We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old but solid”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Sasso Boretto
Ranked #29 of 32 Hotels in Ascona
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Old but solid”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night traveling back from Valle Maggia to Switzerland. The location is a little outside of the old town but easy to walk. It is also somewhat dated but the staff were friendly and helpful, the pool and rooms were clean and so I can't really fault it!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank theswissjob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    23
    17
    6
    5
See reviews for
7
32
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Piatra Neamt, Romania
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

The hotel is old and you will see that everywhere: furniture, bathroom ...
The staff is very friendly, the location of the hotel is good (10 minute walk to the lake). If you come by car, there is a problem with the parking places: there are a few free parking spaces at the hotel (6 o7), and the alternative is to pay for underground parking (just 18 Swiss francs/night!!!).

I don't understand something: there are notices regarding environment protection (you know: if you can use a towel for two days or more, don't put it on the floor). But they change our towel (all of them) every day. So, what is the purpose of those notices???

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiki197101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This hotel is in real need of updating and refurbishment. The rooms are large and clean, but the decor is very much 80's style and looks quite dated and uninviting. Wi-fi is included in the price, although unfortunately this only worked in one of our two rooms.

As with many european hotels, there are no hospitality trays in the rooms, but the guest information pack says that complimentary tea, coffee and cakes are served downstairs 24/7. On asking at reception where these are served we were advised that the guest information pack is out-of-date and that this is no longer provided as a complimentary service! The staff were generally quite friendly, but didn't really go out of their way to make you feel welcome or like valued customers.

On the plus side, the hotel is pretty well situated for the lake, shops and restaurants (around a 10-15 minute walk) and the breakfast is pretty decent with lots of continental options, and boiled (only!) eggs available on request. The general ambience at breakfast was spoiled by a strong smell of body odour in the self-service food area, which we thought might have come from the waiter, but to be fair could equally have been from one of the other guests. Either way, it was an unpleasant smell and somewhat off-putting when eating breakfast.

In summary, it's not a bad hotel but definitely not worthy of 4 stars and I'm sure there are many better options in the beautiful lakeside town of Ascona. With some serious refurbishment, more enthusiastic management and welcoming staff, this place really could be so much better.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nathan_2911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramat Gan, Israel
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for the jazz festival . Ideal hotel , very comfortable bright single room, lots of space for clothes and toiletries, excellent breakfast compared with usual Italian standard. Allessandro and his team could not have been more welcoming and helpful. About 10 minutes' walk from the lake front. Would definitely stay there again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank RissasAunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Time-traveling in Ascona? Sure, in Hotel Sasso Boretto!

Hotel was build somewhere in the glory days of Ascona, and since that seems like only thing is done is WiFi and Flatscreen.

It is not necessary a bad thing. 80's are coming back, I guess. Sex on the beach, Duran-Duran, shoulder pads, lightblue jeans, etc, etc...

Hotel was cozy, workers friendly, mattress a little bit too hard, breakfast very basic, almost spartanic. Located not far away from Borgo and beach-boulevard.

I can recommend for someone who don't get pimples from the old furniture and carpetry, and who don't mind the hard mattress.

One more thing... WiFi doesn't work in the room in second floor. Only downstairs by reception.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrPayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

In Spring 2012 we booked through Booking.com a studio at the 4 star Hotel Sasso
Boretto, Ascona, Switzerland. Last summer we stayed there for one week.
The 4 star hotel turned out to be more like a run down 2 star hostel. The necessary extensive
renovations were going to start only after the tourist season in October.

Upon our arrival we were offered a 2 room apt. in stead of the studio, which we had booked.
The assigned apt. was furnished in the style of the fifties. Except for the
reception there was no service at all at the so called 4 star hotel. After repeated requests soap and
shampoo was only provided at the 2nd day of our stay. One bed was
broken, and was creeching the whole first night. Bedding and towels
were at our request provided after four days, but we had to change the
bedding ourselves.

There was no house keeping service, our rooms were not
cleaned, linen and towels were never changed, the beforehand requested synthetic pillow was not provided,
there was no hot water kettle nor a toaster, the kitchen was hardly equipped, there was no coffee or tea
service in the room, the coffee machine was about 40 years old.
The dish washer in the apt. was already defect before our arrival.
There was no AC, and not even a fan in the rooms.
There were no laundry services, no iron and no ironing board in the accommodation.
The phone in the room was not working for outside calls.
Most days there was no free parking available on site, which was offered in the confirmation letter.

Big spider webs were decorating the apt. and balcony. In the evening most
often nobody was available at the reception. During the day the
reception was friendly and attentive.

Unheard of in the case of a 4 star hotel, leaving after a week, we got a blown up hotel bill. Breakfast was not even included. However, it did include a total of CHF 65.80 for two kinds of tourist taxes, which had not been mentioned. We were also charged a fee of CHF 120 for the cleaning of the apartment, which never happened during our stay as well as a fee of CHF 60 for linens.

Booking.com should not have promoted this place as a 4 star hotel.
When we made our booking, we were not informed about all the lack of basic services. We expected in stead normal services booking a 4 star hotel. The confirmation letter stated, that the reservation was made for one room in this four star hotel in Ascona.
Is there any other 4 star hotel in the western world that does not provide any service and charges for cleaning and for linen?
The extra charges we were asked to pay at our departure, were not fitting a 4 star hotel or any other hotel for that matter. On top of that we were taxed and charged as tourists, while, we were unwillingly being lodged as renters in an outdated, dirty and badly equipped apartment without the internationally accepted services of a 4 star hotel.

Room Tip: stay at the hotel part of the complex and no where else
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ShiReiBao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ascona hotels

Sharon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Very well-located hotel. No stairs climbing to reach it when back from the nice old city and the magnificent Lake. Near a bus station to Lucarno, a COOP store and walking distance from the Lake.
Ventilators in the rooms, instead of A/C, are not pleasant and sufficient in hot days.
Wi-Fi's not stable in the rooms.
Very well-managed hotel with high marketing and service standards.

Room Tip: High floor rooms at the front side are preferable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moli63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ascona hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#14 of 32 in Ascona
218 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Luna
Hotel Luna
#12 of 32 in Ascona
115 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Arancio
Hotel Arancio
#15 of 32 in Ascona
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ascona
Hotel Ascona
#6 of 32 in Ascona
282 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mulino
Hotel Mulino
#19 of 32 in Ascona
34 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel New Elvezia
Hotel New Elvezia
#23 of 32 in Ascona
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sasso Boretto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sasso Boretto

Property: Hotel Sasso Boretto
Address: viale Monte Verita 45, Ascona 6612, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lake Maggiore > Ascona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 32 Hotels in Ascona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sasso Boretto 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sasso Boretto is a 4 star hotel conveniently located on the main way, leading to the old town; all of the tourist attractions in town and the lake shore promenade are within walking distance44 comfortable hotel rooms, almost all of them with balcony or terrace facing south. Every floor is individually decorated in an unconventional way. Choose between dreaming blue, soft relaxing green, romantic red or a thrilling leopard-look. Connecting and family rooms are available. All rooms have large windows, bath/shower, WC, Digital flat screen TV, radio, direct-dial-telephone, free Wi-Fi connection, minibar, ceiling-fan or air-condition.• E-bikes• Indoor heated swimming pool, with direct access to the garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Sasso Boretto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing