We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“All the ingredients for the perfect short break.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of La Godefrere

The gite with parking area and fields
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The gite with parking area and fields
Double bedroom Twin bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
The gite with parking area and fields
Double bedroom
Twin bedroom
Shower room with WC and hand basin
Sitting and TV area
Dining area
Modern fully equipped kitchen
Dining area with sitting and reading by the window
Games room, with 6ft pool table, dart board, petanque, and other outdoor games
The pergola and our garden seen from the gite stairs
A sunny day and what could be better than a long lunch with French food and wine.
The house and gite from our hay field
Lounging in the sun or eating on the patio
Enjoy our large gardens and explore our 5.5 acres of grounds
View from the gite bedrooms with our neighbours. Look out also for foxes, hares, deer and owls.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Gorron, Mayenne, Pays de la Loire

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
LoveTrave...
1 review
“All the ingredients for the perfect short break.”
Reviewed 11 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

A lovely part of France and a spacious gite that has everything that one could possibly need for a relaxed and peaceful stay. The owners have got the balance just right in terms of being there if needed without intruding in any way on our privacy. It was particularly nice to meet the two cats on site as due to an allergy in the family, we cannot have pets at home.Their presence added to my enjoyment alongside the chickens which also frequented the large gardens around the property. I would definitely book this gite again and I would also add that it is very reasonably priced compared to similar properties in the area.I think the owners share a passion for their adopted country and genuinely want others to experience the same.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bubblefai...
Telford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Beautiful Gite in a peaceful location.”
Reviewed 15 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We arrived on Saturday and were greeted my Graham who gave us a lovely warm welcome, he very kindly showed us around, and this Gite for us had the wow factor, its so peaceful just what we needed after my recent surgery. There is the most lovely nature walk which we loved, the Gite is situated within there lovely grounds and they are kind enough to share that space, they very kindly leave you alone to get on with your holiday and at the same time are very friendly people they are excellent hosts, we have stayed in rural France before with family but this time needed our own space and this fit the bill. On our last night we had a mega storm so had no power no fault of the owners at all, so I recommend a good torch in the event this will happen again,it all added to the charm as it does drop dark which on a stary night is wonderful. We will definitely recommend this fantastic Gite to all.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the peaceful location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary-Jane...
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“Like going back in time”
Reviewed 25 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We returned home yesterday with heavy hearts. Kate and Graham have put a lot of thought into the holiday - the Gite; super clean, English TV, DVD's, WI FI, books, board games, binoculars, tourist info, washing machine, loads of kitchen equipment including coffee maker, toaster and microwave, darts, pool. The outside; gas BBQ, sun loungers, outdoor dining table, lots of outdoor games for children and adults (proper French boules), beautiful scenery, home made wildlife walk.

The local area is beautiful farm land. Wildlife is in abundance. We enjoyed practising our French as most people in this area have only a little English. This area is not a huge tourist trap so if you want to experience easy quiet roads to drive on and a place that hasn't changed much for hundreds of years this is for you. It is fair to say though that you'll still find plenty to do. I would highly recommend the Robert Tatin museum, the medieval towns of Fougères and Domfront and the reasonably priced restaurants. We ate at a local restaurant which was 12 euros 50 for a 3 course meal on menu of the day.

The 3 cats helped add to the atmosphere, especially cheeky Archie who is always getting up to antics. You'll see what I mean if you go. The chickens wondering around too were lovely. The land is beautiful loads of flowers, butterfiles and bees.

If you read this thanks Kate and Graham. We had odd chats here and there and did some owl watching together but you never intruded on us. We felt really relaxed and welcome. Thanks too for welcoming our noisy boys!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Presh25
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“OWNERS MADE THIS COTTAGE STAY REALLY LOVELY”
Reviewed 27 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Graham and his wife are the perfect hosts. The cottage is within the same area as their home, but they never intruded, did not ask questions about our stay, didn't keep popping across or appearing at our coming and goings and generally allowed us to enjoy the place. They were wonderful to us on our arrival, allowing us to access the cottage early, they were not 'precious' about the cottage even suggesting we move outdoor furniture around to follow the sun!!
The cottage is really well done, very clean, with plenty of games etc provided. There was a bottle of wine on our arrival, very nice!! If there was a down side it would be it is open plan so if you are on the ground floor, the people on the second floor can hear everything you are doing. I would definitely recommend this cottage and its owners.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 May 2015
The building comprises just one holiday gite with games room. The only people you might hear on another floor would be other family/friends, if they were being loud.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joachim S
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Wonderfully quiet spot in the country”
Reviewed 22 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We spent our second week in France here at La Godefrere after a week in Paris, and the change was absolutely wonderful. Paris is obviously much more exciting, with lots of attractions and sights (and lots of tourists everywhere!), but here at La Godefrere we were able to relax and enjoy the holidays.
Being out in the countryside, it was completely quiet at night and quite dark. There is nothing that disturbs your sleep in this area!
The gite is very spacious, with a large downstairs room that includes space for a lounge, dining area, reading area and a kitchen. The main bathroom is on the same floor. The bedrooms are above this downstairs room, and a laundry / games room is located at ground floor below the gite. There was lots of space for our teenagers to curl up in a corner with their cell phones or books.
The gite was very well maintained - not a single thing was out of place. The bathroom and kitchen were spotless, the beds were comfortable. The TV was maybe a little outdated, but we hadn't come to France to watch TV anyway.
We made a number of day trips to places like Mont Saint Michel, Fougere, Mayenne, Ambrieres-les-Vallees, as well as some local farms and villages. There is a lot to see in the area, and we barely scratched the surface. We also visited many of the patisseries in the nearby towns to sample some of the local specialities.
Overall, we had a lovely, relaxing time at La Godefrere!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Wonderfully quiet and relaxing!
Liked least: Nothing.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisaAuber
1 review
“Lovely Gite in a pretty and rural location.”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We stayed at La Godefrere for 3 nights in August at the end of our holiday in France. The Gite is lovely, very comfortable and well equipped. The owners Graham and Kate were very friendly, helpful and welcoming. Their gardens and land are lovely giving a lovely setting and there were cows and sheep in the surrounding fields. My daughter enjoyed stroking the cats too! We enjoyed playing pool and darts in the games room. The area is lovely and there are loads of places to visit - we were spoilt for choice and wished we had longer to see some more! We went to Ambriere les Vallées which was lovely and also enjoyed a walk by the river and a game of Mini Golf at the Parc du Vaux. Mayenne was great too, we did the town trail on the map from the tourist office and a boat trip which was very interesting. We were given an English translation of the French commentary too which was great as this is often not the case! The only slight downsides I would say would be that the Gite is a little dark given the nature of the conversion of the barn and the bathroom had rather an aroma probably due to the septic tank and no opening windows. We would have liked a more private area just for the Gite as you are literally opposite the owners house but that might be us being picky! Overall a great holiday in a lovely area.

Location Cleanliness
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S L
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“Quirky Charm of Peter Mayle's Provence sans That Price Tag!”
Reviewed 11 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

My sweetheart and I stayed here for a week and found it pleasant, peaceful, and full of charming quirks. I'd read Peter Mayle's "Encore Provence" and although La Godefrere is not set in southern France (Provence), it's still got the same odd character from the brocades selling interesting antiques that I'm tempted to envision in a vintage getaway of my own to the boulangerie that sold better mille feuilles (napoleons) than we had eaten in Paris.

We are a quiet couple that provide much of our own entertainment, but there were still many things to see and do outside the privacy of the Godefrere guest lodgings. Nearby were chateaux, lovely walks, even a cidre museum! Our hosts were the perfect balance of warm and welcoming with leaving us our privacy, too. We could see them and their sweet cats in the garden often and banter with them about our mishaps with French customs (we didn't read the signs IN ENGLISH in the grocery stores that said shoppers needed to weigh and label their produce before going to the cash register; I ordered hot tea on a cold & rainy day as an "aperitif" at a nice restaurant to the consternation of the waiter; our U.S. credit cards didn't have the microchip that's read by most credit card machines in France so we couldn't buy gas for our car after midnight).

When on vacation, we prefer to have a little place from where we can brew tea and eat simple meals then wander around the world at large. This is definitely an affordable and enjoy place to do just that.

(I've added photos to complement the ones on La Godefrere website so you can see some of the detailed charm of the place.)

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing