We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (70)
Filter reviews
70 results
Traveller rating
33
25
6
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
33
25
6
3
3
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 70 reviews
Reviewed 20 December 2016

Don't come here expecting a fancy stay with fine dining options. Be fully prepared to be disconnected from civilization while you're here, and I promise you will love this place.

I found my experience here most memorable because I had never stayed in an eco-lodge like this. It's literally in the middle of the woods, so the setting was absolutely gorgeous. Yet the design of the place was rather modern and cozy, with a real fireplace in the middle of the living/dining room. We were greeted by a couple of dogs and cats, which were so friendly and adorable.

The hosts stay true to it being an eco-lodge. They laid all the pipes and infrastructure to get water and electricity. Because of this, there may not be electricity all the time. When we needed hot water to shower, it was fun to see our host light this box outside our lodge to get it going.

Our hosts were also very kind to allow us to use their kitchen to cook ourselves a meal with supplies we bought (we had read about the lack of stores around the lodge). That said, we also ate at the lodge and enjoyed the food there.

On your drive to the lodge, don't be distracted by signs to other lodges. Just keep driving until you see a sign to La Baita. We got lost for a bit because we started getting worried after not having seen a sign for a while, and followed some other signs.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ChesterChua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2016

Excellent hotel! It is more like a small mountain lodge. Guests gather around the fireplaces to talk and laugh with people from all around the world. This time of year it's not crowded so you have the feeling that you are visiting a friend's cabin in the mountains.
The food was great and natural.
Isabel and Rosa do everything to insure your comfort and that you have the information to really enjoy the park. Great hikes and trekking trails with unique landscapes to explore. No wifi or cell phone signal so you can really disconnect.
if you need signal you can go to the nearby town malepeuco, Chile. There is a local farmers market in town on Monday Wednesday and Friday.
I stayed in one of the hotel rooms versus a cabin. they were modern and rustic, well appointed and comfortable. Each room is offset so your view of the woods and the mountain are interrupted.

Room Tip: Hotel rooms are good for single and couples. Great cabins available for families
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jose S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2016

We stayed in a cabin which was perfect (although a little cold in Autumn). The location is amazing, right in the centre of the national park, and close to many walks and other activities. There are plenty of other options at the lodge, and the staff are incredibly friendly, helpful, and the dinners are amazing (although a little on the expensive side).

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bruno N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2015

We stayed in a room, which was more comfortable and less rustic than we expected given the location of this place within the park's boundaries. Power went out for short periods of time but then came back on. No wi-fi, no cell phone service. There are comfortable places to sit both inside and outside and a central fireplace when it is cold. The staff is helpful and friendly.

If you stay here there are some things you should know:

1. Unless you want to drive 18 km each way to Melipeuco, you are going to eat dinner here. The first night we tried the prix fixe dinner ("the menu") and were very disappointed that it included only one VERY scrawny chicken leg or thigh. In addition, the menu doesn't tend to be ready until Chilean dinner time, after 9:00. You are much better off getting a (pretty good) pizza and salad for half the cost, and which they will make starting at 8:00.

2. The major attractions of the park such as the trails and lakes are north of La Baita. In between is a stretch of hilly dirt road which, depending on its state of repair, may require a high clearance 4 wheel drive to navigate. On our first day, several sedans were stuck on these sections of the road, causing big back-ups in both directions. I think that Isabel, owner of La Baita, read the CONAF the riot act, and they were grading the road when we returned the second day. If you don't have a high clearance 4 wheel drive vehicle and know how to drive on dirt roads in bad condition, check with Isabel or other staff as to the condition of the road before you attempt to drive it.

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
5  Thank AndoverDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2015

I had the pleasure of staying here for 3 nights earlier this month. Its an Eco-Lodge and they really do their best to not abuse the locale. Minimal power in the rooms but all very comfortable and cosy.
On top of this everyone working there where friendly and helpful and tried in every way to make our stay a treat. The wood burner heated hot tub is lovely but you have to book in advance.
I highly recommend this lodge and of course this national park should you get the chance to experience them.
Oner thing take cash as cards not accepted.
No phone signal or Wi-Fi....Luxury :)

Room Tip: get number 6 its right next to the hot tub
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Troy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews