We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in Ascona with good large family rooms”
Review of Hotel La Perla

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel La Perla
Ranked #14 of 32 Hotels in Ascona
Lausanne
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in Ascona with good large family rooms”
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed there 2 days with our kids aged 7 and 9. The family room was very large with 2 separate rooms. The hotel is very well located, 10 minutes walk to the lake. Breakfast is very good. Service is ok, friendly and willing, but could be more proactive. At the same time it did not hinder our time there. Overall very good experience.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CelineDaring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    115
    41
    13
    8
See reviews for
51
91
17
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Hotel La Perla is at a peaceful and beautiful area.Views from the room and from the hotel's restaurant were stunning. Staff of the hotel was very friendly and helpful. There was only one problem in our room: Bathroom's sewer system didn't work properly.
We stayed only for three days at La Perla but we would have loved to stay longer!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank jonamaan .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton of Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I spent one night in the beginning of June with my mother and had an excellent stay. The room was very clean and large and the view of the lake was stunning!! The hotel is also only 5 minutes walk to the lake and is surrounded by palms, creating a really nice atmosphere that made wish I could stay a lot longer. The hotel staff was also very helpful and kind in recommending us the best places to go in the region. All together I would highly recommend the Hotel La Perla for anyone looking for a relaxed and friendly place to stay that brings together natural enjoyment, excellent service and ideal location. We cant wait to go back and spend a little more time there.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jon_aesch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We recently stayed at La Perla for a long weekend with our 10 month old daughter. The journey was quite a long one so we arrived quite late at night and were delighted to see that we were made to feel at home straight away. We stayed in one of the villas close to the main reception of the hotel. The villa had its own kitchen and living room with a piano! However the big plus was the balcony with a view of the mountains and the lake.

The hotel has a fantastic rooftop garden which gives you a lovely view of Ascona. This is really the perfect spot to sunbathe or have a glass of wine or two in the evening. Ascona itself is a short walk away and has lots of charm. There are also a number of restaurants a stone’s throw from the hotel which is very convenient and the ones we tried were all baby friendly! The hotel is quite unique in the fact that it is split into villas and a main building with the majority of the rooms, a reception and a restaurant.

The hotel’s location was perfect for us as we wanted to visit Italy while we were in the area. The next biggest town is Cannobio which has a market on Sundays. We didn’t manage to visit the island with the botanical gardens but there are several boats a day which take tourists there.

We had an excellent stay and were made to feel at home which is what we were looking for travelling with a small child! We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Na0mi6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
160 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

The Hotel La Perla in Ascona is located about 5 minutes walk from the lake promenade, which is a very nice place to have dinner or just relax and enjoy the views.
While the rooms are not the newest and relatively basic they have a great view (if you have lake view). We booked a room in one of the villas and to our surprise - upon arrival - were upgraded to a lake view room.
The breakfast has everything one can look for and the price is reasonable for a Swiss hotel.

Overall, I can completely recommend this hotel and the rating is a 4- (the minus for the slightly older interior, which could need a renovation).

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Xabbu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

This hotel is a short walk from the lake and the pedestrian zone in the old town of Ascona. The hotel is very clean and the services are good. The rooms have a balcony with a view towards the lake. The atmosphere is quiet and relaxing. Overall, a very good experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1712JB12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indialantic, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 January 2014

This last year 2013 we happened to be at the Hotel La Perla for the First of August, which is the Swiss National Day.
It was a unique experience and it is difficult to list all the reasons for it.
The day was splendid, the hotel location, the garden, the terrace with a splendid view on the lake and the mountains and the restaurant setting were the peak of elegance, but what left us really speechless was the buffet that was set up for the occasion.
I have seen all kind of buffets but I personally complimented the owner manager Christian and asked to compliment his chef (seems it is a team of husband and wife) for the splendid job.
WE live in a society where size matters and big Hotels and chain names are the ones that get the most attention. Well it is places like "La Perla" that represent the real old memorable Swiss charm and are fondly remembered for their friendly and elegant service that is coached by the young and elegant owner.
Thank you La Perla for creating for us such pleasant atmosphere and memorable stay.
Claudio Esposito
505n Miramar Avenue
Indialantic, Fl 32903

Room Tip: The village of Ascona is a jewel and no one needs a fitness room or a spa. Just walk the old streets...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank claudioesposito34312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ascona hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ascona
Hotel Ascona
#6 of 32 in Ascona
280 reviews
0.2 mi away
Art Hotel Riposo
Art Hotel Riposo
#3 of 32 in Ascona
330 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Arancio
Hotel Arancio
#15 of 32 in Ascona
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Collinetta
Hotel Collinetta
#5 of 32 in Ascona
273 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Berno
Hotel Casa Berno
#13 of 32 in Ascona
92 reviews
1.1 mi away
Giardino Ascona
Giardino Ascona
#2 of 32 in Ascona
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Perla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Perla

Property: Hotel La Perla
Address: Strada Collina 14, Ascona 6612, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lake Maggiore > Ascona
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 32 Hotels in Ascona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Perla 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel La Perla is located on a sunny and central place on the hillside of Ascona, just 2 minutes' walk away from the centre and its famous lake promenade. Enjoy panoramic views over Ascona and the lake or towards the garden from your room. Guest can borrow bikes for free at the charming La Perla hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel La Perla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Perla Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing