We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thoughtful & generous hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Silver Ridge Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Tansley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Thoughtful & generous hospitality”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We enjoyed a three night stay at Silver Ridge, in particular Claire and Paul's thoughtful and generous hospitality. Complimentary tea and cake on arrival set the scene; complimentary liqueur nightcaps were a special touch, and the box of useful bits and pieces in the room was very handy. The breakfasts were excellent, with home made fruit concoctions (eg rhubarb & orange), and the smoked salmon and scrambled egg option was delicious. Paul & Claire couldn't do enough to help us navigate to local attractions and pubs etc. A delightful place.

Room Tip: The double on the ground floor is enormous and luxurious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 634Richardd634
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pcspaul, Owner at Silver Ridge Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Many thanks for you lovely review. It was a pleasure to meet you both.

We are glad we could be of assistance to you with helpful local advice and pleased you enjoyed all the homemade fruit compotes and liquers - we are busy at the moment making Sloe Gin, and picking plums for the next batch of breakfast compotes.

We hope to welcome you again in the near future.

kind regards

Claire & Paul.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    266
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
49
165
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

I couldn't say enough about our stay at Silver Ridge. Our welcome, our wonderful big room (the Oak), the lovely home made and locally sourced food for breakfast, the hospitality and little extras that our hosts Paul and Clair offer. Simply the best B&B I have ever stayed at and I look forward to the next excuse to stay there again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank woodyuk62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pcspaul, Owner at Silver Ridge Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Thank you for your super remarks - it's always great to hear such lovely feedback - we are pleased we lived up to your expectations.

We hope to welcome again in the future.

Kind regards

Claire & Paul.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leyburn
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We returned to Silver Ridge again in July and it was every bit as good as we remembered. We were welcomed with afternoon tea and settled in to our lovely room. Comfy bed and luxurious bathroom. The choice at breakfast is brilliant, everything from a full English to smoked salmon and scrambled egg with lots of other goodies such homemade fruit compotes and jams. Thanks again to Claire and Paul for a lovely short break.

Room Tip: The Oak room is wonderful with a sitting area and a luxurious bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pcspaul, Owner at Silver Ridge Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Many thanks for your second glowing review - its always a pleasure to welcome you back to Silver Ridge. Sorry for the delay in posting our replies - it's been a very hectic summer !!

Very pleased we lived up to your expectations again.

Hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind regards

Claire & Paul.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Thanks to the reviews on trip advisor we selected Silver Ridge for our 20th Wedding anniversary celebration. Claire and Paul made us feel very welcome with great advice on where to eat in order to celebrate in style- even arranging the booking of our table! Nothing was too much effort for our hosts, who are genuine people with genuine hospitality. The breakfasts alone make the visit a must before adding the location- not to mention the quality of the rooms. You truly felt that you shared their home, with luxury coming as standard. We sincerely hope to make Silver Ridge a regular destination.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vanessa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pcspaul, Owner at Silver Ridge Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Thank you so much for your glowing review - it was a pleasure to meet you both and a great compliment for us that you chose Silver Ridge to celebrate your 20th Anniversary.

We hope that we can welcome you both again in the future.

kind regards

Claire & Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Paul and Clare couldn't have made us more welcome. The breakfasts were outstanding. We made the most of our time with their advice as to where to go and what to see. Will definitely return, still so much to see.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pcspaul, Manager at Silver Ridge Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to write your lovely review - we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Kind regards Claire & Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh-on-Sea
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Everything which one could possibly want was excellent: the room, the welcome, the breakfast, the view, the peace and quiet and, especially, the hospitality which was warm and friendly without being intrusive. We will most definitely return if possible and stay for longer. Paul and Claire have clearly put a great deal of time and effort (and probably money!) into this venture and they deserve great success because it's as near perfection as is possible.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank HappyFlyer88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pcspaul, Owner at Silver Ridge Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you for your amazing comments, we love what we do and are very proud of Silver Ridge and enjoy sharing it with all our guests. Glad you enjoyed the whole experience.

We hope to welcome you both again next season.

regards
Claire & Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

When we arrived at Silver Ridge, Paul and Claire made us feel very welcome. Tea/Coffee and fruit cake on the patio was a lovely start to our weekend away. Our room was lovely and comfortable. We loved the breakfast and can honestly say that this was the best breakfast we have ever had in a hotel!! We both loved the whole experience so much that we will be booking again soon.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aimi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pcspaul, Owner at Silver Ridge Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Many thanks - it was a pleasure to meet you both. Glad you enjoyed the whole experience at Silver Ridge, and what a compliment about our breakfast!!. We have just been re assessed and have held on to our breakfast award for the 6th year running.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Claire & Paul.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tansley
2.8 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
241 reviews
3.8 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
732 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hodgkinson's Hotel
Hodgkinson's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Matlock Bath
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
1.4 mi away
Castle Green B&B
Castle Green B&B
#1 of 51 in Matlock
408 reviews
2.1 mi away
Cables B&B
Cables B&B
#1 of 7 in Matlock Bath
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Ridge Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Ridge Bed & Breakfast

Property: Silver Ridge Bed & Breakfast
Address: Silver Ridge Foxholes Lane, Tansley, Matlock DE4 5LF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock > Tansley
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Tansley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Silver Ridge Bed & Breakfast 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Silver Ridge is a luxury 5 star Bed & Breakfast with a gold Award. Set in 1 acre of mature gardens, surrounded by fields and woodlands. This quality accommodation offers peace & tranquility with a high degree of privacy to our guests, including a separate dining room and entrance. Along with award winning quality home cooking,using homemade & fresh local produce where possible, this all adds up to a truly memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Silver Ridge Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Ridge Bed & Breakfast Tansley, Matlock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing