We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A cosy cottage with a roaring fire and a lake...”
other travellers have booked this property
Sitting close to a beautiful private, carp fishing lake with row boat and island.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sitting close to a beautiful private, carp fishing lake with row boat and island.
Fully equipped kitchen Tranquil sleep in a pretty double bedroom with a lake view.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
Sitting close to a beautiful private, carp fishing lake with row boat and island.
Fully equipped kitchen
Tranquil sleep in a pretty double bedroom with a lake view.
Rory and Billy invite you to join them in the warm and cosy, pet friendly living room.
Family fun on the lake.
Lots of places to eat al fresco on the terrace and in the gardens.
Lots of guests spend hours just duck watching (with a glass or two!)
Beautiful flower filled gardens private and secluded grounds.
Cool down with a quick dip in the splash pool.
Tranquil, beautiful, magical evenings.
Sunny south facing terrace. Private and sheltered with stone barbecue.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Gorron, Mayenne, Pays de la Loire

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Andy W
1 review
“A cosy cottage with a roaring fire and a lake full of carp”
Reviewed 22 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

What a great stay we had. It was our first holiday with our 6 month old son.
Sue was fantastic at providing everything we and him needed, down to cots and high chairs.
The weather was cold but the log burner kept us warm in the evening (along with the red wine).
Would highly recommend

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Nov 2017
Many thanks for your kind words and I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay at Weeping Willow Cottage. Of course I am disappointed not to be awarded five stars and would be grateful to know what I can do better to gain that extra star! I'm always very keen to ensure everything is perfect for my guests!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doobles63
Birmingham
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Tranquil setting”
Reviewed 20 November 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We have now stayed twice at Weeping Willow Cottage, July 2016 and September 2017. The location is only 15 minutes walk from the village of Les Bois, where there is a village shop which also combines as a bar/restaurant (serves good lunches Mon-Fri for circa 12 Euro). The main town of Gorron is 10-15 minutes drive where there is everything you could possibly need. Weeping Willow cottage is set in its own grounds with ample parking and the nearest neighbour 300-400m away, this means it is peaceful and quiet. Within the grounds is a small lake which is well stocked with carp. The house has a small lounge and kitchen, two bedrooms and upstairs bathroom and down stairs toilet and shower. The water pressure is good and we have never run out of hot water. Facilities are good with a TV (basic English channels), CD player and the kitchen is well provided with all the utensils you are likely to need. The cottage is clean and tidy and outside there is plenty of garden to rest in with a small coal BBQ which is useful when the weather is warm or hot. The owner Sue is very helpful and if you are missing anything only too willing to provide. There are two resident dogs (one large and one small), several cats (no problem at all) and many ducks and geese. There are also a couple of bikes to use if requested, we certainly like to use these as the roads surrounding the cottage are ideal for cycling with little traffic to worry about.
Would recommend as a base for touring the country side or a quiet holiday.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Nov 2017
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a detailed review with many points that Im sure will be very interesting to my future guests. One small correction, the 'geese' you mentioned are actually very large ( and very friendly) ducks!
You have been delightful guests during both of your visits here with your family and I do hope you will come and see us again. Warmest good wishes.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara R
1 review
“Perfect retreat for a holiday”
Reviewed 19 November 2017 for a stay in June 2016

Beautiful setting, warm welcome. Comfortable clean accommodation. Oozing character. We spent a lovely few days in these beautiful surroundings. Would definitely go back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Nov 2017
Thank you for your kind words. It was lovely to have you stay here and I would be delighted to welcome you back to Weeping Willow Cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gtipam201...
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
“This place seeps into your soul, and you can't wait to get back.”
Reviewed 19 November 2017 for a stay in September 2017

There's a perfect balance here. The location in the deep countryside, the lake, the trees and the way that the cottage holds you warm and comfortable, is calming and comforting. Then the animals make you laugh and give you the most fantastic welcome. Sue is the best host you could have. Just go!

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Nov 2017
I'm so glad Weeping Willow Cottage cast its magic over you! Many many thanks for your lovely words!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire T
Shrewsbury, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic place”
Reviewed 19 November 2017 for a stay in July 2016

Beautiful, peaceful, quiet, tranquil, just some of the words I’d use to describe Weeping Willow Cottage. We’ve stayed here twice, once with a teenage daughter and once just myself and my husband. Both times we’ve had the best time. Sue is the hostess with the mostest! Extremely accommodating, helpful and lovely! There’s loads to do in the local area as well as further afield. The self contained cottage itself has everything you could wish for, is very comfortable and there’s even a pool! We will definitely be going back!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Nov 2017
Thank you for your lovely words!
It was great to have you here and to meet your family too! Ots always a pleasure to welcome returning guests back.
Come and see us again soon!
Warmest wishes.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing