We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Real Treasure”
Review of Art Hotel Riposo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Art Hotel Riposo
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in Ascona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 September 2014

I can highly recommend the Arthotel Riposo to anyone who is looking for a quiet little treasure right in the center of old town Ascona. The hotel is beautifully situated just off the pedestrian way and only about two minutes from the lake with all its restaurants, coffee and icecream places and shops. Food and service is excellent and the personell as well as the owners are always friendly and helpful and make you feel "at home away from home". My favorite locations within the hotel had been the small lobby (actually more like a living room) with cozy funiture and books to choose from and read during your stay and the roof top with its outdoor pool and a spectacular view over Ascona and the lake.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Eirini76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lorenzostuder, Manager at Art Hotel Riposo, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Thank you very much for your charming review!
We are glad you felt "at home away from home" and hope to welcome you soon again in Ascona!
We deeply appreciate your kind words which are a motivation to our Team!

Yours Faithfully, a presto

The Art Hotel Riposo Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (361)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 361 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2014

Avery charming hotel with a long family tradition. Visited this hotel over 50 years ago and still want to come back. Artfully decorated, with a great view over Lago Maggiore and Asona from the roof top terrace. Good service, warm welcome, good food with my kind of jazz is a winning combination. The enthusiasm of everyone is inspiring. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Norbert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lorenzostuder, Manager at Art Hotel Riposo, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Thank you very much for your kind words, they are true motivation for our Team!
Next year we are Celebrating 60 years of activity, we hope to see you again soon!

Tanti Saluti da Ascona

Team Art Hotel Riposo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2014

We really wanted to like the Arthotel Riposo, it looks great from the website and especially after reading so many very positive reviews we were really looking forward to our stay. However, for our taste, this hotel falls far short in a few areas. First the plus points: I can only say positive things about the ladies at reception and the cleaning crew. They are all very professional, friendly and make you feel very welcome. The rooftop pool area is very quiet and relaxing with a beautiful view over Ascona. The meals in the restaurant are of a good standard and quality. Unfortunately, these points are not enough that I would stay here again. Breakfast is like an athletic sport in "survival of the fittest" style. Every morning between 9:30 and 10:30 you have to fight your way through other guests to get to the last remaining pieces of bread or whatever is left over. There is always something missing from the breakfast buffet that makes it impossible to eat until a server blesses you with her presence like forks, plates, bread, a cleaned table, tea cups, hot water etc. Breakfast is so disorganized each morning that it was impossible for me to relax and start the day with a good mood. With the exception of one very efficient and friendly waitress and one very friendly, but slow waitress, the other two are smug and snarrly in the morning, so don't ask for anything you might need, because you will either be ignored or get a curt answer. Not what I expect from service. Either they need more help in the morning to make a more calm, efficient service or there is a problem with the staff. I have never had such a consistently nervewracking breakfast experience in any hotel I have ever been like the Riposo. The second point is that it seems all rooms face a courtyard where the hotel has dinner and drinks. Most hotel rooms are overlooked by other rooms or by the pool terrace. You have to compromise a lot of privacy for this "romantic" style. In addition, feel lucky if there isn't a big family taking drinks in the courtyard when you would like to nap or sleep at night (though it seemed the staff got people out latest at midnight) or someone sits on the tiny balcony near yours to light up a cigarette at 7 in the morning. It's very close quarters, so if you like a lot of space and privacy, this is not the place for you. The superior room we had was quite small and the bathroom had a tiny shower and old fixtures. Not quite the standard we are used to, esp since the water temperature was very hard to adjust, either boiling hot or cold. The bed was THE most uncomfortable bed I have ever had in a hotel. Every night was like a torture that we considered going home early to be able to sleep normally! I've been thinking the whole week why this hotel gets such overwhemingly positive reviews and I think we're just not in the target group for this hotel. During the week we stayed here, we noticed most guests (about 90%) are German speaking, repeat visitors between the ages of 60-85. These people have been coming to this hotel for over 20 years and are very familiar with the owner family. They tell stories of the youngest generation, who are now at the helm, as they remember them at 3 or 4 years of age, to guests around the pool and they feel like part of the family and love it here, to have shared in the history and seen it pass from one generation to the next. This seems to be the target group this hotel caters to and just not our cup of tea. While the young brother and sister duo seem to have the charisma to enchant the older folks, time will tell if they develop the nuances and genuineness of character they need to also make the other 10% feel at home here.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarinMarais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lorenzostuder, Manager at Art Hotel Riposo, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Thank you for your review.
We will address some of your mentioned details. we are deeply sorry our house did not meet your standards, nonetheless we are constantly trying to improve, and your review will be part of this.

Thank you for improving our Service.

Yours Faithfully

Team Art Hotel Riposo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

My husband and I just returned from our second visit to the Art Hotel Riposo - and we still love it!
The staff are very friendly, the location excellent in the heart of Ascona. We took a smaller room but it was very nice and clean. Would be great if wifi was available in the room!
The roof terrace and pool is fantastic and you feel like you have really escaped and can relax up there. The food is excellent, we loved the breakfast and enjoyed two dinners in the courtyard. We highly recommend the Saturday night Jazz dinner - with live Jazz from the talented Studer family and friends! A fantastic ambiance and a real treat.
We used the hotel as a base to go to the Locarno Film Festival - there is a very convenient bus service a 2 minute walk away from the hotel with regular service to Locarno, so we can defintely recommend this hotel for festival goers.
Overall - we loved our stay and look forward to going back again!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Michelle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lorenzostuder, Manager at Art Hotel Riposo, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014
Google Translation

Troppo Gentili! Grazie Mille.

Solch schöne Wörter über unser Haus, Pure Motivation für das ganze Team!

Vielen Herzlichen Dank für Ihre Bewertung.

Wir Hoffen Sie bald mal wieder bei uns verwöhnen zu dürfen.

Bis zum nächsten Pardo, tanti saluti da Ascona

Team Art Hotel Riposo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

A little bit on the expensive side but all in all excellent! We enjoyed the syimming pool and food on the terrace where you have a great view of the lake. The only two things missing are air conditioning and wifi in the rooms (there's free wifi only in the lounge).

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Clara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lorenzostuder, Manager at Art Hotel Riposo, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Thank you very much for your kind Review.
We are constantly trying to improve our service, we will be working on our Wifi. thank you for your support, we hope to see you soon!

Tanti saluti da Ascona

Team Art Hotel Riposo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Very conveniently located near Asconas beautiful lakefront, the hotel offers more value than its three stars would suggest. Rooms are tasteful and spacious, the inner court yard for meals is charming and the rooftop terrace is simply spectacular with an amazing view of Acona and the Lago Maggiore.
Service is friendly and professional. Quality of the meals is good, there are places where you can get better food for the same money but for the most part we enjoyed our meals.
The hotel is family run and you feel the thoughtful presence of the owners in the attention to detail and the warm hospitality. For example we were pleasantly suprised to find a tray with free snacks on the rooftop terrace every afternoon.
The only significant drawback was that the rooms dont have internet access and even the wifi in the lobby did not work very well. If you rely on internet access for pleasure or work this will be a problem in this hotel. However, the management is planning to change this in the foreseeable future.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room on a high floor to enjoy the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JonasB516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lorenzostuder, Manager at Art Hotel Riposo, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Thank you very much for your delightful review, we gladly appreciate your support.
Concerning the Wifi accessibility, we will be working on it.

We hope to see you again soon at the Riposo and wish you a good time!

grazie Mille a presto

Team Art Hotel Riposo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We enjoyed our stay here. Staff were all very helpful. Food was very good. Room was comfortable but on the small side for "premium".

Room lacked air conditioning which would have been needed if we wanted to shut the balcony doors but I would have thought essential in July or August.

Garden, pool and rooftop all added to the pleasant aspect. Very convenient to everything except do not expect to arrive by car using GPS. Even if you get close you still need the special instructions which unfortunately we didn't get.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Lyn&MarkfromOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ascona
1.3 mi away
Castello del Sole Beach Resort & SPA
0.4 mi away
Hotel Eden Roc
Hotel Eden Roc
#4 of 32 in Ascona
510 reviews
1.2 mi away
Giardino Ascona
Giardino Ascona
#3 of 32 in Ascona
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Locarno
Hotel Belvedere Locarno
#2 of 27 in Locarno
328 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Casa Berno
Hotel Casa Berno
#12 of 32 in Ascona
109 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Collinetta
Hotel Collinetta
#5 of 32 in Ascona
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Hotel Riposo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Hotel Riposo

Address: scalinata della Ruga 4, Ascona 6612, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lake Maggiore > Ascona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ascona
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ascona
#4 Family Hotel in Ascona
Price Range: £148 - £332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Art Hotel Riposo 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Art Hotel Riposo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riposo Hotel Ascona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing