We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Languid Luxury at the Intoxicating Intersection of Switzerland and Italy”
Review of Hotel Collinetta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Collinetta
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in Ascona
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Languid Luxury at the Intoxicating Intersection of Switzerland and Italy”
Reviewed 22 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed here 5 days in one of the family suites--a corner room with a large bed and two bunk beds. The views of Lake Maggiore and the lush vegetation were breathtaking from all vantage points. We slept at night with the windows flung open, enjoying the tropical breezes and the occasional showy thunder and lightning storm. Breakfast on the terrace was a glorious spread. The staff was kind and helpful. We greatly appreciated the small fridge in the room, which allowed us to store drinks and snacks from the local Migros. Water pressure and cleanliness and mattress quality were PERFECT. Only complaint? The wifi is not very strong in the room, but was very strong in the warm and comfortable lobby. But this was a very small inconvenience in the face of such beauty and comforts otherwise.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weekonthecape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    208
    53
    6
    4
    2
See reviews for
60
159
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Luca Foster and the team run this superb hotel on a wonderful setting above the lake near Ascona.We have stayed there 3 times now and you are always made most welcome and nothing is too much trouble.Luca and Ottoman have an infectious sense of humour and all the staff are courteous and helpful.
The breakfast buffet is very good along with half board package set menu where alternatives can be chosen.Meals and drinks in good weather can be taken on the terrace overlooking the lake.This creates a relaxing ambience.
The grounds and indoor pool areas are well kept and the pleasant walk to Ascona takes about 20/25 minutes.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GFearn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Just returned from a lovely week at this lovely small and comfortable hotel. It has beautiful gardens for sitting out. I made the booking direct with the hotel by email and a couple of phone calls. I think I got a the best deal by going direct.
Rooms [with Lake View] were delightful - the views are sensational. We had half board and so had a fixed menu evening meal.
The food was excellent all around - I do not think I've stayed any where that does a better breakfast buffet. Taking half board makes a lot of sense value for money wise- this being Switzerland and the Swiss franc being what it is.
We found found the staff friendly and approachable - they are not falling over you - just discrete and professional.
The hotel is a good base for touring the surrounding area - and I'd say you'd miss out if you did not have a car because the hotel's location would be tricky without one.
Bare in mind that though English is spoken and we were made to feel most welcome, that the majority of the guests are very well mannered Swiss German - they just love Ascona - and come in their droves form the north of the country to enjoy a milder climate and home form home with an Italian twist. So for instance the menu is in Italian and German and no English news channels on the TV.The Italian resorts further down the lake cater for English tour parties.
All in all a lovely place to stay to explore Lake Maggiore and area.
Not cheap [strength of Swiss franc] but value for money because this hotel is quality.

Room Tip: Splash out on a Lake View and mother [84 years old and still enjoying her holidays] had a single roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nod90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

We stayed for a long weekend at the Collinetta and were very pleased.
The rooms are clean and spacious, ours was partly renovarted which was fine.
The view is stunning and the garden the ideal place to relax.
The stuff is friendly, but not really motivated and the covered pool needs an update.
They have a little beach access down by the lake, but when we went down it was in really bad condition and not cleaned up. What a shame!

Room Tip: We did not stay in the main building, which I was upset about in the first place. But in the end it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Petra O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luca F, Manager at Hotel Collinetta, responded to this review, 15 May 2013
Thank you very much for your review and for your fidelity (booking for next year :) ). It will be a pleasure to have you here again.
The beach which is separate from the main ground is usually ready to use from June. The weather has to be more constant. Consider that even the lido Locarno is still closed in this period for example, or, that the week before the whole beachground was under water because of the rainfalls.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Excellent hotel location, staff, and service.
Fantastic garden, grounds and view of the lake.
The walk to wonderful Ascona is 20 minutes and the views are breathtaking.
Shame about the rain...!But there is not much to do with the hotel!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luca F, Direttore at Hotel Collinetta, responded to this review, 3 May 2013
Thank you very much for your stay and good review. You Have had a lot of rain and I'm sorry for you. Sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maennedorf, Switzerland
Level Contributor
81 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2013

The Hotel is quite small and somewhat outside of Ascona. We stayed for 4 nights and booked 2 rooms. when we got there the staff was not very friendly and they only had 1 room booked - so not a great start. We managed to squeeze into 1 room and went off to enjoy the region.

the following days things improved since the manager/owner took over and we received the 2nd room for night 3 and 4. The hotel is clean, the staff in general very friendly (especially in the breakfast area) and the scenic views fantastic.

The walk into Ascona and back is approx. 25 minutes and quite nice and for sure healthy after a nice dinner.

Room Tip: superior rooms with lake view a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bscyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luca F, Direttore at Hotel Collinetta, responded to this review, 3 May 2013
Thank you for your stay. We apologize again for the slow start! Kind regards. Grazie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich Switzerland
Level Contributor
133 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2012

We stayed one night in a junior suite with a private balcony, the perfect spot to relax and admire the beautiful views of the lake. The room was spacious and comfortable. The only thing that we missed was air conditioning - in the heat it got quite stuffy in the room. The grounds of the hotel are immaculate and simply gorgeous and the lake views are unbelievable. We travelled with our small dog and found this hotel very pet friendly.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosa1213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ascona hotels
0.7 mi away
Art Hotel Riposo
Art Hotel Riposo
#3 of 32 in Ascona
332 reviews
1.8 mi away
Giardino Ascona
Giardino Ascona
#2 of 32 in Ascona
318 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Eden Roc
Hotel Eden Roc
#4 of 32 in Ascona
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Ascona
Hotel Ascona
#6 of 32 in Ascona
280 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa Berno
Hotel Casa Berno
#13 of 32 in Ascona
93 reviews
1.9 mi away
Castello del Sole Beach Resort & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Collinetta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Collinetta

Property: Hotel Collinetta
Address: via Collinetta 115, Ascona 6612, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lake Maggiore > Ascona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in Ascona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Collinetta 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Very well-cared house with 44 rooms with balconies to the lake, in the midst of a glamorous park with splendid palm trees, camellias, lemon trees. Thanks to its favourable location an exciting view onto the Lago Maggiore and of the mountains in the Tessin. Everyone feels comfortable about being in our hotel independent whether he is looking for privacy, goes in for sports, does an excursion or a walking-tour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HRS, Priceline, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Collinetta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing