We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Alfa Soleil
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Bernerhof(Kandersteg)
US$177
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$168
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Blumlisalp(Kandersteg)
US$172
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$164
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chalet-Hotel Adler(Kandersteg)(Great Value!)
US$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alpina Hotel(Kandersteg)(Great Value!)
US$136
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$253
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$245
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$169
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$157
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$250
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$242
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel des Alpes(Kandersteg)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (225)
Filter reviews
225 results
Traveller rating
148
54
14
7
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
148
54
14
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspicnic lunchstaff went out of their wayclassic swisswalking routeslog firereception staff aregourmet experienceholiday repswiss railstayed here for one weekweather conditionsswimming poolcross country skiinglocal ingredientswalking holidayrailway stationpacked lunch
Filter
Updating list...
65 - 70 of 225 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The Hotel Alfa Soleil is a true gem! The pride of family ownership shines in every aspect of your stay. The rooms are immaculate and very comfortable and the food in the restaurant is world class. We couldn't have been happier with our stay here and wished we could have stayed longer than our three days!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the street. It is very quiet in this lovely small village and the view to the mountains is spectacular!
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Maitli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We stayed here once before a couple of years ago, and were tempted back again for this year's road trip down to Italy. We usually stay 2 nights in Kandersteg, so we can have a full day doing one of the many walks through the stunning scenery, and as usual were not disappointed.
This year, we did the usual Cable car ride up to the Oschinsee lake in the afternoon that we arrived, but for the full day walk, Peter suggested we get the minibus up to the top of the next valley, and try walking back from there. The minibus needs to be booked the night before, so Peter july booked it for us. I used my Mapping app to track us on the walk, as usual, and the minibus ride is around 6 miles, so we walked a little further up the valley and then all the way back - covering around 17 miles in total. One of our longest walks yet - but there's always a little café in the middle of the mountains for coffee and cake, or (later) lunch.
Our room was even better than the first time, with a mini-suite this time, and plenty of space and comfort to spread out in, not to mention a large balcony looking out on the cable car and mountain views. As Peter says in his reply though - the rooms are all different.
Nico's food in the restaurant was as good as ever, and an interesting mix of mostly local produce - especially from the hotel's own herb garden. we initially thought the service was a bit slow, but they were printing an English language version of the menu which took a bit of time. We would have managed with the Austrian/German version, but a nice touch. I think if they'd explained that they were doing that at the beginning we'd have better understood why they were taking so long, and perhaps could have avoided the confusion.
Generally speaking though, everything was just about perfect for us.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank rpm1604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

This is an absolutely wonderful hotel in Kandersteg. Peter is a fantastic and caring host with great advice on all the walks available and a very kind and personable manner.

The restaurant is incredible - we are vegetarians and the chef created a whole series of amazing meals throughout the week. This really is up to Michelin star quality.

The hotel team are just lovely and work really well together. Kandersteg is a great base for exploring this area - from the lakes, gorges and mountain meadows to day trips to Bern and cruises on the lake to Interlaken.

We booked the holiday through Headwater which made the trip very straightforward and travelled by Eurostar and TGV from London.

Thank you so much for a wonderful holiday.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Maggie_and_Ian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alfasoleil, Inhaber at Alfa Soleil, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Maggie_and_Ian
Thank you very much for your kind words. We are very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at the Alfa Soleil. Your feedback motivates us to provide best hospitality and care every day!
We hope to welcome you again in beautiful Kandersteg. The Seiler Family and the whole Alfa Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

In 2013 my wife and I returned to the Alfa Soleil for at least the 16th time and all we can say is that the Swiss hospitality and reliability has not diminished one bit over the years. First class attention to detail in all aspects.

Room Tip: rooms on road side are best
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank DonaldWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Thank you Peter for a wonderful stay and for all your information about walks. Your hotel is delightful and staff efficient and friendly. We had a large room with a balcony with views from all windows as well. Breakfast was more than adequate and loved the Bircher muesli. Nico's restaurant meals were excellent although after a few days we ventured elsewhere as the menu was a little limited and expensive. The only negative as far as we were concerned was the lack of a refrigerator and tea and coffee making facilities in our room. It would have been lovely to sit on our balcony with a cup of tea, beer or wine. I would thoroughly recommend a visit to Alpha Soleil

Room Tip: Room 323 was very quiet and had a large private balcony.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johol49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews