We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great welcome from Shelley !”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Old Farmhouse

The Old Farmhouse is an 18 century stone cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Old Farmhouse is an 18 century stone cottage
The Old Farmhouse Lawned garden with seating
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
39 reviews
The Old Farmhouse is an 18 century stone cottage
The Old Farmhouse
Lawned garden with seating
Lounge with log burner
Modern Kitchen
Fully equipped kitchen
Double Bedroom
Twin Bedroom
Downstairs shower room
Up Stairs Washroom
Play Area/ Climbing Frame
Walks from the cottage
View of surrounding area from back of cottage
Our Free Range Chichens
Lambing Time
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Darley Moor, Matlock, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
mwassen
Crystal River, Florida
1 review
“Great welcome from Shelley !”
Reviewed 29 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Loved the working fireplace and eggs from Shelleys free range chickens .
Would have loved to have stayed longer .
Great walking from the accomadation .

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarahbrad...
Thetford, United Kingdom
1 review
“The old farmhouse”
Reviewed 4 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

First time we have booked a cottage normally do holiday parks was a little worried but my fears were unfounded the cottage is fantastic with everything you would need for a holiday, milk and tea bags ect ready for you when you arrive after your journey was clean smelt nice and very welcoming the area is great to beautiful scenery and great place to be based
We would definitely return to the old farmhouse it certainly made our holiday I would rate it one of the best holidays we have had thank you She and Steve and not forgetting liquorice

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheringham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
PickNMix1...
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Cosy and well equipped”
Reviewed 10 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We enjoyed our stay at this remote cottage with another couple. The lounge is a little old-fashioned but comfortable and the bedrooms are of a reasonable size and comfy. The kitchen is very well-equipped, but is quite small and moving 4 adults around at breakfast time proved interesting. Shelley couldn't have been more helpful and we would recommend this property.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrian W
1 review
“Great location for cycling Peak District”
Reviewed 6 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Peaceful location with great views and ideal for cycling / walking and visiting the Peak District. The added benefit of having our own kitchen and lounge was great plus the bike storage was good too. Shelley is a very friendly host and the cooked breakfast set us up very well for the cycling we did ! I would happily recommend The Old Farmhouse.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DebmX
Castlederg
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wish it was longer”
Reviewed 2 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Struggled to find this little getaway but Once There we were content...beautiful location, cottage all you need with some lovely authentic touches.couldnt decipher heat otr to 1st night of 2 which was a bit disappointing. Check out very early in Sunday morning which we missed in the the handover..10am..think a later check in for arrival guests would give everyone better experience...host was under pressure and thus us too marred the experience. Midday checkout and 4pm check in would probably suit most guests? Area beautiful for walks

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing