We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 C's.... Clean, Comfortable, Central but Costly”
Review of Albergo Carcani

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Albergo Carcani
Ranked #8 of 32 Hotels in Ascona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed 3 nights at the Albergo Carcani during a birthday celebration weekend to Ascona. The rooms are bright and fresh and very comfortable. More functional than luxurious...... For two people you need to schedule your bathroom time, as there is not a lot of space. The hotel is perfectly situated on the Ascona front. We had 1st floor rooms that did not have a view and suffered with street noise. The windows are well insulated, so you need to close the windows and rely on the airconditioning. A very good Continental breakfast was included in our room rate and substantial to say the least. No restrictions on number of visits to the buffet, or number of coffees.
Now the best part.... The staff at the Carcani were exceptional, nothing was too much trouble and everyone was exceptionally pleasant.
Would I go back or recommend to a friend...... Most certainly....!

Room Tip: Get a room atthe top of the hotel.... Look for any special rates....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albergo C, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Albergo Carcani, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

It was a great pleasure for us to welcome and spoil you in our Albergo-Caffè Carcani.
We thank you very much for your good ranking on Trip Advisor and to recommend our hotel.
Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again in another occassion we send
you sunny regards from the beautiful Ascona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (244)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 244 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2013

Location, couldn't be better. Atmosphere, perfect. Clean, well appointed and service is excellent. We got a room on the top floor with a view of the lake and the mountains. How perfect for the end of our vacation. Given the cost of hotels in this area, this is a bargain. Breakfast is very good and plentiful.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Marty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2013

My best friend and I were spending 1 night in the Albergo Carcani.
The rooms are freshly redecorated, nice and trendy, not luxurious but functional.

The beds are perfectly comfortable, we slept like in heaven.

The bathroom was small, but clean and with a gigantic shower cabin.
The only minus here is a sliding door which is not really soundproof - and we all know the consequences^^

The situation of the hotel and our room were perfect, from the third floor we had direct view onto the lake and the surrounding mountains, just wonderful.

Moreover the breakfast buffet offers a rich variety of different breads, cornflakes, fruit, cheese and meet, each dish fresh and with really good quality!
We were spending two full hours in the restaurant ;)

Check-out was as easy as the check-in and done in 3 minutes.
All the staff were really nice and spoke italian as well as german.

The price is rather high, we would have paid 260 francs for one night, but as I had a special price voucher, we only paid half price for the room, which made it really cheap for Switzerland.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Othello_92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012

The clean, simply designed rooms with a beautiful view of the lake and promenade were just about perfect.

Beds were very comfortable, shower fairly spacious and modern, and there was very little late night noise from the restaurants and bars on the promenade. Noise levels may be different during peak summer season, but closing the window should take care of that.

Food in the restaurant was very good - regional risotto, Italian-style tapas, Ticino wines.
Breakfast fairly standard with addition of Italian meats.

Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony facing the lake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelFotog77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2018
Google Translation

Room Tip: Die Zimmer mit Seesicht sind sicher etwas lauter als die rückwärtigen Zimmer
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jacomet1602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hotelplan
Thank IvarKB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Regina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ascona
0 mi away
Piazza Ascona Hotel & Restaurants
0.3 mi away
Hotel Eden Roc
Hotel Eden Roc
#4 of 32 in Ascona
518 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ascona
Hotel Ascona
#6 of 32 in Ascona
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Romantik Hotel Castello Seeschloss
0.7 mi away
Hotel Collinetta
Hotel Collinetta
#5 of 32 in Ascona
333 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Locarno
Hotel Belvedere Locarno
#2 of 26 in Locarno
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Carcani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Carcani

Address: Piazza Motta, Ascona 6612, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lake Maggiore > Ascona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 32 Hotels in Ascona
Price Range: £149 - £247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo Carcani 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spend time where life is beautiful - Ascona's main piazza and the Albergo Carcani is the ideal spot to indulge in the fine art of dolce far niente - the pleasures of leisurely life - in Switzerland's very own sun lounge along the shores of Lake Maggiore. The fully renovated hotel is located right on the lakeshore promenade in Ascona and offers contemporary rooms with wonderful views of the shimmering waters of Lake Maggiore. The Albergo Carcani features a unique bar counter and spacious sun terrace, and stands out by virtue of its culinary diversity and congenial atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Albergo Carcani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing