We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food in a beautiful setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Nico's Restaurant

Nico's Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 23 Restaurants in Kandersteg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$54
Cuisines: Swiss, European, French, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Wadenhoe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Excellent food in a beautiful setting”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Sitting outside gazing at the mountains and eating the best food during our visit to Switzerland. The staff were lovely, very attentive and friendly, rushing to assist when the heavens suddenly opened! The menu at Nico's (part of the Alfa Soleil Hotel) was very original with lots of fresh, local and organic produce. Will be going back next year without a doubt.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    13
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Feast your eyes and delight your taste buds!”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

An evening in Nicos is time and money well spent. The menu is creative and everything is beautifully presented. The food is fresh and sourced locally, it is clear that Nico has a real passion for food. The serving staff were friendly, efficient and very helpful in assisting us to understand the menu and to choose wine. The restaurant decor is super and the atmosphere was relaxed. Nico came to the table himself to ask if we were satisfied, now that in itself is testament to his confidence. Best meal we've had in years! This type of quality is sadlt rare in Switzerland. We will be returning soon.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Butcherswife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kandersteg, Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The most enjoyable restaurant owners”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Nico, Peter, Agnes, Romy and all are wonderful, friendly people. We enjoy being with them. This is top choice for our special celebrations. They treat us as we were part of their family.
The food is very good. Special events such as Swiss National Day, Christmas are very special events. We would recommend Nico's to everyone.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James_S_Dielschneide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alfasoleil, Inhaber at Nico's Restaurant, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Google Translation
Lieber James
Herzlichen Dank für Ihre tolle Bewertung.
Es war uns ein Vergnügen, Sie kulinarisch und mit unserem freundlichen Service zu verwöhnen. Es ist uns jedesmal eine Freude Ihre Gastgeber zu sein und wir sind glücklich Sie zu unseren Stammgästen zählen zu düfen.
Kulinarische Grüsse nico.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Friendswood, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Alfa Soleil and Nico's Restaurant”
Reviewed 28 September 2013

As a Group Travel Leader I am very familiar with the Alfa Soleil and Nico's restaurant in Kandersteg. This month marks the ninth consecutive year we have traveled to beautiful Switzerland in September and made Kandersteg and the hotel our home base for day excursions to places of interest.
Each year our travelers are amazed at not only the quality of the food at Nico's but also the presentation. Wonderful food and especially those delicious desserts.
Nico's is a rising star in the Berner Oberland. Each year we notice that the crowds at dinner are increasing, by not only the hotel guests but people from out of town. I cannot say enough good things about the restaurant staff. They are attentive, friendly and spare no effort to satisfy their customers.
Nico's is great.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alacartetours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alfasoleil, Inhaber at Nico's Restaurant, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear Alacartetours

Thank you very much for your good review. We are very pleased to hear that you and your group liked our restaurant. We hope to welcome you again next year.

Nico & the rest of the Alfa team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“One word - WOW!”
Reviewed 14 June 2013

So unexpected!! We stopped here for a quick refreshment whilst waiting for friends and the lady serving us was so nice we decided to book for dinner there also not knowing what the food quality would be like.
As per the quick stop off earlier in the day the service was fantastic - the staff were very attentive, which to be honest I find a rarity in Switzerland. The menu was varied with options for all 8 at the table and so we found almost a different starter and main for each person. Prior to the starter arriving we were given an amuse bouche each which was beautifully presented and hinted of things to come. Each course was amazing in flavour, presentation and uniqueness - the drinks were continually topped up by the staff and our table checked on in frequent intervals, nothing ws too much trouble and they tried to meet all our needs. We were lucky to meet the young inspiring chefs who had such passion for what they were delivering to our table. All the ingredients were fresh and most from the surrounding areas.
Desert was my dream!! A surprise plate - they gave a small sample of a few deserts from the menu - each as delicious as the next!
We stayed there for around 3hrs and it felt like 30mins we had such a fantastic evening! I would recommend this to anyone staying in Kandersteg - the price was very good considering the quality! I am planning a trip just to go visit this restaurant again!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Claire853
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alfasoleil, Inhaber at Nico's Restaurant, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear Claire853

Many thanks for your positive feedback. We are very happy to hear this. Replies like yours motivates us to continue with our work and to improve constant our services.
To welcome you again in nico's Restaurant would be a big pleasure.

Nico & the Alfa team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nico's Restaurant also viewed

Kandersteg, Canton of Bern
Kandersteg, Canton of Bern
 
Kandersteg, Canton of Bern
Kandersteg, Canton of Bern
 
Kandersteg, Canton of Bern
 

Been to Nico's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing