We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very cosy and relaxed” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurant Victoria Ritter

Restaurant Victoria Ritter
Ranked #15 of 23 Restaurants in Kandersteg
Cuisines: European, Fast food, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: Hotel Victoria Ritter - Familie Muriel & Casimir Platzer - CH-3718 Kandersteg Tel. +41 (0)33 675 8000 - Fax +41 (0)33 675 8100 - info@hotel-victoria.ch - www.hotel-victoria.ch
sheffield
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very cosy and relaxed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

We ran out of options, and decided to try this restaurant, which after reading all the negative reviews, we were apprehensive to say the least. And boy we were surprised, the waitress was very attentive and helpful. The food was really good and well presented. And to the comments of people about the price... Switzerland is one of the most expensive countries, what do you expect, you want to pay less than every where else? Besides if you can afford holidays in Swiss alps, you should afford to pay the restaurant as well. Just my opinion

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank vlasta00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    11
    3
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent meal, beautifully presented!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

This was undoubtedly the best meal we have ever had in Kandersteg.

A lovely old building that has not been spoiled by modernisation. A central location near the old church where we relaxed and watched the village centre bustle.

That alone was a treat, but then came the beautifully presented food. Seldom have we experienced food that tasted as good as it looked. Very imaginative! Try the Alpine Tapas, a real treat.

Well done to the Ritter :-)

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Butcherswife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yeovil
Level Contributor
60 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“My 3 night stay at this hotel”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013 via mobile

This hotel does terrible food! I don't know what the people who wrote the other reviews were thinking about. I stayed here for 3 nights. The room was terrible. I had a single room up in the roof and the room was so dark I had to put the lights on and one of the lamps never worked neither did the TV.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank dipsygreencat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant in Kandersteg, well recommended.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

Restaurant Victoria Ritter is an excellent restaurant. Very good choices, excellent quality, friendly team. I truly recommend this restaurant to everyone visiting Kandersteg and willing to treat themselves with great dinner or lunch.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank yamatthey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best food in Kandersteg!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

Sat outside with the view of the impressive cliffs seeing the sun set on the peak. Ate an enourmous gazpacho for starter and a beautiful forelle fried in egg batter with polenta rolls and artichokes. A pre-starter (smoked game meat with a creme cheese topping) also delighted us! Last year we ate at a restaurant opposite but now we know what we were missing, must be the best food in Kandersteg!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Finntorp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Victoria Ritter also viewed

Kandersteg, Canton of Bern
Kandersteg, Canton of Bern
 
Kandersteg, Canton of Bern
Kandersteg, Canton of Bern
 

Been to Restaurant Victoria Ritter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing