We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay.”
Review of Hotel La Perla

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel La Perla
Ranked #10 of 32 Hotels in Ascona
Reviewed 13 April 2013

I went on a business trip to the hotel, so I just stayed a couple of nights there.
The room was nice. It had everything I needed. Breakfast and dinner at the hotel's restaurant were really good. Service was excellent. I left my clothes for laundry very late at night, and the next morning I had them at my room! Location is perfect. Just 2 minutes to the Lake.
I really enjoyed my stay there.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (291)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 291 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2013

I travelled with my husband and 2 children to the area. Hotel La Perla was a great choice since the room we stayed at was very spacious, had a very large balcony and a great view of the lake and mountains. We stayed at the Villa Giuliano which is one of many different villas available. For us, spacious rooms, location and service is very important. It is walking distance to many restaurants, the ferry to the Botanical Garden which can also take you to Italy, and various tourist attractions. Mini-golf, biking and shopping was walking distance as well. The staff was very friendly and gave us advice of what to visit while in the area. I highly recommend Villa Verzasca!

Room Tip: Villa Giuliano is very quiet and has the great views. The downside was that our room did not have ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2013

We are accustomed to consider the stay in Switzerland at the top of Europe. But this is not the case. The hotel has no particular defects, but the look is tired. Obviously, the position in the beautiful setting of Lake Maggiore helps to give less importance to these limits of the hotel.
About the value I cannot say anything, because being on a business trip the stay (two nights) was paid by the organization.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brun066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2012

We enjoyed our stay in the main hotel and had a balcony with a good view. The staff was very friendly and welcoming, and the rooms were clean. La Perla is just a few minutes away from the pedestrian zone of the town, not too far from the lake promenade. Big breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dechusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

The main La Perla (we only stayed at the main hotel, but looked at the others) is touchy to find as the entrance is a narrow driveway with enough room for only one vehicle to enter to check-in. The elevator is tiny, and you need to take it upo a floor to check-in. There is no service to speak of for this, or valet parking etc, so be prepared to be mystified as to what to do once you find the place. The rooms are tiny but clean, and austere. Very little is supplied, so you'll need 'stuff' unlike most hotels that provide shampoo etc. They have a soap dispenser in the 'shower-bath', and no face cloths, and only one towel each in a tiny bathroom. For what you get, maybe not where you get it though, the price is outrageous. The included breakfast is Euro-typical. The menu is very pricey, but it is only a couple of blocks (straight downhill) to other restaurants and shops. If you're looking for 'the view' book a hotel further up the hill for sure.

Room Tip: There are 'three' La Perla Hotels in Ascona (all different locations), pick one that suits y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank worldfishingfreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Stayed with my husband and 2 children for two nights. We were a bit late booking our accommodation and most hotels in Ascona were already booked so we sort of just took what was available. It is in a good quiet location. We had a family room in an attic which was really just one large room with four beds. The furniture was very dated, like something my parents would have had as their first furniture in the sixties and all looked really cheaply made too. I noticed the floor wasn't particularly clean either and there were dust bunnies in the corners. The bathroom was really poorly appointed too, no towel racks or hooks so we ended up having the towels all spread out in the room, drying on the beams of the attic. The staff was OK, neither friendly nor unfriendly, didn't really seem all that involved and only one person in the whole hotel spoke English ( which is fine, we can get by with other languages but I just thought it odd). We couldn't judge the quality of the food in the restaurant, on our first night the restaurant was closed ( I guess it is closed on Saturday nights) so we went into town and found a really great place where we went again the second night. Breakfast was fine, perfectly acceptable.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hanicka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

I looked at the description and the photos of this Hotel on the internet and was impressed so we booked for a few days. I have never been so disappointed. We were given a room in a building which was shared with the staff. The room had no security what so ever, even the lock on the door was faulty. The pool was not in order, the breakfast was very poor, we did not come late to the breakfast but were told there was no cold meats left so we went without, as we paid for this meal [not cheap] we were not pleased. In general the property is run down and needs renovating It does not match its description on the internet ... we complained to the tourist office but heard nothing. I would not stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 622tropez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ascona hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ascona
Hotel Ascona
#6 of 32 in Ascona
333 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Luna
Hotel Luna
#9 of 32 in Ascona
135 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Berno
Hotel Casa Berno
#12 of 32 in Ascona
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Ascovilla
Hotel Ascovilla
#7 of 32 in Ascona
137 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Arancio
Hotel Arancio
#14 of 32 in Ascona
53 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Eden Roc
Hotel Eden Roc
#4 of 32 in Ascona
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Perla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Perla

Address: Strada Collina 14, Ascona 6612, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lake Maggiore > Ascona
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 32 Hotels in Ascona
Price Range: £112 - £775 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Perla 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel La Perla is located on a sunny and central place on the hillside of Ascona, just 2 minutes' walk away from the centre and its famous lake promenade. Enjoy panoramic views over Ascona and the lake or towards the garden from your room. Guest can borrow bikes for free at the charming La Perla hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel La Perla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Perla Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing