We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Einfach ausgezeichnet!”
Review of Hotel Bernerhof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Bernerhof
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Kandersteg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 June 2012

It is difficult to find sufficient superlatives to describe our stay in the Bernerhof. Of particular note is the excellent standard of the food for a half-board package. We stayed eleven nights and nothing on the menu was repeated during that time. The owners, Claudia and Gerhard, and all of their staff are extremely helpful, attentive and pleasant. Unfortunately we did not meet the chef during our stay, so, to him and the others confined to the kitchen, a big thank you for the wonderful meals we enjoyed.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nauticalgeordie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (288)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Bernerhof
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

150 - 156 of 288 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2012

We return each year to the Bernerhof as it is wonderful in every way. The owners and staff are caring, friendly and welcoming to all guests. The rooms are extremely comfortable, the food is absolutely outstanding. The owners take great pride in personal service. It is like being welcomed into their home, which it really is. I travel all over the world and have stayed in many hotels in many countries. I pick this one as the very best!

Room Tip: The rooms facing the Blumlisalp have stunning views.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Virginia985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2011

This is our 4th visit to this hotel and I have no hesitation in highly recommending it. It's a little gem offering great value and the best location in Kandersteg. The owners and staff are extremely warm, friendly and welcoming - you are made to feel like a valued guest. The service is first class, rooms (and beds) are very comfortable and clean. We stayed have always stayed in their superior rooms facing the Blumisalp - well worth paying the extra for as the rooms are larger than their standard (more akin to a junior suite) with sitting area with sofa. Food is very nice and worth going on a half board basis as Switzerland is expensive for UK visitors - they offer 3 choices of main course and serve a good selection of wines. You are allocated a table for the duration of your stay and we have always had lovely ones with good views. The tables are nicely decorated with a different theme each night . All staff speak several languages including fluent English.

Room Tip: go for the superior rooms - slightly larger with great balcony and the best views
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank consoleroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2011

The Bernerhof is the best 3 star hotel we've ever visited, and puts many with 4 stars to shame. Our room was light, airy and nicely furnished, the atmosphere welcoming and relaxing. The meals were excellent, and although some seemed strange on the menu, they never failed to be delicious when tried. Hr. and Fr. Lehmann obviously worked very hard to keep their guests happy, and very much succeeded in our case.

Room Tip: Blumlisalp rooms much nicer with cracking view
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank harmless96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2011

This is a very nice place with a lot of charm, the owner and his wife takes care of every single detail and are very warm and welcoming, making everyone feel special. The room and bathroom so clean. Excellent restaurant. I hightly recomend this hotel.

Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
1  Thank BrasilNina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2011

We have just returned from a week at the Bernerhof. Our room at the front had stunning views of the mountains with a pretty village scene in the foreground. Definitely worth getting a room with this view especially in the summer when you could sit on the balcony. Room itself was spacious and comfortable with settee and chair from which to enjoy the vista.Comfortable beds, good duvets though pillows could be better. The owners and staff were very welcoming and attentive and ready to help with any queries, make arrangements etc. They also all spoke good English putting our lack of German to shame.We had booked on a bed and breakfast basis though had dinner there most nights and the food was of a good standard. There are plenty of other places to eat in Kandersteg of varying standards it appeared. Do not go to Kandersteg if you want nightlife! It's a very pleasant, fairly peaceful place with good cross country skiing. We enjoyed the winter walks and the Swiss transport system efficiently takes you to a wide variety of places within easy reach -from beautiful Bern to Interlaken (very disappointing and a bit run down we felt) to Adelboden - fabulous setting. We had a great holiday and would definitely consider going back to the Bernerhof. The early summer and early autumn are also good times to go we were told.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jackostandrews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2010

We were delighted with the hotel, nice, clean and super efficient.
Very professionally run and friendly young staff working under the directions of the owners.
Best position in Kandersteg if you have a room facing towards the cable car which takes you high up to an area with a huge lake. Great for a summer picknic. Lots of well sihnposted walks oif all grades.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank foxycreature
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandersteg hotels
0.7 mi away
Waldhotel Doldenhorn
Waldhotel Doldenhorn
#2 of 9 in Kandersteg
251 reviews
0.1 mi away
Belle Epoque Hotel Victoria
0.1 mi away
Chalet-Hotel Adler
Chalet-Hotel Adler
#4 of 9 in Kandersteg
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Alfa Soleil
Alfa Soleil
#3 of 9 in Kandersteg
215 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Blumlisalp
Hotel Blumlisalp
#9 of 9 in Kandersteg
51 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alpina Hotel
Alpina Hotel
#6 of 9 in Kandersteg
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bernerhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bernerhof

Address: Aeussere Dorfstrasse 37, Kandersteg 3718, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Kandersteg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Kandersteg
Price Range: £131 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bernerhof 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Bernerhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing