We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“well managed family run hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Bernerhof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Bernerhof
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Kandersteg
Certificate of Excellence
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
95 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“well managed family run hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

We stayed for two nights at this hotel and were impressed by the excellent customer service given by Claudia and Gerhard Lehmann, the owner-managers. Gerhard gave us a warm welcome as we checked in and graciously allowed us to change rooms to one that had a combination bath tub/shower instead of a room with just a shower. The room was very clean and comfortable. It was spacious for a standard room with a little sitting area in addition to a small desk and a balcony with a table and 2 chairs. The bed was very comfortable. Although I'm not sure it's always free, we had a reservation which included free wifi. The only downside was that we needed a separate password for each device and we had to reenter these every time we used a device which was a bit annoying. We had dinner in the restaurant one night and it was very good. Our prepaid reservation was for 3 nights, but we had to leave early and catch flights back to the US because of a family medical emergency. The owners were very gracious and accommodating regarding our early departure and we thank them for that.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swissmiss001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    198
    42
    5
    6
    0
See reviews for
38
147
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
125 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

We enjoyed our stay at this lovely hotel. Owners were very welcoming hosts. Hotel has perfect location and spectacular views. Meals were delicious! We enjoyed hiking in the beautiful surrounding countryside. Our room was rather small and our shower was even smaller! We traveled with a group and other rooms were more spacious...not sure why ours was so much smaller. Great trip and would certainly return to this charming hotel!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BBos23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

We were made very welcome indeed by the owners of this charming hotel. Situated opposite a flowery meadow and the mountains as a backdrop it would be hard to find a betterand more relaxing location in the Bernese Oberland. Close by is cable car to Oestenensee plus a few shops including a bakery that sells delicious cakes for afternoon tea. The hotel is also a few minutes walk from the railway station. Rooms are very comfortable with the lightest of duvets and softest of pillows. the food is excellent too - try the special home made muesli.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front have the best views but all rooms are quiet and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lavender20186342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faversham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

We have just spent a week in this hotel. If you want the most fantastic view book a room on the front of the hotel. It looks towards stunning mountains and a picturesque church and meadow immediately in front of the hotel. It is a family run hotel. All are made very welcome. The restaurant is of a high quality. We had excellent meals every day. After walking all day tea and cakes were served when we returned. Would not hesitate to stay here when we return to the Swiss Alps.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013 via mobile

On entering this hotel we received a very warm welcome from the owner, this set the scene for the rest of our stay. Our room had a balcony with wonderful views of the mountains. The room was spacious, clean, warm and cosy, everything we needed including a large, powerful, modern shower. We had booked on a b&b basis, the food was so good we dined here every night except one. We tried a local hotel for dinner one night and regretted it. The Bernerhof food was much better, not only this but the ambiance of the hotel, the friendliness and professionalism of the owners and staff was excellent. On cold snowy days the complimentary afternoon tea each day was very welcome! A lovely relaxing hotel, very well managed.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
99 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

We stayed 5 nights here and were very pleased with this hotel. The first room we were allocated was rather small for a long stay so the hosts happily transferred us to a larger room with no extra charge. The hotel has a friendly warmth about it and the staff were helpful. Our new room was spcacious, very clean and comfortable bedding. The views from our balcony were breathtaking. Breakfast was typical European but adequate. We had a lovely meal in the restaurant.

Room Tip: Choose a larger room for a longer stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oztravellers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2013

We stayed for three weeks in February in a one bedroom self catering apartment on an upper floor. The views of the mountains and village are stunning from the balcony. We have been going to Kandersteg for many years and love it but this was our first time at the Bernerhof. It's a more traditional Swiss style family run hotel. Service is great and we quickly felt at home. The apartment is spacious, comfortable and well equipped with everything we needed including access to laundry facilities downstairs which makes a difference on long stays. The hotel's restaurant is very good - we have never had a less than excellent meal there over many years. Only about 8 minutes walk to the gondala up to the ski fields or the bus passes by out the front. Shops and lots of alternate restaurants are really handy. There is a gym, sauna and spa downstairs.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ShellyR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandersteg hotels
0.8 mi away
Waldhotel Doldenhorn
Waldhotel Doldenhorn
#2 of 9 in Kandersteg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chalet-Hotel Adler
Chalet-Hotel Adler
#4 of 9 in Kandersteg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
0.1 mi away
Belle Epoque Hotel Victoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Alfa Soleil
Alfa Soleil
#3 of 9 in Kandersteg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Blumlisalp
Hotel Blumlisalp
#8 of 9 in Kandersteg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alpina Hotel
Alpina Hotel
#9 of 9 in Kandersteg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bernerhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bernerhof

Property: Hotel Bernerhof
Address: Aeussere Dorfstrasse 37, Kandersteg 3718, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Kandersteg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Kandersteg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bernerhof 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Agoda, HRS, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Bernerhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing