We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just amasing!”
Review of Hotel Casa Berno

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Casa Berno
Ranked #12 of 32 Hotels in Ascona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We loved it from the first step we entered!
the rooms are spasious and convienient, the restarant is very nice and the food is very good!
the views from the balcony of the room and from the restaurant ( they have the terrasse on the restaurant where you can have your breakfast or dinner ....) are above any words to say. they are just absolutely amasing!
the only thing is to get there - better by taxy from the city ( expecially when you get beck from the city to the hotel ) . if you go down from the hotel to the city - you can take a very nice walk ( there are stairs and it is so nice to walk there , every step offers you new delightful views over the landscape.

oh, this is unforgettable experience indeed!
great to stay there) good luck))

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Anna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (107)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Casa Berno
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 107 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2012

My family spent a weekend at the Casa Berno last summer to celebrate a major family happening. We had superior rooms with a stunning view of the lake and the surrounding landscape.

While the rooms could do with an update (very 80ies) and maybe even A/C (it does get hot in Ascona in the summer), the staff and the food make you forget these things, going out of their way to make you feel comfortable.

The hotel is not in the town of Ascona itself, but easily reached in 5 minutes by car (or courtesy bus from the hotel). The location is stunning and very quiet.

The restaurants serve really good Italian/Swiss food and I warmly recommend this place if you want to relax and unwind for real!

Room Tip: Try to get a room in an upper floor. the view from the ground floor rooms might be impaired by trees...
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Hans H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2011

Having read the good reviews here on tripadvisor, we were really looking forward to staying at Casa Berno. The first disappointment came already during the transport to Casa Berno when we found out that Casa Berno is about a 15min drive from the town centre. It has a shuttleservice, but it has a certain schedule, and if you don't get there on time, taxi is not cheap in Switzerland.

We were very disappointed with the interior, which at its best looks like a luxury hotel from the great 80's, and it hasn't changed since. Apparantly, the other guests haven't either, we felt like we were the only couple there under the age of 60. The other guests seemed to be repeating guests, and they clearly enjoyed eachother's and the staff's company. We felt really misplaced, being the only 2 people at approx. 30 years. 

The beds are uncomfortable, bathrooms outdated, and the curtains seem to be made of plastic. 

On the good side, the view is spectacular, and the staff is very friendly and helpful! Still, when charging the price casa berno does for the allegedly "4 star" hotel, we think that the guests shouldn't experience an interior which is 3 stars at the best, and still you have a slight feeling of being on a vacation at an elderly home.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank iTravelG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2010

My wife and I , along with our Swiss friends , stayed here for 3 nights on a Dinner , Bed and Breakfast basis.
We paid CHF 687 per person for this 3 night break.
The rooms are very good ( we were upgraded to a superior room ) - the views over Lago Maggiore are super , as you are some hundreds of feet above the lake.
The food quality is good , and the staff , particularly in reception , are excellent.
In summary a good hotel , and above the hustle and bustle of Ascona town. The hotel has a shuttle bus to take you down to town , and back.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosneath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2010

This is a location for travellers looking for a high touch, high class, environment. This is not an environment for back-packers with Birkenstocks, but for people who are "ok" and comfortable wearing a blazer for dinner and or cocktails. The hotel staff is first rate accomodated our every need. As an example, I foolishly left my wallet in Ascona and the front desk bent over backwards to quickly help me trace my steps and locate the piece.

The views from the water-front rooms and restaurants are spectacular. The hotel serves complementary champagne during a cocktail hour and many, many, locals enjoy dinner along with hotel guests. There is a beautiful (outdoor) swimming pool as well as a small *sauna. *Please note; sauna has to be reserved which we found nice as it meant it was private.

Ascona: Having stayed at many locations within the Northern Italy "lake district", we absolutely love the size and feel of Ascona. It is small enough, yet not too small, clean and there are plenty of great restaurant options.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank formula1tifosi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2008

We just came back from Ascona and missing the breathtaking view from our hotel room. Everything was top notch and worth every penny - the splendid view from our room is one of the highlights of our Europe trip. The staff were excellent and provided impeccable service - monitored our baby (who was sleeping in the room) every night we were there whilst we went for dinner in the hotel restaurant. The food was good and the breakfast buffet selection was generous. The hotel provides a regular bus shuttle service to the town centre (which is about 5-10 mins away by car/bus) but we didn't need it since we rented a car. They had the swimming pool but we didn't have time to swim - wished we did though! If you want to wake up to a view of Lake Maggiore and the surrounding mountains - this is definitely the hotel for you. We were worried before arriving at the hotel about the distance from the town centre but it wasn't a problem at all and it was definitely better to be tucked away in the mountain and having uninterrupted views of the lake.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank mum2j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2008

The Hotel Casa Berno is lovely, the views are stunning!! The swimming pool is excellent and the terrace where you eat breakfast and dinner is the most beautiful spot. The hotel is exceptionally clean and the staff are so pleasant and friendly. The hotel's website doesn't really do the hotel justice, it is so much better than expected. The rooms do not have air conditioning and do get rather hot at night. We had a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fussy!!England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ascona
2.0 mi away
Giardino Ascona
Giardino Ascona
#3 of 32 in Ascona
343 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Eden Roc
Hotel Eden Roc
#4 of 32 in Ascona
464 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Ascovilla
Hotel Ascovilla
#7 of 32 in Ascona
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Castello del Sole Beach Resort & SPA
13.7 mi away
Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa
1.1 mi away
Romantik Hotel Castello Seeschloss
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Berno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Berno

Address: via Gottardo Madonna 15, Ascona 6612, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lake Maggiore > Ascona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 32 Hotels in Ascona
Price Range: £176 - £271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Casa Berno 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Do you feel like you need holiday? Relax and refuel in Ascona at the beautiful Lago Maggiore! Do you want to escape from everyday stress and relax? We at Hotel Casa Berno offer the best guarantee you can have: heavenly rest and a wonderful environment. In the middle of a subtropical park and high above the city of Ascona, our four-star hotel offers you a magnificent view. Experience the breathtaking view over a fascinating mountain landscape as well as beautiful moments when the sun is glistens on the Lago Maggiore's surface. Walk through our cosy park. Bathe in the sun at the swimming pool. Refresh yourself with a cool drink on one of our panorama terrace. Enjoy the meals in our restaurant. Enjoy with all senses ... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Casa Berno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing