We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Haast River Motels & Holiday Park
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Beachfront
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (289)
Filter reviews
289 results
Traveller rating
115
99
45
14
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
115
99
45
14
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgames roomone nightthe kitchenroom was largeexcellent place to staycamping facilitiescamper vanmotor homeovernight stopthe ground floorgreat stopgreat nightgreat facilitiesheading northclean accommodationjackson baypetrol station
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
180 - 185 of 289 reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Haast River Top 10 Holiday Park is located at State Highway 6. Nearby you find Haast river and aerodrome. The beach is at several kms. Sandflies and the strong surf keep the beach empty.

You find Haast town centre at 1.5 kms from the park. The town was named after the Prussian geologist Julius von Haast (1822-1867). The tiny town has several motels.

The park is small, tidy and well maintained. It offers 19 rooms, 26 powered sites & many unpowered sites. We had a powered site with a view of the mountains. The park is adequate and quiet.

Facilities encompass a reception annex TV, internet & games room. In the amenity hangar you find spacious free showers, a BBQ and an open kitchen & dining area. All was spotlessly clean. Wi-Fi internet is extra at NZ$ 10 for 24 hours.

Staffs were friendly. We found Haast River Top 10 Holiday Park good value for what it offers and an nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsPiket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We stayed at the end of March and found the same excellence we found in 2011. Lovely room, No 1, even better than the 5 star hotel we had stayed the previous weekend! Cooked our whitebait that we had purchased at Curley Tree and slept like babies in the comfortable bed. Can't wait to go back. Thank you.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jfm2711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

I'm on a cycle tour of the whole country (both islands). I've stayed in over ten Top 10s, and this one was up there with the most comfortable stays for your buck. Firstly, the welcome at front desk was just what I needed from a long day's ride... And this is how it's been with all Top 10s — warm, genuine and more than eager to help.

This park is bang in the middle of nature, and for me this added something special to my stay here. I stayed in a queen-bed unit and the view out of the window is worth the stay in itself. Coming From Fox Glacier, the first hotel you'll come across is Heartland. Skip that and go straight to the Top 10 at Haast. Brilliant location and, for me and my sore back, a perfect nights sleep.

Without a shadow of doubt, would stay here again.

Room Tip: The bed was one of the most comfortable I've slept on, even more so than my own bed. If particularly tired, treat yourself to a queen bed. Bliss.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theloneranger05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

This was everything we needed for an overnight stop. We had a self-contained ground floor room. We walked to the local pub - a lovely quiet walk - and had a lovely sunset to watch as we had our pre-dinner drinks. On check in we received a discount voucher for dinner and drinks at the pub so we took advantage of that. A nice, quiet stop.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Goannas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Got the same large room number 2 on the ground floor.

clean and well laid out, sun in the room throught to sunset on the ocean.

Set back off the road so no road noise.

Only comment is that car parks should be numbered.

Rat bag in room above garage (11 or 12 i think) grabbed our park outside our door, made unloading our luggage and cooking box a right real pain in butt.

Room Tip: room 2 or 3 is the best for 2-3 people.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raymond C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews