We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Site”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tansley
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Packhorse Farm Camp Site
Certificate of Excellence
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Site”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

As first time campers with our twin 4 year old girls it was always going to an experience but should not have worried.
We stayed for two nights and couldn't have asked for a better campsite & location. As previously mentioned in other posts the place was spotlessly clean and had a heated shower block. The pitches were a generous size with all having their own dedicated picnic table.
If you have young kids a visit to Chatsworth House Farmyard & Adventure Playground which is only about 12 miles away is a must.....hours of entertainment.
The local pub in Tansley " The Gate Inn" is highly recommended , quality home cooked food at a reasonable price.
Will definitely be returning not just because I loved it but the whole family had a whale of a time.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    21
    0
    2
    1
See reviews for
45
25
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

One of the best campsites I have been too if you like the easy camping option, spotless facilities and the heated shower block is superb, especially on the cool summer evenings.

We had a party of about nineteen with kids of various ages and couple of dogs there was plenty of space to for kids to play without falling over tents and chairs, etc. Pitches were clearly marked, spacious and well laid out. Bricks are provided for BBQs to sit on, just return them to point of collection.

Definitely be booking again for the next Peak camping trip.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derbyshire
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights with friends last August we had two pitches together - campsite was well maintened well - shower block was very clean - like the idea of electric points for you to charge your phone. Just could have done with a small shop on site selling essentials . Like the idea of every pitch having pinnic benches. Nice and quiet after 10.00 - would recommend this site

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wendy43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We have just left Packhorse Farm from a weeks camping, the site was really nice, clean, friendly! Great for exploring Derbyshire, amazing views. The cleanest site I've ever stayed on. Obviously gets busy at weekends but still great fun! We will definitely go again. They even have a field for adults only if you want a rest from children. you can get fresh eggs and milk from the farm shop but you do need to travel into Tansley for anything else.
Great overall... There is a pub in Tansley on the main road that makes amazing home made pies a definite must. :-))

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Samantha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Stayed here over the bank holiday weekend and it was very enjoyable.
Lovely, well maintained camp site. Facilities were good and toilet block clean with plenty of hot water.
Tent pitches are well spaced and the field layout is good, allowing for each party to have their own space without feeling on top of each other.
Free freezer for freezing ice packs was a great perk as were the farm fresh eggs for breakfast!

3 pubs within a walking distance or a short drive away.

Would definitely visit again and recommend to friends. A great base for driving out to surrounding Derbyshire and Peak District attractions. About 20-25 mins drive to Chatsworth.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mrsfelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Andy & wendy from barnsley,We booked in advance for 4 nights with family and got 3 pitches together recommended by sue,quite and very private,made very welcome too on arrival,very clean and warm shower and toilet block and good pot washing area. Great base for sightseeing,first time here and not our last either

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrew N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here for 6 nights for a holiday, we had a lovely time. Received a very warm welcome and the pitch was a good size.
The wash block was very clean as was the washing up area. A new addition is a freezer for your cool blocks when is next to the washing up area and is free to use.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tjoyce1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tansley
12.2 mi away
Knotlow Farm B&B
Knotlow Farm B&B
#4 of 39 in Buxton
130 reviews
16.6 mi away
Staden Grange
Staden Grange
#4 of 19 in Buxton
168 reviews
15.7 mi away
Longnor Wood Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Yew Tree Cottage B&B
Yew Tree Cottage B&B
#2 of 2 in Tansley
107 reviews
0.3 mi away
Silver Ridge Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Packhorse Farm Camp Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Packhorse Farm Camp Site

Property: Packhorse Farm Camp Site
Address: Packhorse Farm Foxholes Lane, Tansley, Matlock DE4 5LF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock > Tansley
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Tansley
Hotel Class:3 star — Packhorse Farm Camp Site 3*
Also Known As:
Packhorse Farm Camp Site Tansley, Matlock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing