We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel !”
Review of Hotel Blumlisalp

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Blumlisalp
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Kandersteg
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Hotel !”
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights during recent walking holiday. We couldn't get to the hotel we should have been staying at on the 1st night because atrocious weather had made it impossible to get to but the Bluemlisalp were able to accommodate us for an extra night at very short notice. We were not disappointed.

Reception was warm and helpful, rooms were comfortable and well equipped and the food was very good, with an unexpected amuse bouche. Breakfast options were plentiful and the waiting staff were delightful- attentive but not in your face,

We were planning a walk for next day from a book provided by the hotel and asked the owner a question about one option - and were immediately introduced to the authors who stay at the hotel every year because they love it so much - they are treated like members of the family! That was a bonus.

Based on our experience I cannot understand some of the negative comments made about the Bluemlisalp - but I suppose everyone must have an off day from time to time!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    14
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
10
19
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We reached the hotel late at night and still we got the room keys without any hassle. The hotel is close to the railway station as well as the Oeschinen lake trekking point and Cable car point. Th break fast there is extremely delicious. To be honest me and my wife have never eaten such a tasty butter and honey in our lives. My tip is not to miss the breakfast at any cost.

Room Tip: Ask for an extral pillow if possible as the pillows in the room are not very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nkashyaap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton NJ
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Small, family-run chalet-style Bernese Oberland retro. Spent a few days with old friend in total gemuetlich comfort. Great food, enchanting traditional public rooms and restaurant. Be sure to try the Roesti. All in all a fabulous bargain and great pleasure.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jetlagPrincetonNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saquarema, RJ
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We travelled with a group of 25 brazilians through beautifull switzerland in September 2013, and at the end of the trip we stayed 2 nights at this great place KANDERSTEG with this so friendly hotel, some 30 minutes above Interlaken./
We were received with all friendliness and helpness that this last experience within Switzerland could´nt have been better. We really felt to be warmly embraced from the mountains around, - and from the attitudes of the whole staff, who did all to make us feel welcomed. We used the possibility to have 2 times the very delicious dinner at the hotels restaurant. Since our programm made us to leave very early each morning the hotel staff prepared the breakfast (complete!) at "very eary birds" hours, - our special thank for this great help! All in our group loved this 2 days at this VERY NICE and familiar Hotel, THANKS.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Klaus B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Three of us spent four nights here in July. The city of Kandersteg is beautiful. Our hotel was at the edge of town, but still an easy walk to the train station. Nice views of the mountains from our room. Our room was the the older part of the hotel. It was large, but pretty basic and not too cheery. The bathroom had been redone which was nice.
The breakfast was in a bright and sunny room and the presentation was nice. There were choices to fit everyone's taste.
This is a husband and wife run hotel. The wife was one of the most unfriendly and unhelpful peope I have dealt with in a long time. She seemed irritated everytime we asked a question-which we rarely did. This was true of our whole stay there. We only dealt with the husband a couple of times, but he was very nice. He should be at the front desk and she should be behind the scenes. Because there are many other lovely hotel choices in Kandersteg, knowing what I know now I would not have stayed at the Blumlisalp due the the proprietor.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pjkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
/Suffolk
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

For Switzerland a reasonable price. NIce big room with views of mountains, great to watch huge summer thunderstorms! Good breakfast, staff professional but not over friendly. Kanderstag is very quiet in the evenings - we never ate in the restaurant, but perhaps we should have as the others were all very average.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaja_Suffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

My 18 year old son, wife and I spent two days in the Hotel Blumlisalp in Kandersteg in late June. Kandersteg is not as convenient to Interlaken, Thun and other high point areas in the Oberland, as some of the other options, but the drive to those areas was not much more than 30 minutes or so, so never a problem and we found Kandersteg less expensive than some of the other towns in the Bernese Oberland. Our room was spacious with a twin bed, sofa and television in one area walled off in part from the double bed on the other side. The bathroom as spacious with wonderful amenities. There were, among other things, washcloths--unusual in Europe, and longer than usual towels, etc. The hotel, like most Swiss hotels, is spotless. Breakfast, which is included, was very good. We sat in the restaurant area of the hotel and enjoyed Swiss breads, a new breakfast tart daily and plenty of juice, cheese, fruit, etc. along with our wonderful "kafe mit milch." I very much enjoy breakfast in European hotels, and this was one of the best I have had.

We had dinner one evening, which was likewise quite good. We expected an informal, regional menu, but instead were treated to fine dining.

Service was excellent from the assistance of the owner of the hotel to the waitress who served us dinner one evening and breakfast coffee the next.

The hotel also has an elevator, which we appreciated. We visited several hotels while in Europe without an elevator. That is not uncommon, but after lugging some heavy luggage up three flights a few times, the presence of the elevator was a welcome amenity.

Hotels in Switzerland, like most things, are expensive compared to other countries in Europe. Compared with other options, Blumlisalp was relatively reasonable

Finally, nestled in the Alps, our room had a balcony with a wonderful view of the mountains. Waking up to a rising sun in the Alps, is an experience to be savored, as is a quiet cup of coffee or glass of wine while savoring the majesty of those mountains.

My family and favor small, privately owned European hotels and we tend to avoid the large American chains, and even some of the European chains. The Hotel Blumlisalp has certainly been added to our favorites list.

In short, we had a wonderful stay at the Blumlisalp and we would readily return.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ken4401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandersteg hotels
0.3 mi away
Chalet-Hotel Adler
Chalet-Hotel Adler
#4 of 9 in Kandersteg
431 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bernerhof
Hotel Bernerhof
#1 of 9 in Kandersteg
272 reviews
0.3 mi away
Belle Epoque Hotel Victoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Alpina Hotel
Alpina Hotel
#8 of 9 in Kandersteg
57 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alfa Soleil
Alfa Soleil
#3 of 9 in Kandersteg
202 reviews
1.0 mi away
Waldhotel Doldenhorn
Waldhotel Doldenhorn
#2 of 9 in Kandersteg
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Blumlisalp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Blumlisalp

Property: Hotel Blumlisalp
Address: Aeussere Dorfstrasse 84, Kandersteg 3718, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Kandersteg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Kandersteg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Blumlisalp 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Blumlisalp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blumlisalp Hotel Kandersteg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing