We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Service at reasonable price”
Review of Hotel Bernerhof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Bernerhof
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Kandersteg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Very friendly staff. The owners personally are allways present. Nice, cosy & quiet hotel.
The Restaurant is tastefull and at reasonable prices.
We enjoyed the well maintained welness area. It is not a Spa, but a few nice special showers an relax posibilites.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (301)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 301 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2014

We have just returned from a four night stay at the Bernerhof. We had a superior room with balcony on the front of the hotel, which was well worth it for the lovely views across the open space in front of the hotel to the spectacular mountains behind.
The room was well appointed and comfortable, with very a comfortable bed. The bathroom was very nicely fitted out, and I would guess had been very recently done.
The restaurant was typical in style, lots of pine wood, white linen etc., and very characterful. We took the half board option, and had a very good four course dinner each evening. The first two courses and the dessert are fixed with no choice, and there was a choice of three main courses, always a meat, fish and vegetarian selection, from which a choice is taken at breakfast. We greatly enjoyed the food, which was well cooked, nicely presented, and offered typical Swiss dishes but with well balanced, interesting variations and details. There is an extensive wine list, with several wines available by the glass including in the reds a very nice Minervois.
The waiters were very pleasant, as indeed were all the hotel staff.
Special mention must be made of the proprietors, Claudia and Gerhard, who were most charming and welcoming. And Safira the cat added a homely touch!
Our stay was enhanced by the fact that it was Belle Époque week, in which many people, locals and visitors alike, dress up in elegant period costume, and various events are held.
Everyone we encountered in and around Kandersteg were very friendly, helpful and welcoming. We thorough enjoyed our stay, and will return in the future, both to the village, and to the Bernerhof.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank teesdalewanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Hotel Bernerhof was definitely the most upscale hotel we stayed in during our entire vacation, but the staff never made us feel downscale.

The hotel is conveniently located, maybe a 5-10 minute walk from the train station, very close to the Tourist Information Center, and almost across the street from the walking trail to the Oeschinensee cable car.

My wife and I headed to Kandersteg for a weekend of hiking, leaving most of our luggage (and our nicer clothes) in Zurich. Arriving long before check-in (in the morning), we were greeted by the owners, who allowed us to both change into our hiking clothes and leave our luggage there as we went hiking. We filled out some paperwork, which we learned was for a Kandersteg Guest Card, which provided discounts on the cable cars (to Gemmi Pass and Oeschinensee) as well as free bus transit to and from the cable car to the Gemmi Pass (Sunnbuel). That was yet another nice touch, that they made sure we had the card even before we had officially checked in.

When we returned from a day of hiking, we took possession of our room in which our luggage had already been delivered (another nice touch). Our room was a small suite, with a living room area with couch and television, and a bedroom with another television. Between the two is the bathroom. Off the living room area is the balcony, which offered nice views of the surrounding mountains. (With the hotel being in a valley, all rooms should have mountain views, though I think the best views are from the rooms with balconies on the front of the hotel). From our balcony, we could see the cable car to Oeschinensee.

We liked the towel heater in the bathroom, even used it to dry some of our hiking clothes after rinsing them out in the sink.

I was somewhat concerned that the hotel's welcome guide had a suggested dress code for the restaurant. When I went downstairs to look at the menu, I told the owner that we did not have the proper dress clothes for the restaurant. He told me not to worry about it, just that we should make a reservation since it will get busy. We did so, and we enjoyed a delicious dinner in a atmosphere of friendly and attentive service. The owners stopped by to speak with us a couple of times during dinner.

We checkout out the next morning, but left our luggage there as we went hiking again. When we came back to collect our luggage, we were given friendly good-byes. We hope to stay there again the next time we go to Kandersteg.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RogerOP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

The hotel was cosy and friendly, but reviews I had read did not account for being a member of a tour group. I stayed there as part of a group in September and my criticism is of the food. The group's food was definitely not of the standard in the restaurant. For example: soup which tasted like a bouillon cube plus salty water; desserts were over-sweet and sickly always with 'squirty' cream; a fish curry had 2 bite-sized pieces of fish and 2 prawns in a sickly sauce, tinned pineapple - with 'squirty' cream [!] and cold fried banana - that evening we had to wait an hour for the dish, they clearly could not cope with 2 groups in the hotel; another fish dish was like fried thin cardboard. I did eat another good fish dish. The vegetarian food was apparently tasteless. All the meals were very salty, some people had to leave potatoes for example and vegetables soggy and overcooked. I suggest they need a less processed food approach to tour groups, and more staff for a faster service. The rooms are actually very unequal - some large and some so tiny that 2 people could barely pass each other.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank homeandcomforts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel Bernerhof which was the 6th place on our trip. We were personally greeted by the owners who introduced themselves with a friendly Handshake. They remembered our names throughout and just had wonderful interpersonal skills. This was not our experience at all places we have stayed.
The room had a magnificent view - it was roomy and the en-suite was ample.
The food was extremely nice and well prepared with notable attention to detail. The staff are a credit to the owners and I cannot recommend the hotel highly enough.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mouldyjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

My wife and I recently had a most enjoyable stay at the Hotel Bernerhof as part of a Great Rail Journeys holiday. The hotel is extremely well-managed by the owners and all the staff are very attentive. Our room was small, especially the en-suite, but this was compensated for with a glorious view of the mountains.

As we were with a group, we had a limited choice of dinner menu (one fish, one meat and one vegetarian, to be ordered beforehand in the morning) but what we got was of good quality. The only gripe would be the over-seasoning of the meat. The chef needs a lighter hand with the salt. Breakfast was excellent although the so-called soft boiled eggs weren't at all soft.

The spa facilities were excellent and very much appreciated after a day's walking in the mountains.

Overall, a highly recommendable hotel for mountain lovers.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Very friendly reception by the owners, personally introducing themselves. We had two rooms. The larger was perfect with magnificent views however the twin which our kids stayed in was rather small.
Our meal in the restaurant was top quality however again with great service. Breakfast was a little disappointing with the only hot option being boiled eggs. Overall a very pleasant hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eugeboy-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kandersteg
0.1 mi away
Chalet-Hotel Adler
Chalet-Hotel Adler
#5 of 9 in Kandersteg
447 reviews
0.7 mi away
Waldhotel Doldenhorn
Waldhotel Doldenhorn
#2 of 9 in Kandersteg
256 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alfa Soleil
Alfa Soleil
#3 of 9 in Kandersteg
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Belle Epoque Hotel Victoria
0.2 mi away
Hotel Blumlisalp
Hotel Blumlisalp
#9 of 9 in Kandersteg
51 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Cambrian
The Cambrian
#1 of 15 in Adelboden
868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bernerhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bernerhof

Address: Aeussere Dorfstrasse 37, Kandersteg 3718, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Kandersteg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Kandersteg
Price Range: £126 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bernerhof 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Bernerhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing