We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable”
Review of Art Hotel Riposo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Art Hotel Riposo
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in Ascona
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
521 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“Enjoyable”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We enjoyed our stay here. Staff were all very helpful. Food was very good. Room was comfortable but on the small side for "premium".

Room lacked air conditioning which would have been needed if we wanted to shut the balcony doors but I would have thought essential in July or August.

Garden, pool and rooftop all added to the pleasant aspect. Very convenient to everything except do not expect to arrive by car using GPS. Even if you get close you still need the special instructions which unfortunately we didn't get.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lyn&MarkfromOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    282
    24
    7
    5
    4
See reviews for
54
201
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
132 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

While the Art Hotel Riposa may not be the most obvious choice in Ascona, it's a hidden gem. Tucked away in a back lane near the lake front, the hotel's charms unfold slowly as you discover all it's rooms for eating, relaxing and enjoying a glass of wine or two in beautiful Ascona. I ended a trip there for three nights with a large group of Australian friends. They all loved the hotel - especially the lovely welcoming and friendly service, the fantastic breakfasts and dinner and all the little touches like vases of beautiful flowers right through the hotel.
A highlight for us was sitting in the little cabana on the roof top terrace for pre dinner drinks - the view over Ascona is just charming. The hotel also recommended the amazing Osteria Nostrana for dinner on one night, which was also a highlight.
One tiny niggle was poor wi fi - but hopefully this will be overcome in the future!
Thank you to all the Riposo team for a great stay!

Room Tip: Rooms are a little small - but there are many great spaces to relax in around the hotel - a lounge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Neptunetravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YoshkarOla, Mariy-El, Russia
1 review
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Hello everybody!
I think I'm in love with Ascona! t's a nice romantic place and if you decide to visit it I suggest to stay in Art-Hotel Riposo. It was my choice with first sight.
The Hotel is located very close to beautiful Lago Maggiore in the center of the town.
Very comfortable European style, responsive stuff. It's a family hotel so you can feel like you visit relatives. And if you like music you can enjoy marvellous Jazz music on the terrace of the Hotel.
We had a nice room with veiw at the lake, comortable recreation zone, clean swimmingpool, tasty breakfasts.
We are GLAD

Room Tip: room number 53 is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elena K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArtHotelRiposo, Manager at Art Hotel Riposo, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Let´s celebrate Love!

your review just blow us away, thank you very much for all these lovely words you found for our House! Your review fills us with joy and is pure motivation for our staff! We hope to see you soon in Ascona again and are looking forward to welcome you in the Riposo family again!

Tanti Saluti Da Ascona

your Team Art Hotel Riposo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We spent four nights at Hotel Riposo and couldn't be more pleased: with the room, the food, the situation and perhaps most importantly the high-quality service and friendliness offered by the hotel personnel. Already when booking, and then when helping us out with certain travel arrangments, the staff showed extraordinary service-mindedness. Our room for two was charming, cosy, equipped with everything necessary and offered a terrific view on the Lago Maggiore, perhaps slightly small but considering the competative price we really got value for our money. We dined and lunched at the hotel a few times and found that the kitchen was of a very high standard, which was also reflected in the above-average breakfast buffet. We were looking for calm and quite and Hotel Riposo offered just that, being exceptionally quite and proposing very comfortable beds and a level of cleanliness that left nothing to be desired. The swimming pool and the roof terrace add an extra to an hotel with an authentic and very pleasant atmosphere. Can be warmly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carl E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArtHotelRiposo, Manager at Art Hotel Riposo, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
We just can´t stop reading your review over and over! Such a collection of nice words for our house and staff, we deeply thank you for this, and every time the sun doesn´t shine too bright or we get a bad day we´ll go straight back to reading this review! that will cheer us up big time! We hope to see you back here soon! Grazie mille

Tanti Saluti Da Ascona

Your Team Art Hotel Riposo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

I was trying to book a room at this place and that was what it took:

1st call asking to send me an offer - no offer received
2nd call after 2 days with the same request - offer received
1st e-mail with a few questions concerning the proposed room - no reply
2nd e-mail after 2 days with the same questions - no reply
3rd call - oh sorry, we cannot accomodate you for a whole stay, we have not received any of your e-mails (OH REALLY?!)

If these guys manage their whole business the way they manage communication, neglecting clients completely - I can only wish them luck. No wonder you cannot book them though booking.com or others - it would take away so much fun from their daily routine...

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissisRain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArtHotelRiposo, Manager at Art Hotel Riposo, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Dear potential Guest

We deeply apologize for the inconvenience, there must have been a few communication Issues, sometimes not everything goes according to plan and where work is done, mishaps can happen. We will thoroughly check our E-mail system (Spam filters) and hopefully misunderstandings like this wont happen again. Thank you very much for your review, we are constantly trying to better our service and this is another hint in this direction.


Yours faithfully


Team Art Hotel Riposo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

I just came back from a wonderful long weekend at the Art hotel Riposo with my husband - we LOVED it! We had such a warm and friendly welcome from the Studer family and staff. The room was very nice, spacious, clean and comfortable. Breakfast was excellent - a nice choice of breads, homemade jams, cheese and charcuterie, eggs and a pancake making machine. The home-made Birchermuesli was the best I have ever had!
The favourite part was the rooftop terrasse and pool - beautiful, nicely maintained and the view is breathtaking.
The hotel also provide many attentive extras - cheese and charcuterie by the pool in the early evening, a welcome drink on arrival...
The hotel is located right in the heart of Ascona, 2 minutes walk from the lake - so couldnt be better located.
What more can I say except that we will most defintely be going again, and we highly recommend a visit there!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013 via mobile

I have a complaint.... It's a HUGE complaint.... And a VERY serious one!!!!
This hotel is just too nice!
The ambiance is terrific
The food outstanding.
The staff (family) all incredibly friendly
The rooftop view and breakfast there unbelievable
The pool..... Perfect!

WHY OH WHY can't we just stay here forever?

Stayed November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank POBGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArtHotelRiposo, Manager at Art Hotel Riposo, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
This review just brightened our day! Complaints like these every day please :-)

Thank you very much for staying at our house, it was a real pleasure having you! we hope to see you soon again! We wish you all the best and thank you again for this wonderful review!

Tanti Saluti da Ascona

Your Team Art Hotel Riposo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ascona hotels
1.2 mi away
Giardino Ascona
Giardino Ascona
#3 of 32 in Ascona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Eden Roc
Hotel Eden Roc
#4 of 32 in Ascona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Collinetta
Hotel Collinetta
#5 of 32 in Ascona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Castello del Sole Beach Resort & SPA
0.3 mi away
Romantik Hotel Castello Seeschloss
0.9 mi away
Hotel Casa Berno
Hotel Casa Berno
#13 of 32 in Ascona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Hotel Riposo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Hotel Riposo

Property: Art Hotel Riposo
Address: scalinata della Ruga 4, Ascona 6612, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lake Maggiore > Ascona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ascona
#5 Family Hotel in Ascona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Art Hotel Riposo 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Art Hotel Riposo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riposo Hotel Ascona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing