habit, but request the newer part of the hotel if you are looking for a more modern feel.

  • Stayed September 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank buytherules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reutlingen
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2009

We had the most fabulous holiday at the hotel Hari. It was very quiet although near to the center of Adelboden. The dining-room as well as our room has the most spectacular view to the mountains. Most rooms have balconies. The buffet breakfast offered a great variety and was delicious (local food of high quality included). For dinner we could choose between two different menus. They all were exquisite and wonderfully presented. The staff are very helpful and friendly and truly professional. We got very good value for our money and you could easily park in front of the hotel.

We will definitely return next year and highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OxfordReutlingen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winter Haven
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2009

This place was listed as a three star. It is by far not a three star hotel. Beware all room do not have baths, TV or telephone. Matter of fact, the entire wing that I was staying, no room had a bath. The water closets and shower wre at the end of the hall. As with community showers and water closets, they were not as clean as you like.
The dinner cost 5 francs, inexpensive by far, food fair. Good location.
Lastly, check you final bill with a fine tooth comb, I hade a few add-ons, that were not mines.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — Rooms, no baths, no TV
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank mrtraveler40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Adelboden hotels
0.3 mi away
The Cambrian
The Cambrian
#1 of 15 in Adelboden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#7 of 15 in Adelboden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Beau-Site
Hotel Beau-Site
#10 of 15 in Adelboden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Adler Adelboden
Adler Adelboden
#2 of 15 in Adelboden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.7 mi away
Waldhaus-Huldi
Waldhaus-Huldi
#6 of 15 in Adelboden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Viktoria Eden
Hotel Viktoria Eden
#13 of 15 in Adelboden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hari im Schlegeli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hari im Schlegeli

Property: Hotel Hari im Schlegeli
Address: Gartenweg 5, Adelboden 3715, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Adelboden
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Adelboden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hari im Schlegeli 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Hari im Schlegeli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing