We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brace yourself for no sleep.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Piazza Ascona Hotel & Restaurants
Ranked #11 of 32 Hotels in Ascona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 August 2013

The address supplied sent us 5km down the road and we got little help after phoning the hotel 3 times. Our room was very small, but overlooks the beautiful lake. However, this is where the party revelers hang out all night and the shouting continued till 6am - when the breakfast clatter starts. The room was stifling hot and should have aircon, so we were forced to keep the balcony doors open - we did not get a wink of sleep. Breakfast on the promenade was festive and the food OK. The room is way overpriced for the tiny room, poor bed and old bathroom. I recommend that you stay away from the waterfront in a hotel further in town.

Room Tip: The rooms with the view of the lake are noisy beyond belief and stifling hot, even though the view i...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nicci R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (405)
There are newer reviews for Piazza Ascona Hotel & Restaurants
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 405 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2013

I spent two nights in a double for single use at the Piazza Ascona Hotel in June, and thought it quite affordable in comparison to other options in the area. I loved the location (just a few minutes walk from stop for the bus to Locarno and right by the boat dock) and I thoroughly enjoyed my views over the waterfront and lake. My room did, however, have some quirks. For example, the shower nozzle was a bit difficult to control because it could not be secured firmly in place; during one long shower, I noted some minor fluctations in temperature and water pressure, although both were generally quite good; and the wall-mounted liquid soap dispenser can’t be reached from the shower, so make sure you have soap! Staff were very helpful and attentive, and the breakfast, which I ate on the hotel’s outdoor terrace, included a nice array of tasty options.

BTW, I was surprised by the amount of helicopter traffic in the area, starting fairly early in the day; their sounds can be heard from just about anywhere in Ascona and beyond.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KJA3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

We booked our hotel at the last minute and couldn't have been happier. We were originally scheduled to stay 6 nights in Lugano and cut it to 2 and spent 4 nights in Ascona instead. You can get a ferry from Locarno to Ascona and arrive in about 1/2 hour. Walking off the ferry you are about 60 feet to the hotel right in front of the ferry terminal. The staff was extremely helpful and very service oriented. Our room overlooked the lake. The room was a typical (small) European one but was very adequate. there was a nice buffet breakfast included and the internet was fast. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a room that faces the harbor -- you will get a little street noise with the window open, but wel...
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tallestguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Seven friends stayed in piazza for 3nights. The hotel is directly opposite the ferry port which allows you travel by lake to various towns/islands on lake maggiore. Staff were helpful and friendly. Hotels are expensive and you pay for your ideal location. Food is average as is breakfast. Rooms are clean but tired and balconies small, with excellent views. Remind staff about the 10%discount on food/drinks.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret17294
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

We were looking for a nice place to stay in Ascona and found this hotel on the internet. The hotel is locatod on the lake promenade and every room as a wonderfull view to the lake. The rooms are small but comfortable and clean. The receptionist is very helpfull and friendly. Breakfast is excellent and the hotel resturant is also very good. Great value for relatively cheap prices (extremely cheap now because it is out of the season).

Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Nulypetel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2012

Very friendly, helpful staff. Clean room with comfortable bed and superb view over the lake and mountains. Having stayed in 4 and 5 star hotels around the world, it seems a tad harsh that this hotel has only 2. We ate in the hotel and were given a 10% discount off the bill.
Ascona is gorgeous and you won't find a better view from a hotel bedroom window.

Room Tip: One with a lake view
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

Although we were not given the requested room, we accepted the upgrade and enjoyed a good night's sleep in a clean room but without a lake view. Front Office and restaurant staff were helpful and friendly at all times which made for an enjoyable (although only 1 night) stay. We recommend this accommodation and will stay here again on our next Tessin visit.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosco_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ascona hotels
0.0 mi away
Albergo Carcani
Albergo Carcani
#8 of 32 in Ascona
237 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#9 of 32 in Ascona
271 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ascona
Hotel Ascona
#6 of 32 in Ascona
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Romantik Hotel Castello Seeschloss
1.0 mi away
Giardino Ascona
Giardino Ascona
#3 of 32 in Ascona
343 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Eden Roc
Hotel Eden Roc
#4 of 32 in Ascona
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Piazza Ascona Hotel & Restaurants? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piazza Ascona Hotel & Restaurants

Address: piazza Giuseppe Motta 29, Ascona 6612, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lake Maggiore > Ascona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 32 Hotels in Ascona
Price Range: £89 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Piazza Ascona Hotel & Restaurants 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Piazza Ascona, Hotel & Restaurants, open all year round, is directly situated in the heart of charming Ascona's lake front. The Hotel, with a long tradition and in typical Ticino style, is and ideal place for a stay. The rooms with stunning views over the lake and the mountains or the small streets of the ancient and picturesque old town and the privileged location make the Piazza Ascona an excellent starting point for excursions,by boat or to explore the characteristics valleys and attractions of Ticino. The offer to the local and international public is completed by the restaurants, "al Pontile", "al Piazza". With magnificent terraces and situated directly on the waterfront, the restaurants suit all tastes - from the gastronomy specialities, to the typical Ticino's dishes, to lake fish and seafood, to delicious pizzas and Thai corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Piazza Ascona Hotel & Restaurants reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing