We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“location location location”
Review of Hotel Tamaro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Tamaro
Ranked #23 of 32 Hotels in Ascona
Reviewed 28 July 2007

everything was boooked, we were traveling by car through Switzerland. Wanted to stay in Ascona at the Eden Roc but sold out! besides being too expensive (didnt even quote it) Kids loved this hotel Tamaro we took 2 rooms. first night we rented a lakeview room. Breath taking but not if you want to sleep. was noisy. kids had the cheaper room in back with a nice veranda. gorgeous paid 240chf a night (expensive but includes breakfast). the next night we switched rooms for a quieter night and the gave us a discount down to 220chf. Beautiful Hotel well kept. Would stay here again.
and great location to enjoy ascona / locarno / lugano.
We rented a boat 300chf 1/2 day (all day for us) was awesome.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank familytraveler21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (97)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 97 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2005

We were given two nights at the little "Hotel Tamaro" in Ascona. This Hotel is situated just at the fantastic lake called "Lago Maggiore". Our Friends booked room No. 66 in the quite backyard of the Hotel. Funny enough that the owner of the said hotel had built a roof on top of Room 66 and its Bathroom. So we had our own tiny little House which we found unique. The room was clean and recently renovated and so was also the bathroom. We had a cupboard, Satellite-TV, a frige and a Telephone. We enjoyed the excellent meals at the Tamaro Hotel (with view to the lake!) which we reached after a 3 Minutes walking. The Staff was very friendly and spoke English, German and Italian. Because Ascona is a beautiful village, very touristy and "The Place to be in Tessin" all things are expensive. Nevertheless people who like nature must take the boat from Ascona to "Brissago Island" and explore the thousands of exotic plants that can be seen there!

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank RockyCool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2004

We spent a night at the Hotel Tamaro on May 25, 2004. Very nice room - spacious, with a balcony. 220 SF for the night was a bit more expensive than other places we'd stayed but it was worth it. Very nice breakfast buffet. Friendly staff and located right on the lake.

  • Stayed: January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Tulsa_OKOktraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank Dany G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Wendelin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Zimmer mit Seeblick, zB. 101
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Marcellausanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ascona hotels
0.1 mi away
Albergo Carcani
Albergo Carcani
#8 of 32 in Ascona
243 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel New Elvezia
Hotel New Elvezia
#24 of 32 in Ascona
25 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#9 of 32 in Ascona
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Garni la Meridiana
Garni la Meridiana
#16 of 32 in Ascona
117 reviews
0.1 mi away
Romantik Hotel Castello Seeschloss
0.3 mi away
Hotel Luna
Hotel Luna
#10 of 32 in Ascona
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tamaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tamaro

Address: piazza Giuseppe Motta 35, Ascona 6612, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lake Maggiore > Ascona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 32 Hotels in Ascona
Price Range: £110 - £186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tamaro 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Tamaro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamaro Hotel Ascona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing