We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, wonderfull view, friendly service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Piazza Ascona Hotel & Restaurants
Ranked #9 of 32 Hotels in Ascona
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
82 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great location, wonderfull view, friendly service”
Reviewed 18 March 2013 via mobile

We were looking for a nice place to stay in Ascona and found this hotel on the internet. The hotel is locatod on the lake promenade and every room as a wonderfull view to the lake. The rooms are small but comfortable and clean. The receptionist is very helpfull and friendly. Breakfast is excellent and the hotel resturant is also very good. Great value for relatively cheap prices (extremely cheap now because it is out of the season).

Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Nulypetel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    183
    26
    4
    2
See reviews for
58
200
22
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Thalwil, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 November 2012

Very friendly, helpful staff. Clean room with comfortable bed and superb view over the lake and mountains. Having stayed in 4 and 5 star hotels around the world, it seems a tad harsh that this hotel has only 2. We ate in the hotel and were given a 10% discount off the bill.
Ascona is gorgeous and you won't find a better view from a hotel bedroom window.

Room Tip: One with a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zug, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 September 2012

Although we were not given the requested room, we accepted the upgrade and enjoyed a good night's sleep in a clean room but without a lake view. Front Office and restaurant staff were helpful and friendly at all times which made for an enjoyable (although only 1 night) stay. We recommend this accommodation and will stay here again on our next Tessin visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosco_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

We would highly recommend this hotel. Excellent value for money and wonderful staff. We had a room on the courtyard so quiet and comfortable. The location couldn't be better and the food is also good.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bjf55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delft, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 September 2012

I stayed at the "Albergo Piazza au Lac" for 7 nights and loved it very much.
I had a basic, but clean, singleroom with balcony and excellent view on the lake.
The main building has a great location; right on lakeside and pedestrian area.
There are also rooms at "Casa delle Olive" (in the pedestrian area behind the Albergo; no view of the lake, but probably quieter).
I - myself - specially enjoyed the live music of a pianist at de pedestrian area in the evening very much.
Staff is very helpfull. Breakfast-buffet is nice and fine.
The location of the hotel gives you the opertunity to visit Locarno (by car, bike, bus or boat), but also Lugano, Stresa, Boromee islands at the lake and even Milan.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
96 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012

I stayed at the Piazza Au Lac for 5 nights, and they gave me a room at the Olive, which is behind the hotel proper but is quieter (I had stayed there a year ago, and the room facing the lake was incredibly noisy in the morning). Room is small, quiet and perfectly serviceable. Staff were all very nice and helpful. Bed is not the most comfy, but for short-term is fine. Breakfast is simple but adequate. No air conditioning, which would have been a negative since it got quite hot this summer, but they brought in a huge fan which worked wonders, so no complaints there. Here are the negatives:

- quite pricey - I had to pay 180CHF for the final night, which is quite exorbitant for a 2-star hotel!
- the hotel (the Olive side, anyways) does not have wifi, only ethernet cable. So it means if you have a smartphone, you won't get wifi connection for it.
- the curtain doesn't close all the way (only like half), which means once the sun comes up it gets quite bright. Not to mention privacy issue...
- no shampoo? Just soap for the shower...

That said, these are small niggling things (well, except for the price!). Hotel is perfectly fine for a stay if you're on vacation.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Werckmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
97 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Right on the pedestrian street so very handy. The bed room was tiny, there would have been no space for 2 big suitcases but lucky we had small ones and managed to put them on the chairs. Amazing view from the balcony. Breakfast was very nice. Staff were very helpful.If you intent on arriving and have special requests make sure you tell them the day before as reception closes at 22h.

Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank unally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ascona hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Collinetta
Hotel Collinetta
#5 of 32 in Ascona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
0.2 mi away
Art Hotel Riposo
Art Hotel Riposo
#2 of 32 in Ascona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
0.0 mi away
Albergo Carcani
Albergo Carcani
#7 of 32 in Ascona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ascona
Hotel Ascona
#6 of 32 in Ascona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Eden Roc
Hotel Eden Roc
#4 of 32 in Ascona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
1.0 mi away
Giardino Ascona
Giardino Ascona
#3 of 32 in Ascona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Piazza Ascona Hotel & Restaurants? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piazza Ascona Hotel & Restaurants

Property: Piazza Ascona Hotel & Restaurants
Address: piazza Giuseppe Motta 29, Ascona 6612, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lake Maggiore > Ascona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 32 Hotels in Ascona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Piazza Ascona Hotel & Restaurants 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Piazza Ascona, Hotel & Restaurants, open all year round, is directly situated in the heart of charming Ascona's lake front. The Hotel, with a long tradition and in typical Ticino style, is and ideal place for a stay. The rooms with stunning views over the lake and the mountains or the small streets of the ancient and picturesque old town and the privileged location make the Piazza Ascona an excellent starting point for excursions,by boat or to explore the characteristics valleys and attractions of Ticino. The offer to the local and international public is completed by the restaurants, "al Pontile", "al Piazza". With magnificent terraces and situated directly on the waterfront, the restaurants suit all tastes - from the gastronomy specialities, to the typical Ticino's dishes, to lake fish and seafood, to delicious pizzas and Thai corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Piazza Ascona Hotel & Restaurants reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing