We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel with fantastic staff”
Review of Hotel Bernerhof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Bernerhof
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Kandersteg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 October 2012

We stayed 2 nights in this delightful hotel while on an organised hiking trip in the Alps. The owners were very warm and welcoming and the wait staff in the restaurant really made our evening when we ate there. The food was excellent, both for breakfast and dinner and beautifully presented. This was by far the best hotel we stayed in during our 12 night visit to Switzerland - we agree with other reviewers that everything about it is 4 star - in fact it was superior to some 4 star hotels we stayed in elsewhere in Western Europe on this trip. The rooms were spacious and well appointed and very clean. We would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Kandersteg.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kiwi-Traveller2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (299)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

151 - 157 of 299 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2012

Although the Bernerhof is classed as a 3 star hotel, everything about it is 4 star in our opinion. The hotel is very conveniently situated only 5 minutes walk from the train station. Arriving wet through on a mid-week lunchtime, we were warmly greeted by the owner Mr Lehmann and immediately put at ease by his dry sense of humour. Our superior room was larger than expected and very well equipped, with a magnificent view from the balcony. We stayed half board and were pleased to find a choice of meat, fish or vegetarian main course available every night with all four courses always delicious and beautifully presented. The young restaurant team, under the watchful eye of Mrs Lehmann, are charming and great fun to chat with. Breakfast is a generous buffet with enough variety to satisfy the most exacting guest. The beauty of this hotel is that no detail is overlooked in ensuring that guests have a comfortable stay, from the complimentary tea and cake in the afternoon, to free use of the internet in the foyer to the ever changing table decorations in the restaurant. We were not surprised to meet people at the Bernerhof who have returned there year after year; we will certainly stay there should we visit the area again.

Room Tip: A Superior room at the front of the hotel gives a stupendous view from the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laynesgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

Having read previous reviews of the Bernerhof, my wife and I were prepared to be impressed. We were - and then some, as the saying goes. Claudia and Gerhard Lehmann, the owner-managers, run a well-drilled happy team and they clearly enjoy welcoming visitors to Kandersteg. Our fellow guests hailed from Britain, USA, France and Germany and the hotel took our respective national foibles in their stride.
Bedrooms at the front of the hotel overlook an extensive meadow leading up to the impressive Blumlisalp massif, a wonderful sight and it's well worth paying a little extra for these well-appointed Superior Rooms.
The food is of a high standard with a good buffet breakfast available from 7 o'clock onwards.
Tea and cake is provided gratis at 4 o'clock every afternoon.
Highly recommended.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Stayed in Bernerhof for 5 days in a group of eight ladies who had come to hike in the mountains and have a good time. The hotel was wonderful in every way. It is elegant but cozy, spotless and crisp, and everything worked perfectly for us. Excellent food, good service. Perfect location. Most importantly, we were treated by the owners almost as if we were their personal friends who had come to visit. That to me is dedication to excellence and pride in what you do. Recommend warmly.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Minna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

This was our 8th trip to Kandersteg and the Bernerhof. We met people this time from the UK who said it was their 18th visit. Three basic reasons.

One is that Kandersteg has an excellent location for using as a base and making convenient side trips from, especially if you are a walker.

Two is the view of the lovely Blumlisalp from your front balcony. This is certainly one of the very best views in the alps. It can be spiced up by perfect sun and a late afternoon "Happy Hour". One gets goodies and beverages from a small market two minutes away, down the main street. You can sit on your section of the balcony and just be awed by the beauty and how it changes with the time of the afternoon.

Three and the very best of all is the superb hospitality of owners Claudia and Gerhard Lehman. These folks KNOW how to run a hotel, with great congeniality. Claudia's pride and joy is the restaurant and it is special. The food is excellent,( potato croquettes, mmmm) the ambiance delightful, service superb. Let me sum it up this way. We stayed our last night in Salzburg, Austria and too the 0812 train from Salzburg to Zurich to Bern to Kandersteg, arriving at 1548.
By 1605, we were on our balcony starting the Happy Hour! The next morning we started home on the 0810 out of Kandersteg. The kitchen is great!

Karen (my wife) and I salute the Lehmans and, over the years have taken 5 couples with us, some more than once. This must be one of the very best 3 stars there is anywhere.

P D Custer Jr
4381 Calgary Blvd
Okemos, MI
48864

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Denny082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

It is difficult to find anything wrong about my stay in the Bernerhof. Best of all the excellent standard of the food in their restaurant. I stayed only four nights and I regret not being able to stay longer. The owners, Claudia and Gerhard, and all of their staff are extremely helpful, attentive and pleasant. and always wanting to help.Specially the warm welcome of Claudia on my first dinner in the restaurant
I loved the field of wild flowers in fron of the hotel that made you fill you were in a national park

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JOSEANTONIO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

It is difficult to find sufficient superlatives to describe our stay in the Bernerhof. Of particular note is the excellent standard of the food for a half-board package. We stayed eleven nights and nothing on the menu was repeated during that time. The owners, Claudia and Gerhard, and all of their staff are extremely helpful, attentive and pleasant. Unfortunately we did not meet the chef during our stay, so, to him and the others confined to the kitchen, a big thank you for the wonderful meals we enjoyed.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nauticalgeordie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandersteg hotels
0.7 mi away
Waldhotel Doldenhorn
Waldhotel Doldenhorn
#2 of 9 in Kandersteg
254 reviews
0.1 mi away
Belle Epoque Hotel Victoria
0.1 mi away
Chalet-Hotel Adler
Chalet-Hotel Adler
#4 of 9 in Kandersteg
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Alfa Soleil
Alfa Soleil
#3 of 9 in Kandersteg
218 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Blumlisalp
Hotel Blumlisalp
#9 of 9 in Kandersteg
51 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alpina Hotel
Alpina Hotel
#6 of 9 in Kandersteg
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bernerhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bernerhof

Address: Aeussere Dorfstrasse 37, Kandersteg 3718, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Kandersteg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Kandersteg
Price Range: £133 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bernerhof 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Bernerhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing