We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Hotel for a quiet stay”
Review of Alpina Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alpina Hotel
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Kandersteg
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“The Hotel for a quiet stay”
Reviewed 20 September 2011

A pleasant return visit to this family run hotel towards the edge of the village, but under a 10 minute stroll from the village centre. Quiet with stunning mountain views from the room's balcony. Filling evening meals available when booked in advance. Eat as much as you like continental breakfast. Hotel favoured by hikers and walkers.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank r_S133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    16
    9
    4
    3
See reviews for
21
18
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2010

the village is situated on the Spiez (for Bern and Interlaken) and Brig (for Simplon and Italy)m also a terminus for the motor-rail through the Lotschberg tunnel, the village is popular with tourists in Summer and Winter, but some hotels are always open. Situated towards the edge of the village (the owner can be asked to collect or from or deliver to the station), it is popular with hikers; climbers and skiers or those who just want a quiet break. My room had a balcolny with mountain views, although might be small for a couple. The staff were friendly and helpful (as usual). A set evening meal menu is avaialble each night if required and breakfast is laid out with more choice than the traditional continental breakfast. Rrooms have the Swiss hexagonal wallplugs and not the usual European type, although adapters can be borrowed from Reception. All in all, a pleasnt, relaxing stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank r_S133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, Holland
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2010

This was our first hotel on our walking trip. It is located on the main road, right at the entrance of the village, which is not so big at all. In the reception they had a large selection of brochures about the area.The room was rather small, but had what we needed, the bed too soft for me. A nice balcony with a view of the mountains is always welcome, although it made the room rather dark. The bathroom was very tiny, looked like it was added later. Shower separated only with a curtain, and the floor covered by some plastic to avoid flooding. But the water was hot.
We had dinner in the hotel, fixed menu for 25 Sfr, and for the hungry ones they gave a second helping of all the ingredients! Breakfast had a good choise of cereals, bread, cheese and meat.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bhutantraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2008

We stayed at the Alpina this summer having stayed here previously with our children in winter. We were not disappointed - the owners run a wonderfully friendly and welcoming hotel, the food is great and the highlight of the week is the Farmers' Buffet on Thursday night which includes traditional music, playing the spoons (!) and occasionally even broomsticks. Rooms still spotlessly clean and comfortable.

Walking around Kandersteg is great, especially the walk over Bunderspitz to Adelboden (getting the bus back).

  • Liked — Friendly owner and staff
  • Disliked — Leaving it!
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SussexTrundle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancs
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2008

we stayed at the alpina for a walking holiday last summer.
kandersteg is a small resort high in the mountains with excellent walking routes.
the alpina offers rustic accommodation , our large room with balcony overlooked the garden towards the mountains. fantastic.
food was exceptional and plentiful, offered 2nds!!
very friendly and family run , not the Ritz but who needs glitz when you have spectacular scenery on your doorstep along with great hosts and amazing food at a reasonable price this hotel comes highly recommended.

P.S do not let the 2* rating put you off. we stayed in a 4*hotel(chain) in adelboden the week after ..... it was no way near as good as the alpin.........motto -go for small and friendly every-time!

  • Liked — location for walking. great food
  • Disliked — having to leave
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank garyanddawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2008

We booked the Hotel Alpina through the hostel.world website when we were touring Europe and got a great price. The hotel is only 7-10 minute walk (at the most) from the train station, and is such a pretty log cabin style building! The owners are really lovely, Hermann was a great host, full of local knowledge. Great view from the rooms, the balconys were a lovely touch. The room we stayed in couldn't be classed as luxury, but it had all that you needed. The bathroom was tiny, but clean, but then again Switzerland is one of those countries in which even the basic details are done to such a high standard! The food available in the restaurant in the hotel was top class swiss food. But if you want to eat out of the hotel the food in the Bernerhof Hotel only 2 mins walk away is great, best we tasted in all of our Europe trip! The Hotel Alpina gets our vote for a cozy small hotel, full of character and set in a beautiful area, we will definately be returning.

  • Liked — Location location location!
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deefos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2008

The Alpina was great for our family of 4. We had a room with a loft, and the kids went up a ladder to the loft. It made me a little nervous for the kids to be up there (ages 10 and 13), even though there was a railing, but they were fine. The room was very clean and simple, with a nice balcony and great view. We had our breakfast and dinner in the hotel, and they were wonderful--in fact, the food was some of the best on our entire 3 week Austria/Switzerland trip. The place is family run, and that gave it a very nice, friendly feeling. They were very nice--even gave us a ride to the station when we were feeling rushed getting to our train when we left.

  • Liked — clean room, great food
  • Disliked — the loft for the kids
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelmagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kandersteg
0.3 mi away
Chalet-Hotel Adler
Chalet-Hotel Adler
#4 of 9 in Kandersteg
437 reviews
0.3 mi away
Belle Epoque Hotel Victoria
0.0 mi away
Hotel Blumlisalp
Hotel Blumlisalp
#9 of 9 in Kandersteg
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bernerhof
Hotel Bernerhof
#1 of 9 in Kandersteg
276 reviews
0.0 mi away
Alfa Soleil
Alfa Soleil
#3 of 9 in Kandersteg
207 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Cambrian
The Cambrian
#1 of 15 in Adelboden
817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpina Hotel

Property: Alpina Hotel
Address: Aeussere Dorfstrasse 92 | 3718 Kandersteg, Kandersteg 3718, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Kandersteg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Kandersteg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Alpina Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Alpina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpina Hotel Kandersteg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing