We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A restaurant with pleasant rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Antica Posta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Antica Posta
Ranked #15 of 32 Hotels in Ascona
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A restaurant with pleasant rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at this hotel last week. The owners Stephanie and Christoph are delightful The hotel is very well managed. We ate one night and the food was very good, however the breakfasts in my opinion lack imagination. Even allowing the hotel is in Switzerland it is quite expensive for what it is.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Higgieboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie B, Manager at Hotel Antica Posta, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear Mr. Higgieboy

we thank you very much for having chosen Antica Posta and for your trust.

As a very small family hotel we take personally care of the well-being of our guests with a lot of dedication and passion. It is very important to us that our guests do enjoy their stay and we are always very glad to hear when we had success. Thank you very much for your wonderful compliments.
Also we do thank you for your comment about the breakfast, as we are always trying to improve our service. We serve personally the breakfast to our guests because it is more personally. So we offer a choice of bread, orange juice, ham, salami, two cheese, soft boiled egg à la minute, different fruits, birchermüsli, cornflakes and cereals, and coffee/tee/latte macchiato/cappuccino, what ever is wished. We think this is a adequate choice of products for breakfast, even if it is not to large, you are completely right. But here we are depending on our guests wishes. For this reason we have also an information brochure in the room, telling that the breakfast is not to large, because we would like to avoid to through away daily so many alimentary products, which is just a shame. To have the products offered, just because it looks nice to have it, and then it goes straight to the rubbish bin. Every morning we ask different times if our guests have everything they need, and if there are some special wishes (like tomato, cucumber, any wish we are able to arrange) we are pleased to do what ever is possible to make it true. But we need to know.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you again at the Antica Posta, and would be pleased to know your wish for breakfast to make your stay perfect.

It was a pleasure to welcoming you in our hotel and also in the restaurant and would be looking forward to another visit. In the meantime we wish you all the best

Warm regards
Stephanie and Christoph Bechter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    15
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
41
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

We visited a friend in Ascona and booked this lovely hotel. The hotel is easy to find. Stephanie and Christoph are very friendly. We arrived pretty early and left our luggage at the reception. The room is clean, bright and have everything you need. The breakfast was good. Since we were visiting a friend, we were out most of the time (rain or shine). Our friend knows good places to visit and good restaurant to dine so we didn't have the chance to ask Stephanie and Christoph. The only regret we had was not being able to try the restaurant especially during dinner (There were always a lot of guest and it looked really good). Overall experience was very good and would definitely come back when we get the chance. We would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to come to Ascona.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie B, Manager at Hotel Antica Posta, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear Mrs. L.
thank you very much for your kind stay in our hotel and for your trust.
We are happy to hear you did enjoy your stay at the Antica Posta and in Ascona.
It would be a pleasure to welcoming you in our restaurant next time as well and we thank you for the lovely words and compliments about us. Thank you so much.
We are looking forward to welcoming you soon again and wish you all the best in the meantime

Warm regards
Stephanie & Christoph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

This is a terrific hotel, in the centre of Ascona. The staff are absolutely charming and our room was very large, bright and clean. The bathroom was a bit on the small side however, and had been oddly configured in proportion to the bedroom. Our only criticism was the coffee at breakfast which was not only incredibly strong but was accompanied by an airline style plastic container of milk/cream. It just seemed a bit mean. Other than that: lovely!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonKit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie B, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Antica Posta, responded to this review, 4 August 2013
Dear Guest

we are glad, you had a pleasant stay in our hotel, We thank you for having choosen the Antica Posta and for your trust.

We are sorry you did not enyoy the cream. In Switzerland we use to have "coffee cream" in this little portions, but we are always pleased to serve also a can of fresh milk beside, milk coffee, latte macchiato or cappucino depending on what our guests wish. Please do not hesitate to inform us about your wishes, only when we know, we can make them come true. It is so important for us, that our guests do feel at ease in our house, and we do everything is possible to take care of our guests. So we feel very sorry, especially if the complain is about something we could have provided, if we would have known.

It was a pleasure to be your host and we would be pleased to welcoming you soon again at the Antica Posta, making sure you will enjoy the coffee with a lot of milk!

In the meantime we wish you all the best and take care

Warm regards
Stephanie Bechter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brisbane
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2012

We stayed 2 nights at Albergo Antica Posta in October 2012, what a lovely hotel right in the centre of the old part of town, our room was great and surprisingly big. Dinner in the restaurant was really good and breakfast good too.The hosts, Stephanie and Christhoph were most welcoming and helpful. I would deffinately recommend this hotel to anyone going to Ascona.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shirlz68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Busselton, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2012

We visited Ascona for 5 days in September 2012 and highly recommend Albergo Antica Posta as an excellent place to stay. Stephanie & Christoph are the most welcoming of hosts. The unit we had was excellent, breakfast was great and access to everything in Ascona was easy. Their restaurant meals are also excellent and definately a must try on your holiday. I agree that TripAdvicer should have an extra rating as this couple goes out of their way to make your stay special. The rooms are spotless, food great, staff excellent and ambience wonderful. And sunshine to boot what more can you say. Look forward to coming back.

Room Tip: Keep in mind rooms are up stairs with access by stairs only
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Faye A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
211 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2012

What luck! We ended up in Ascona because we couldn't find accommodation in Locarno and were delighted with both the town and with Albergo Antica Posta.
The hotel is run by an extremely pleasant husband and wife team who are keen to help you get the most out of your stay. The rooms are large, very attractive and comfortable, with excellent beds. The location is good, just a two minute walk through the old lanes of the town down to the lakeside. A continental breakfast including cheese and cold meats is served in a vine covered courtyard.
There is no lift but the owners carry your bags up and down from the rooms.
There is also no airconditioning but there is a ceiling fan which cools the room well provided you have the windows open. With the windows closed at night we found it a little warm.
We were in Ascona during the jazz festival and the owner offered to get tickets for us. On the second night of the festival we didn't need the tickets because there was live music right below our bedroom window, which we thoroughly enjoyed (especially since they limited the hours so that people could sleep by 11.30pm!). However if you object to noise, check the dates of the festival before booking in.
As we had just come from Italy, we found the hotel expensive compared with the hotels we had been staying in. As our stay progressed we discovered everything in Switzerland is much more expensive than in Italy! However this did influence our perception of value.
Ascona is a great place to stay at the top end of Lake Maggiore. It's a short bus ride to Locarno from where you can get the train to Domodossola or take the cable car and chairlift up to La Cimetta overlooking the lake. From Ascona you can also get a ferry to various parts of the lake. The town is much smaller, prettier and more atmospheric than Locarno and nothing beats sitting on the water's edge as the sun goes down sipping on a glass of prosecco.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mbloggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2011

We just loved every second of being in this hotel, it was a step above most that we have stayed in while in Europe, in room size, comfort, friendliness and sophistication. The location was great and the staff (the lovely owner couple) were just perfect. I'd definitely recommend to anyone heading to Ascona.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tripper_au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ascona hotels
0.0 mi away
Art Hotel Riposo
Art Hotel Riposo
#2 of 32 in Ascona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
0.2 mi away
Romantik Hotel Castello Seeschloss
0.7 mi away
Hotel Collinetta
Hotel Collinetta
#5 of 32 in Ascona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Giardino Ascona
Giardino Ascona
#1 of 32 in Ascona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Casa Berno
Hotel Casa Berno
#12 of 32 in Ascona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ascona
Hotel Ascona
#6 of 32 in Ascona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Antica Posta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Antica Posta

Property: Hotel Antica Posta
Address: contrada Maggiore 4, Ascona 6612, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lake Maggiore > Ascona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 32 Hotels in Ascona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Antica Posta 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the heart of the old town and was built in 1626. We dispose of a few lovely furnished rooms, a comfortable restaurant and a romantic courtyard, where to enjoy the summertime under the shadow of an old vine. All our 9 rooms are accessible by using different stairs and located all around the building. We have rooms towards the cortyard (quite), towards Via Borgo and to the little lane. The rooms are all furnished with affection and equipped with shower /WC, TV, W-Lan, hairdryer and a little safe. The rooms to the lane's have soundproofed windwows and a ceiling fan."Friendliness conquers hearts"With a lot of passion for your profession and a lot of care for details we could create a friendly and courteous ambiance, which is very appreciated by our guests. Relax and enjoy our hospitality! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Antica Posta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing