We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FRIENDLY HOMELY HOTEL”
Review of Hotel Bernerhof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Bernerhof
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Kandersteg
Certificate of Excellence
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“FRIENDLY HOMELY HOTEL”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

This is the first time we have visited Switzerland and I think we found the most charming and perfectly located hotel in a really beautiful unspoilt resort. The views from our balcony were breath taking (room 311). We had upgraded and was well worth the little extra. The staff were very pleasant and attentive and made our stay here even more enjoyable. We were with a group of 40 people travelling by train on a Swiss walking holiday. The tour guide, Douglas, and our walking guide, Sabina, together with the other people made this one of our best, if not the best, holiday we have had - and we have had some really good ones in the past. I would thoroughly recommend the hotel and the Great Rail Journeys holiday.

Room Tip: The front and side are the best for views. The back had the car park but there were still mountains...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cardmaker9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    214
    47
    5
    6
    0
See reviews for
41
160
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dordrecht, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

We had a warm welcome. Everything looked very clean and maintained. The room was isolated very well and we haven't noticed anything of the rain that night.

We wanted to leave early so instead of having breakfast they prepared a nice bag with some food.

Free Wi-Fi!
Plenty of parking spaces!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank UKfan1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

The Hotel to look at blends in to Kandersteg's old world charm, but the inside has been created with comfort in mind, the owners and staff bend over backwards to help, and make you feel welcome from the first hand shake to the farewells, they are more that happy to let you try out your German or use there excellent English, eating there gives the meal a sense of occasion with very good food and service.
In Kandersteg its self with good views and access to every thing i don't think it can be beaten.

Room Tip: as it has a lift, Higher floors facing out the front giving brillant views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 888Alan888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I never get tired of this great hotel in the midst of stunning alpine scenery. Kandersteg is one of those places that seems to have changed very little over the years whilst other Swiss resorts have and not always for the best. The Hotel Bernerhof reflects this continuity of quality combined with a friendly and welcoming approach from Gerhard, Claudia and all their staff. The hotel is 5 minutes walk from Kandersteg station which is well served by Swiss Railways.
To put it simply, staying at the hotel is a really enjoyable and stress free experience.

Room Tip: All rooms are of excellent quality, however, front facing rooms offer the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maurice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We stayed in one of the front facing 4th floor apartments for the second time. Views to die for. Very comfortable, spacious and well equipped one bedroom apartment with a newly renovated bathroom. Kitchen / cooking facilities are perfectly adequate for two people. The restaurant downstairs however is truly excellent. Food and service exceptional. The team at the Bernerhof are friendly and extremely obliging. They also have a small but well equipped gym and a nice, clean sauna/steam room facilities. Self service laundry is also available in the basement for a reasonable fee (coin operated). Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a room or apartment facing Blumisalp (although views out the back aren't shabby either...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShellyR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

I have visited the Bernerhof and enjoyed the hospitality of Gerhard and Claudia on several occasions over the past 10 years and the hotel and its wonderful hosts never fail to impress. The views of the surrounding mountains are quite spectacular, the service is excellent and the food is innovative and delicious.

Room Tip: Request a room at the front of the hotel for fabulous views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Just back from 4 nights staying at this wonderful hotel. We keep coming back, Kandersteg is a beautiful village and the Bernerhof Hotel is a fantastic location in which to enjoy it from. Claudia and Gerhard, the hotel owners, are very hands-on hosts, nothing is too much trouble for them and they always take time to say hello and ask how your day has been. Their restaurant serves delicious food and Claudia's attention to detail with the table decoration (which changes daily), is a nice touch. We're quite fussy with what we do and don't like and we really can't find fault with this hotel. The views as you eat in the restaurant are amazing, the complimentary afternoon tea and cake is welcome after being out in the snow all day, the bedrooms are nicely decorated and the beds are warm and comfy. And Samira is lovely too...Don't think twice about staying here, you won't be disappointed, we love it...same time next year then!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hayley K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandersteg hotels
0.8 mi away
Waldhotel Doldenhorn
Waldhotel Doldenhorn
#2 of 9 in Kandersteg
237 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chalet-Hotel Adler
Chalet-Hotel Adler
#4 of 9 in Kandersteg
431 reviews
0.1 mi away
Belle Epoque Hotel Victoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Alfa Soleil
Alfa Soleil
#3 of 9 in Kandersteg
203 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Blumlisalp
Hotel Blumlisalp
#9 of 9 in Kandersteg
43 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alpina Hotel
Alpina Hotel
#8 of 9 in Kandersteg
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bernerhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bernerhof

Property: Hotel Bernerhof
Address: Aeussere Dorfstrasse 37, Kandersteg 3718, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Kandersteg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Kandersteg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bernerhof 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Bernerhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing