We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place but needs to be refurbished”
Review of Chalet-Hotel Adler

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chalet-Hotel Adler
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Kandersteg
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 9 August 2013

The hotel is located a 5 minute walk from the train station. You can use the blue buses free of charge after check-in. We stayed in the hotel for one night only having booked one of the bigger rooms the hotel offers. The room romantic and lovely decorated (incl big LCD TV). The bed was very comfortable. The light was not bright enough and should be replaced. The bathroom was offering a extendable jacuzzi which worked great. The bathroom facilities should be replaced though. They work great but look old. Everything else was great in there. The floors and room numbers should be renewed too in the next couple of years. Dinner and breakfast (nice continental breakfast) was delicious. There is actually only one thing I can complain about, the wellness area. Everything there needs to be renewed (they already started during our stay). The pool was ok, but the the cover for the outside area should be replaced as soon as possible. But think about that...you won't find too many *** star hotels which are actually offering a wellness area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toblacks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (453)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 453 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2013

My husband and I stayed in room 36 - our second time in this room - the first time was 8 years ago on our honeymoon. I don't think this hotel would be close to as wonderful as I am describing if you don't have a room looking to the waterfall on the mountain with a jacuzzi tub that rolls out on rails on the balcony. The room was clean and nice. We purchased the package that includes the room and a romantic dinner for two. The dinner was very nice - a four-course meal with pepper steak and very imaginative accompanying courses (for example, a salmon mousse within a cannoli of beet juice gel - delicious!).

Stay in any room overlooking the mountains and with a jacuzzi tub that rolls out onto the balcony. Just not room 36 - that's the best room in the place, and it's ours. Don't expect a Marriott-style room. These rooms are a bit rustic, but it's appropriate in a place like this. It's good - really!

Room Tip: Absolutely choose a room with a roll-out jacuzzi tub on the side of the hotel overlooking the waterf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ColoradoHappyhiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

This was our second trip to Kandersteg and both times we have rented an apartment right behind the hotel. They are a real bargin even when you pay the cleaning charge. The apartments are large and clean. There is a nice market right across the street from the Adler that has a large choice of foods including fresh coffee at 7am in the morning along with a wide variety of fresh rolls and pastries. There is a small cheese shop around the corner that sells about 80 different kinds of cheese including some made by the owner. Buy some wine and cheese here and eat them on your patio or balcony and enjoy the view of the mountains towering over you. Sabine at the reception desk is most helpful.

Room Tip: If you rent an apartment ask for one overlooking the Kander River right behind the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 4cornershiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

The hotel is located close to the station, and at the main street of Kandersteg. We had a small room, with a beautiful view on the mountains. Our room had a balcony, but no jacuzzi or other specialties, like some other (more expensive) rooms. The room was small, but lovely decorated with woodwork and bright colors. The finishing touch was a bit sloppy. Not much room for the luggage, except for a small walk-in closet, without light (didn´t work). Nice bathroom too, and everything spotless. The walls are paper-thin. Breakfast was good, and we had a couple of dinners in the hotel; but they were average. Staff was polite, but not particularly friendly. The swimmingpool was nice. Only thing here was, the lights kept going off and one of us had to go out to activate the sensor again. Another negative point was that the free wifi never worked. We stayed here for 5 days and it hasn´t worked at all.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Petra_DL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

The Adler Hotel is an awesome family run hotel. It is in a central location, the rooms are comfy and cosy, and the food in the restaurant is great, there is also a mini golf for downtime when you want a break from hiking/skiing

It is definitely in the heart of the village, and seems to be the most lively hotel around. (the locals seem to enjoy coming here to relax, which gives it a good atmosphere)

Room Tip: take the jacuzzi rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

I had actually stayed at this hotel on another hiking trip about ten years ago. There is nothing wrong with this hotel but nothing particularly great either. Our room was rather small and, although we had the mountain view and a balcony, we were also right on the main street and right over the downstairs bar where the smokers sat outside and smoked and talked until relatively late. We could smell the cigarette smoke and the street noise required us to sleep with ear plugs.

One the positive side, the half board food was good. Although I would suggest considering another hotel off the busy street, a back facing room would probably be fine. This is what I had before. Give up the view for the quiet and you would probably also pay a little less. The hotel is also only about two blocks from the train station which makes it convenient.

There may be better choices in Kandersteg but this is an acceptable hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank accidental_squirrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

This was the third year in a row I've taken my children to stay in Kandersteg for half term week (skiing). I was seduced by the attractive photos on the website, and although the price was more expensive than for privately owned apartments in the village, somehow I thought that the quality of the hotel apartment would be a cut above. Sadly I was wrong. The apartment was cosy (adequate but not large), but lacked an oven in the kitchen, and a number of other small things which we have previously enjoyed in other Kandersteg apartments. Eg a DVD player with the TV, english speaking TV channels beyond BBC World news (not an impressive channel), salt and pepper, plate scourer, dishwasher tablets (the hotel charges you separately for these). The lavatory was broken for the best part of two days (would not flush) - and a bucket was provided to carry out flushing instead... a nice gesture would have been to offer me a small discount for this at the time of paying, but that did not happen. Rather expensive use of the (small) swimming pool was offered (170chf for three of us), with one use of the sauna thrown in - in the end we didn't feel this was worth it, didn't take it up, and saw the pool rarely used by others.

The apartment was well-located in the centre of the village - but other than this, the question I kept asking myself was - why would I choose a Hotel Adler apartment over a privately owned one in the future? Overall others would appear to be better equipped, and better value for money. Staff were generally pleasant and helpful - but overall folks, for the money you are charging customers, I think you can do better!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank IannaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chalethoteladler, Guest Relations Manager at Chalet-Hotel Adler, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2012

Thank you very much for your feedback. Although some points of your argumentation are incorrect: Our aparments are not more expensive than privately owned apartments, we are in the middle (You can check that!). You said:"it lacked an oven in the kitchen and a lot of other stuff", but this was never mentioned (A tipp, before you book an apartment have a look at the equipment of the apartment.). As you remember this was the coldest time we had for years, that's why we had problems with the lavatory, but we are very sorry for that one. You can take the use of the swimming pool or leave it if you think it is too expensive. Concerning the tv channels, we are going to buy a new system so we get up to 50 tv channels and 20 radio channels. Every feedback is important, and we try to do the best to improve it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kandersteg
0.7 mi away
Waldhotel Doldenhorn
Waldhotel Doldenhorn
#2 of 9 in Kandersteg
258 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bernerhof
Hotel Bernerhof
#1 of 9 in Kandersteg
303 reviews
0 mi away
Belle Epoque Hotel Victoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Alfa Soleil
Alfa Soleil
#3 of 9 in Kandersteg
221 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Cambrian
The Cambrian
#1 of 15 in Adelboden
881 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alpina Hotel
Alpina Hotel
#6 of 9 in Kandersteg
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet-Hotel Adler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet-Hotel Adler

Address: Aeussere Dorfstrasse 19 | 3718 Kandersteg, Kandersteg 3718, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Kandersteg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Kandersteg
Price Range: £84 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chalet-Hotel Adler 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family Fetzer welcomes you to the Chalet-Hotel Adler in the bernese alps. Since 1906, already in the 3rd-5th generation, our family takes care of our guests. Our Hotel is based on tradition and innovation. The Hotel offers you comfortable Rooms all with balconies and beautiful views of the surroundings, some with fire-place and some with whirlpools. Apartments in chalet style, for small and big families can be hired. Couples will enjoy our Loverooms some with rolling whirlpools to the balcony. Of course we have a Wellness area with swimming pool, sauna and massage. If you are travelling by train, we will be pleased to pick you up at the station. Guests travelling by car can use our free parking lots. We hope to meet you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Chalet-Hotel Adler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chalet Hotel Adler
Chalet Hotel Kandersteg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing