We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best of Swiss hospitality”
Review of Hotel Bernerhof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Bernerhof
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Kandersteg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I never get tired of this great hotel in the midst of stunning alpine scenery. Kandersteg is one of those places that seems to have changed very little over the years whilst other Swiss resorts have and not always for the best. The Hotel Bernerhof reflects this continuity of quality combined with a friendly and welcoming approach from Gerhard, Claudia and all their staff. The hotel is 5 minutes walk from Kandersteg station which is well served by Swiss Railways.
To put it simply, staying at the hotel is a really enjoyable and stress free experience.

Room Tip: All rooms are of excellent quality, however, front facing rooms offer the best views.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maurice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (291)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Bernerhof
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 291 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2014

We stayed in one of the front facing 4th floor apartments for the second time. Views to die for. Very comfortable, spacious and well equipped one bedroom apartment with a newly renovated bathroom. Kitchen / cooking facilities are perfectly adequate for two people. The restaurant downstairs however is truly excellent. Food and service exceptional. The team at the Bernerhof are friendly and extremely obliging. They also have a small but well equipped gym and a nice, clean sauna/steam room facilities. Self service laundry is also available in the basement for a reasonable fee (coin operated). Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a room or apartment facing Blumisalp (although views out the back aren't shabby either...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShellyR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

I have visited the Bernerhof and enjoyed the hospitality of Gerhard and Claudia on several occasions over the past 10 years and the hotel and its wonderful hosts never fail to impress. The views of the surrounding mountains are quite spectacular, the service is excellent and the food is innovative and delicious.

Room Tip: Request a room at the front of the hotel for fabulous views.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Just back from 4 nights staying at this wonderful hotel. We keep coming back, Kandersteg is a beautiful village and the Bernerhof Hotel is a fantastic location in which to enjoy it from. Claudia and Gerhard, the hotel owners, are very hands-on hosts, nothing is too much trouble for them and they always take time to say hello and ask how your day has been. Their restaurant serves delicious food and Claudia's attention to detail with the table decoration (which changes daily), is a nice touch. We're quite fussy with what we do and don't like and we really can't find fault with this hotel. The views as you eat in the restaurant are amazing, the complimentary afternoon tea and cake is welcome after being out in the snow all day, the bedrooms are nicely decorated and the beds are warm and comfy. And Samira is lovely too...Don't think twice about staying here, you won't be disappointed, we love it...same time next year then!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hayley K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Very friendly staff. The owners personally are allways present. Nice, cosy & quiet hotel.
The Restaurant is tastefull and at reasonable prices.
We enjoyed the well maintained welness area. It is not a Spa, but a few nice special showers an relax posibilites.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

We have just returned from a four night stay at the Bernerhof. We had a superior room with balcony on the front of the hotel, which was well worth it for the lovely views across the open space in front of the hotel to the spectacular mountains behind.
The room was well appointed and comfortable, with very a comfortable bed. The bathroom was very nicely fitted out, and I would guess had been very recently done.
The restaurant was typical in style, lots of pine wood, white linen etc., and very characterful. We took the half board option, and had a very good four course dinner each evening. The first two courses and the dessert are fixed with no choice, and there was a choice of three main courses, always a meat, fish and vegetarian selection, from which a choice is taken at breakfast. We greatly enjoyed the food, which was well cooked, nicely presented, and offered typical Swiss dishes but with well balanced, interesting variations and details. There is an extensive wine list, with several wines available by the glass including in the reds a very nice Minervois.
The waiters were very pleasant, as indeed were all the hotel staff.
Special mention must be made of the proprietors, Claudia and Gerhard, who were most charming and welcoming. And Safira the cat added a homely touch!
Our stay was enhanced by the fact that it was Belle Époque week, in which many people, locals and visitors alike, dress up in elegant period costume, and various events are held.
Everyone we encountered in and around Kandersteg were very friendly, helpful and welcoming. We thorough enjoyed our stay, and will return in the future, both to the village, and to the Bernerhof.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank teesdalewanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Hotel Bernerhof was definitely the most upscale hotel we stayed in during our entire vacation, but the staff never made us feel downscale.

The hotel is conveniently located, maybe a 5-10 minute walk from the train station, very close to the Tourist Information Center, and almost across the street from the walking trail to the Oeschinensee cable car.

My wife and I headed to Kandersteg for a weekend of hiking, leaving most of our luggage (and our nicer clothes) in Zurich. Arriving long before check-in (in the morning), we were greeted by the owners, who allowed us to both change into our hiking clothes and leave our luggage there as we went hiking. We filled out some paperwork, which we learned was for a Kandersteg Guest Card, which provided discounts on the cable cars (to Gemmi Pass and Oeschinensee) as well as free bus transit to and from the cable car to the Gemmi Pass (Sunnbuel). That was yet another nice touch, that they made sure we had the card even before we had officially checked in.

When we returned from a day of hiking, we took possession of our room in which our luggage had already been delivered (another nice touch). Our room was a small suite, with a living room area with couch and television, and a bedroom with another television. Between the two is the bathroom. Off the living room area is the balcony, which offered nice views of the surrounding mountains. (With the hotel being in a valley, all rooms should have mountain views, though I think the best views are from the rooms with balconies on the front of the hotel). From our balcony, we could see the cable car to Oeschinensee.

We liked the towel heater in the bathroom, even used it to dry some of our hiking clothes after rinsing them out in the sink.

I was somewhat concerned that the hotel's welcome guide had a suggested dress code for the restaurant. When I went downstairs to look at the menu, I told the owner that we did not have the proper dress clothes for the restaurant. He told me not to worry about it, just that we should make a reservation since it will get busy. We did so, and we enjoyed a delicious dinner in a atmosphere of friendly and attentive service. The owners stopped by to speak with us a couple of times during dinner.

We checkout out the next morning, but left our luggage there as we went hiking again. When we came back to collect our luggage, we were given friendly good-byes. We hope to stay there again the next time we go to Kandersteg.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RogerOP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandersteg hotels
0.1 mi away
Belle Epoque Hotel Victoria
0.7 mi away
Waldhotel Doldenhorn
Waldhotel Doldenhorn
#2 of 9 in Kandersteg
252 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chalet-Hotel Adler
Chalet-Hotel Adler
#4 of 9 in Kandersteg
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Alfa Soleil
Alfa Soleil
#3 of 9 in Kandersteg
215 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Blumlisalp
Hotel Blumlisalp
#9 of 9 in Kandersteg
51 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alpina Hotel
Alpina Hotel
#6 of 9 in Kandersteg
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bernerhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bernerhof

Address: Aeussere Dorfstrasse 37, Kandersteg 3718, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Kandersteg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Kandersteg
Price Range: £131 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bernerhof 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Bernerhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing