We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Yew Tree Cottage B&B
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holly Cottage(Tansley)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (113)
Filter reviews
113 results
Traveller rating
111
2
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
111
2
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbakewell puddingriber suitepreserveshome madeon arrivalpot of teapubs within walking distancesitting areabe visiting againlovely housetwo nightsquiet locationfantastic placea lovely stayrichardhomemadehosts
Filter
Updating list...
50 - 55 of 113 reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Thank you teanie and richard we stayed with you for 5 nights and enjoyed every single one,your b/b deserves all the wonderful reviews written it is a great place to stay and looking forward to our return thank you ann and peter

Room Tip: we stayed in the riber room nice and quite perfect
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trueimpressions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jean-christine22, Owner at Yew Tree Cottage B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2012

Thank you for your kind words. We enjoyed your company.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

It`s hard to improve on perfection but this is what proprietors Mr & Mrs Dornan strive to do, customer satisfaction being their priority, even the smallest detail receives their full attention.
I cannot think of a single item which could be improved as our stay there was perfect.
There is a calm and restful garden with water features and a secluded and sunny seating area.
Breakfast is of the highest quality, not only in choice but also in presentation.
Evening meal can be had at the local Tavern. We were pleasantly surprised at how good the food was there.
Our visit was a special occasion and to find a beautiful vase of roses and glasses of sherry waiting for us in our room was a thoughtful and touching gesture.
All said this is probably one of the best Guest House B&B`s in Britain.
Will see you again soon. Best wishes Chris and Pete Draper. Sheffield.

Room Tip: All rooms are perfect
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OldClimber19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

From the moment we arrived and were warmly welcomed by the lovely cats, closely followed by Richard we felt totally at home. We stayed for three nights in the 'Riber Wing' which is spacious, private and wonderfully peaceful. The bedroom is large, immaculately clean and fresh with two windows overlooking the garden and hills towards Riber. The sitting area is cosy and the bathroom is spacious with a lovely big shower cubicle with the all important non slip floor. The eccentricities of the plumbing are fully explained in a helpful notice on the door, there is masses of hot water and to complete my wish list for an ideal bathroom, huge bath sheets to wrap yourself in after your shower. Breakfasts were superb, everything exactly to order, hot and delicious and with a choice which would put to shame most 5 star hotels never mind a B&B. Teanie and Richard are delightful hosts, anticipate every need, a mine of information and helpful to a fault. Nothing is too much trouble.
This is an extended cottage and so parking is quite tight and requires consideration, or you could choose to park on the lane outside which should be perfectly safe so long as you tuck in to the wall. The garden is very pretty, but the weather was appalling during out stay so we couldn't really enjoy it but in fine weather I imagine it would be lovely to spend a warm evening sitting out there. Tansley is convenient for all the attractions of Derbyshire and this is a peaceful spot to make a base. All in all, an ideal base from which to explore Derbyshire and enjoy the best of its hospitality. I look forward to returning and knowing it will be like being met by old friends.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bunny022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jean-christine22, Owner at Yew Tree Cottage B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2012

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write such a comprehensive review; it is much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2012

From the moment we arrived until the time we left I can honestly say that Teanie and Richard made us feel so very welcome. The rooms we booked (both the Rose and the Peony) were charming, wonderfully comfortable and beautifully presented. The breakfasts were superb (with such choice available too) with the bonus of tea and delicious homemade delights both on arrival and at the end of a well filled day. We have no hesitation in thoroughly recommending Yew Tree Cottage to anyone wanting to stay in the vicinity of Matlock or indeed the whole of Derbyshire. Thank you from all of us for "putting the icing" on a delightful weekend.

Room Tip: All rooms are ensuite - the Rose room has a bath as well as a shower and the Peony has a shower only
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KevinEdmunds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Teanie Dornan looked after us very well indeed. The B & B was very clean, the breakfasts were lovely and Teanie was very helpful.
The walk suggested to us in the Wye valley was lovely.
My wife slept very well. I am a bit like the 'princess and the pea' so I noticed that the mattress was not as soft as mine at home.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeremysfeedback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews