We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No longer in operation!”
Review of Palazzo Ascolago

Palazzo Ascolago
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ascona
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Palazzo Ascolago
Reviewed 30 January 2012

I've not stayed here, but thought I'd chime in to say the space formerly known as Ascolago had been sold sometime in 2008 or '09 to the owners of The Eden Roc Hotel (next door). After extensive renovations, it reopened in spring 2010 as The Eden Roc Hotel Marina. The Eden Roc Hotel is very fancy and sumptuous so you can imagine the transformation that took place. Geared toward a sporty clientele, the Marina is especially nice for those who enjoy boating, I am told. The great views of Lago Maggiore are still here and the garden terrace has been remade gorgeous. With Pasqual (not sure of the spelling of his name) at the helm of the bar, in good weather you can set yourself up quite comfortably and take in the breathtaking view.
This is not a review of the hotel as it was formerly or currently! I'm afraid I got carried away with the info here, but I hope it is nevertheless helpful. : )

Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
4  Thank biba_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Reviewed 13 September 2007

A small hotel (17 rooms only) covering the ground floor of a 5-storey apartment block, hence bedrooms do not have great views. They are plainly furnished but have exceptionally good cupboards and hanging space. Large, comfortable beds. The owner, Mr Fuchs, is very much to the fore and sets energetic example to hard-working and attentive staff. Large swimming pool - part indoors, part outside - does not have shallow end (1.5 metres depth throughout). Garden (southerly aspect) goes down directly to lake and has ample supply of loungers, sunshades, etc.
Imaginative food well cooked and well presented in elegant dining room or outside terrace on two levels beside lake. Well-kept gardens, spotlessly maintaned buildings, close to promenade etc but nevertheless quiet and secluded.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tommillerjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Seattle, Washington
13
Reviewed 5 August 2003

In 1998, I accompanied a friend to Europe for two weeks. My friend is the epitome of the 'Ugly American', insisting that we be treated as royalty no matter where we were in England, France or Switzerland. Upon arriving at the Hotel Asco Lago, we learned that our reservation had been lost. My English-speaking-only friend raised his voice and caused all sorts of mayhem, but I stepped in and, in a few sentances in Italian, learned that our room was, indeed, available and prepared.
From that moment forward, the Family Fuchs treated us like royalty. The room was immaculate and beautifully appointed. All consideration was given to our needs and desires, and the food in the restaurant was beyond excellent. I am planning another trip to Ascona----sans Ugly American friend----and will be staying at the Hotel Asco Lago again. I would think of staying nowhere else!

  • Stayed: April 1999
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Seattle, Washington
14
Reviewed 30 January 2003

In my 35th year I accompanied a friend to Europe.
The fourth day of the two-week vacation found us in Ascona, on Lago Maggiore. We stayed three nights at the Hotel Ascolago, which were the best of the entire trip! The staff at the hotel had lost our reservation, made months in advance, but worked quickly to prepare a room for us. All areas of the hotel were immaculate, second only to the hotel in Paris. No other hotel during the vacation had as nicely-appointed, nor as large, a bathroom.
The food in the elegant dining room was superb, and the Italian waitservice the best of the entire trip.
I would stay at the Hotel Ascolago again, without hesitation!

4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ascona hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Ascovilla
Hotel Ascovilla
#7 of 32 in Ascona
132 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eden Roc
Hotel Eden Roc
#4 of 32 in Ascona
465 reviews
0.2 mi away
Romantik Hotel Castello Seeschloss
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Giardino Ascona
Giardino Ascona
#3 of 32 in Ascona
343 reviews
0.5 mi away
Art Hotel Riposo
Art Hotel Riposo
#2 of 32 in Ascona
350 reviews
0.4 mi away
Albergo Carcani
Albergo Carcani
#8 of 32 in Ascona
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Ascolago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Ascolago

Address: Via Albarelle, Ascona 6612, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lake Maggiore > Ascona
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Ascona
Price Range: £171 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing