We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a must if you want to treat yourself in Ascona”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Castello del Sole Beach Resort & SPA
Ranked #1 of 32 Hotels in Ascona
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“a must if you want to treat yourself in Ascona”
Reviewed 1 October 2013

I have passed a week end at the hotel with my family, although we booked a suite but we were given a 3 room suite, the largest suite I have ever had. The day stated with a breakfast in the garden with a well prepared and good buffet combined with a very pleasant and friendly service. Concierge service arranged for many things we desired in great efficiency, the dinner was very pleasant with the same friendly service. I did not try the SPA but had my half an hour swim in the pool, which was very enjoyable for the water had 31c and half the pool extended to the exterior. If you want to treat yourself in Ascona, this place is a must.

Room Tip: if you have a slight wind, try sailing from Ascona, you coudl return to the Marina near the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FM1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    198
    13
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
72
98
3
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We got an absolutely lovely room with a bay window and felt so warm cared for. Huge garden, really rare in Tecino, fantastic spa, rich breakfast, nice to go to the old Ascona by bike. we will come back soon!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sun_kissed932
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Beside all the amenities it offers for families, couples and solo travellers, the Castello provides a remarkable infrastructure for cyclists as well. A fully equipped bicycle repository, offering towels, fresh water, mechanic tools, air pump, etc. is at every guests disposal and is a perfect starting and arrival point for a tour into one of the dozens of adjacent valleys. Last but not least: if you're looking for some tips and directions, ask the hotel director. He is a passionate cyclist himself...

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rene A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 November 2012

Stayed for 4 days. Excellent attentive service. Beautiful hotel with lovely grounds and gardens. right on the side of the lake. Has the atmosphere of a family-run establishment. Al fresco dining on the lawn and super relaxing evenings. Fantastic Spa and tennis facilities.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2012

My family and I spent a week at Castello del Sole in July and had a wonderful time. The hotel itself is stunning, in a beautiful garden setting located on the side of the lake. The main restaurant permits al fresco dining under the trees while the kids play on the lawn - it could not have been better! We rented the small (somewhat underpowered) motor boat one day and explored the lake; another day we took bikes and visited Ascona and the local area. People were friendly everywhere. The kids particularly enjoyed the water park that is an approx 20 minute bike ride from the hotel.
The hotel staff were very friendly and got to know us quickly - ensuring we had a lawn-side table and our favorite wine every night. The pool area is lovely and the spa facility is top class. Our room (in one of the Pavillions) was very well appointed and very comfortable. Overall, I would recommend this hotel as one of the best in Switzerland and definitely the best I have visited in the lakes region.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Pavillion Lacarno - good size rooms for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJR-NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
52 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

All the superlatives listed by other reviewers are accurate and justified leaving very little worthwhile to add, perhaps with one exception.
There are watches and there are Swiss Chronometers.They basically do the same job but a real connoisseur appreciates and knows the difference.
In the same way there are mere hotels and establishments like Castello del Sole.
If you are fortunate to experience this particular Swiss "Make" you too would agree that it ought to be "officially certified" as both an exquisite and luxurious hideaway.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nigor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 August 2012

If you are looking for a "exotic" holiday resort in Switzerland, this is it! Warm climate and the italian way of living! The Castello's grounds are amazing, featuring a Bio farm, which supplies the kitchen. Direct access to the lake makes it a dream for the kids, not to mention the pizzas at lunch.what we also adore about this hotel is it proximity to Ascon. The hotel offers bikes to reach the town with in minutes. So no car needed and the kids love the short ride.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank move007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ascona
0.2 mi away
Giardino Ascona
Giardino Ascona
#2 of 32 in Ascona
318 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Eden Roc
Hotel Eden Roc
#4 of 32 in Ascona
447 reviews
1.3 mi away
Art Hotel Riposo
Art Hotel Riposo
#3 of 32 in Ascona
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Romantik Hotel Castello Seeschloss
0.9 mi away
Hotel Ascovilla
Hotel Ascovilla
#8 of 32 in Ascona
116 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Locarno
Hotel Belvedere Locarno
#1 of 28 in Locarno
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castello del Sole Beach Resort & SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castello del Sole Beach Resort & SPA

Property: Castello del Sole Beach Resort & SPA
Address: via Muraccio 142, Ascona 6612, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lake Maggiore > Ascona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ascona
#1 Spa Hotel in Ascona
#1 Family Hotel in Ascona
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ascona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Castello del Sole Beach Resort & SPA 5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Castello del Sole is a 5* superior Hotel, member of Relais&Châteaux, surrounded by the biggest hotel park in Europe (11 hectares). The resort is situated directly on the shore of Lake Maggiore and has a private beach. The hotel excels with spaciousness, exclusive luxury and the authentic architecture of a mediterranean stately home with charming courtyards. Guests can relax and regenerate in the Castello‘s exclusive 2500-square-metre SPA & Beauty area. The Castello del Sole is surrounded by a farm of 150-hectare, Terreni alla Maggia SA, same property as the hotel. First quality products such as wine, risotto rice (Northernmost rice plantation in Europe), cereals for pasta, potatoes, asparagus and fruits are grown and/or produced in the farm, and are used in the hotel kitchen or sold in the farm`s shop located in Ascona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, HRS, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Priceline, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Castello del Sole Beach Resort & SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castello Del Sole Ascona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing