We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quite disappointed”
Review of The Gate Inn

The Gate Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Restaurants in Tansley
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: " The Gate Inn " caters for everyone. Being a village pub: local's call in for quick pint along with the pool and darts and boules teams who's friendly banter provides a great family and friendly atmosphere. Our extensive food menu and reasonably priced list of selected beers and wines have found popularity with our regular customers who give us honest feedback to keep us fresh and on our toes. Our new private function room with its own bar and rest room facilities room can cater for up to 100 diners which is great for those family occasions. With two outdoor terraces with great views over the countryside you can relax whist the kids play in secure area playground.
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Quite disappointed”
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

Went here earlier today after a some friends recommended the place. We had a table in the lounge area as the restaurant was full, which was fine as we hadn't booked. We sat down, the man behind the bar said someone would bring menus over, 15 mins later, no menus so we had to ask for some. The food came out relatively quick and was average, nothing special. We left straight after eating our mains as we got the feeling we were outsiders sat with a bunch of regulars/ locals and was a bit cliquey for our liking.
So, overall.. Service needs sorting- to say there were about 5/6 girls on they didn't seem to be doing much other than having a chat.
Food- average, have had a lot better and would not recommend unfortunately and can be improved.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Monamojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    226
    102
    35
    16
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“We all really enjoyed the meal”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We booked several weeks ago, and a party of 15 of us arrived, some had not been to this pub for years, to be honest it has really picked up and this is the third time I have eaten here, enjoyed my meals every time, all my friends really enjoyed there meals too and we haave no complaints whatsoever. The staff where really patient with us as we ran a little late, als when we were served all the meals came together so we could all eat at the same time, thanks for been great hosts, all was perfect, we all look forward to coming again sometime in the future so dont change a thing.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank peter507_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Food with lots of Outdoor Space to enjoy the Sun”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The family and I called in on Saturday afternoon and enjoyed an exceptional meal. We had a range of dishes including a ham salad, the Gate Gourmet Beef Burger (stacked high with cheese, bacon & bbq onion relish), a steak & stilton sandwich and Children's chicken strips. All dishes were cooked to perfection and enjoyed in the beer garden.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elliot40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derby
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Just great!”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We visited today with two friends for Sunday lunch. We had a lovely welcome by the staff (mainly young, but certainly knew their job) and drinks were soon ordered and brought to our table. We all had the traditional Sunday lunch, but not having large appetites, ordered small portions which were just the right amount for us. Vegetables that were beautifully cooked were brought in a separate dish which we could help ourselves to. Everything was just right - the meat was tasty and tender, roast potatoes perfectly cooked and the mash velvety. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit and will come again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank janeyDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
215 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and lots of it”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

The Gate appears to be part way through a renovation so don't be put off by the outside of the pub which seem a bit dated. Inside it's fresh, airy and light with a nice extension and a large outdoor space which is currently being worked on.
We went for a birthday meal on a Thursday and, although they had not actually written down our booking, we still managed to grab a table.in the extension.
Starters of White bait and Brie Wedges with cranberry sauce were plentiful and gorgeous. Followed by hearty portions of Steak and Ale pie and a vegertarian proofed ploughmans and nice hand cut chips.
We were utterly stuffed and it all came to under £30 including drinks. Staff whizzed about, constantly checking everything was all right and managing to be cheerful and efficient despite the fact they were very busy.
Heartily recommend. Will be back :)

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank collymarps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Gate Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Gate Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing