We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A genuine Swiss experience”
Review of Alfa Soleil

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Alfa Soleil
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Kandersteg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We recently stayed here as part of a hiking package. The hotel is comfortable and gives a great Swiss experience. Peter and Agnes are wonderful hosts and each day suggested the best walking routes. The food was so much better than one expects with half board and Nico does a great job as does Peter on his "theme" nights. The breakfast is excellent and sets one up for a days hiking. The pool is small but has jets to enable you to exercise. The front rooms have wonderful views.

Room Tip: A room at the front
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ladygolfer19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alfasoleil, Inhaber at Alfa Soleil, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

Dear ladygolfer 19
Thank you for your nice feedback. We are pleased to hear that you liked to stay in our hotel.
Nico and the Alfa Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (215)
There are newer reviews for Alfa Soleil
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 215 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2013

While my friend and I had a GREAT room, some of our friends did not have the same. Our room was like a honeymoon suite while they had something for a very short guest....the bathroom/shower area was extremely tiny and hard to work with. However, ours was fine so its hard to write a review negating anything....just wanted to note what our friends said. GREAT location, stunning views and a very nice restaurant for breakfast and dinner on site.

Room Tip: Just double check the height of your bathroom if you're really tall.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pglaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alfasoleil, Inhaber at Alfa Soleil, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

Dear pgrey
Thank your for your kind and honest review. We are happy that you have enjoyed your stay. As we have different categories some of the rooms are smaller than the others. We apologize that your friends were not satisfied with the room.
It would be a pleasure to welcome you again in the Alfa Soleil.
Best regards,
Nico & Romy Seiler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This is a traditional family-run three star hotel with the usual range of facilities for this category of hotel. We booked through Inghams on a half board arrangement. The facilities are a little dated but nothing unacceptable. There were four things we particularly liked:

1) good food: the chef Nico really knows his stuff. I had planned to go a la carte for my wife's birthday but we didn't need to. Once a week there is apparently a 'gourmet' meal and we took advantage of that. It was superb. On the other days the food was also more than up to standard. Four courses plus the option of a salad bar for those who wanted it. No problems with the breakfasts either. Usual range of continental choices but no fry-ups fortunately given the quality of the evening meals!

2) good views: rooms at the front of the hotel and from the sun terrace have a superb view across the valley to the mountains beyond which rise up from and frame the local beauty spot and lake known as the Oeschinensee.

3) the staff: everyone seemed very keen that we should enjoy ourselves and have a good time; the staff were friendly but not obtrusive.

4) the swimming pool: Not every three star hotel has one. There is a small pool in the basement; ideal for cooling off after a day's walking.

In short we had a very good time.

Room Tip: One on the front if you want to pay for the view
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alfasoleil, Inhaber at Alfa Soleil, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Dear John G

Many thanks for your visit and for this detailed review. We are happy that you liked to stay with us and very pleased to read this words.

Nico & the rest of the Alfa team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We stayed at the Alfa Soleil in mid August 2013 for far too short a period. We wished we had been able to stay longer but definitely plan to return. This is not one of those grand hotels where everything sparkles and where the service is good but impersonal. What the Alfa Soleil achieves is a family, homely feel whilst providing a service that is fantastic from the knowledgable owner Peter who provided us with endless helpful information about hiking in the area, his wife who showed genuine concern about my husband's cold which had worsened and suggested a preparation that would help available from the local droggery, the Chef ( the owner's son) who whipped up 3 course meals each night that were of a really high standard, the special 'potato' night on the Chef's night off when the owner produced a wonderful buffet - to the restaurant staff and staff at the front desk who could not do enough for us - including carrying a tray with hot water, freshly squeezed lemon juice and honey to our room. All of this was acheived without being obtrusive. It was a truly memorable experience for us - did I mention the outlook towards the snow capped mountains from our large room (suite) which was clean and comfortable and the central location. They also provide free Wi Fi. Certainly one of the better hotels in this category we have stayed in.

Room Tip: We chose the suite which had a view of the snow capped mountains and balcony - well worth it.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PerthTigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alfasoleil, Inhaber at Alfa Soleil, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Dear PerthTigger

Thank you for this fantastic review. We are very happy to get feedbacks like this. It motivates us to continue our work and always try to do the best for our guest.

Nico and the Alfa team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Booked 2 nights here for a hiking weekend. Firstly I want to say that the staff were all exceptionally friendly and helpful. Despite the queue of people wanting to check-in we were personally shown to our room. We had a b&b basis and the buffet was good for this category of hotel, although the breakfast room is dark. Free Wifi worked perfectly.The small pool in the basement was most welcome after a long hike.

Where the hotel fell down was on the room. We were allocated an non-renovated one, in line with what we booked. It seems that apart from the bathroom nothing had been touched in 30 years. Terribly old fashioned light fittings, wardrobe and heavy brown bedspreads. In fact, the double was two single beds a mile apart. The bathroom had been renovated, but was so tiny that you could barely turn round. In the shower the water turned from warm to cold to scalding without any warning. The curtains were so thin that light streamed through first thing in the morning.

The hotel is popular with coach parties and on our last morning the breakfast room was overtaken by German OAPs who piled their plates full of food.

If you’re going to stay here, then make sure you booked one of the renovated rooms!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hanval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alfasoleil, Inhaber at Alfa Soleil, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Dear hanval

Thank you for your feedback and that you took the time to describe your impressions. We apologize hat we fall short off your expectations.

Nico & the Alfa team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We spend 2 days at this great hotel and everything was just perfect. The hotel has an excellent location and the rooms are nice and clean. The staff was very kind and did all they could to make your stay pleasant - and it sure was. This is indeed a hotel to recommend - we will definitely return if we are close to Kandersteg !

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Soeren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alfasoleil, Inhaber at Alfa Soleil, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2013

Dear Soeren S

Thank you for this nice feedback. We are very happy that you liked our hotel.
It would be a pleasure to welcome you again.

Nico & the Alfa team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Kandersteg was where I spent my first foreign holiday and it seemed to me then (58 years ago) a magical place. How wonderful to find that the river, the easily accessible mountains, lakes and flower meadows have lost none of their magic (apart from the cinema screen suspended over the Blausee and the red plastic seats.... but they were temporary, thank goodness!)
The Hotel Alfa Soleil provided ideal accommodation, with a warm welcome, a comfortable room with balcony and view of the mountains opposite. The food was excellent and the staff friendly and helpful. Herr Seiler was always ready to give advice on places to see and how to reach them and when, towards the end of our stay, I needed to see a doctor, he arranged an appointment and transport to and from the clinic. We could not have been better looked after.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joyce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alfasoleil, Inhaber at Alfa Soleil, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Dear Joyce S

Many thanks for your nice feedback. We are very happy that you liked the region and our hotel. Thank you very much for these compliments. We always try to do the best for our guests and we will continue with this. We hope to welcome you again in the marvellous UNESCO region, it would be a big pleasure.

Nico & the Alfa team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandersteg hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bernerhof
Hotel Bernerhof
#1 of 9 in Kandersteg
291 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chalet-Hotel Adler
Chalet-Hotel Adler
#4 of 9 in Kandersteg
438 reviews
0.4 mi away
Belle Epoque Hotel Victoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Waldhotel Doldenhorn
Waldhotel Doldenhorn
#2 of 9 in Kandersteg
252 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Blumlisalp
Hotel Blumlisalp
#9 of 9 in Kandersteg
51 reviews
0.0 mi away
Alpina Hotel
Alpina Hotel
#6 of 9 in Kandersteg
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alfa Soleil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alfa Soleil

Address: Aeussere Dorfstrasse 99, Kandersteg 3718, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Kandersteg
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Kandersteg
Price Range: £109 - £226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alfa Soleil 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Alfa Soleil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alfa Soleil Kandersteg
Alfa Soleil Hotel Kandersteg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing