We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had a delightful 3 nights stay and we will be returning.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Yew Tree Cottage B&B
Ranked #2 of 2 Tansley B&B and Inns
1 review
“We had a delightful 3 nights stay and we will be returning.”
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Fantastic place to stay. We were warmly welcomed and our hosts were attentive without being intrusive. The cottage is beautiful, you really feel like you are staying in a home. The facilities were first class, we stayed in the Ribber room and were pleasantly surprised with its size. The breakfast was also outstanding! We would happily recommend a stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
78
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed for two nights, returning this morning and we could not recommend this Cosy and welcoming B&B more highly. We were welcomed by Teanie with freshly prepared bake well pud and lovely cup of tea. Our room was small but well appointed with everything we needed. Lovely new power shower, fluffy towels and high quality cotton sheets. Very comfortable bed too. Breakfast was a first class affair with locally sourced ingredients, antique silver, home made preserves and as much tea and juice as we needed. The attention to detail shown made us feel spoiled and we feel it represented good value for money. We will return! Thank you!

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

I feel a bit mean giving Yew Tree Cottage less than 5 stars, especially reading all the glowing references from happy customers. Don't get me wrong, it's a nice place, very, very clean and well appointed with friendly hosts who spare no effort, and I know things like pristine clean bedding and fluffy towels, lovely bath products and truly fantastic breakfasts don't come cheap. But even so, it's a B&B at hotel prices and we winced a bit at the cost. When we booked I think we imagined a more imposing place in extensive grounds, so perhaps when we arrived up the narrow drive the place felt a little ordinary compared to our expectations. Actually it's a pretty little cottage, pleasantly decorated and I have absolutely nothing to complain about. Except the price. Only a very little less and I'd be raving!

Room Tip: Peony is quite small for a couple, but fine if you just come back to sleep, rather than hang out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phoenix_redux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

We had a warm feeling from the moment we phoned and book. Teanie and Richard made us so welcome from the moment we arrived. The house was full of character in a great setting and well kept garden, so clean and teeming with collections of memories and hobbies. The Rose suite was very comfortable with absolutely everything we needed. The discerning slightly more mature customer is catered for, that is a politically correct way of saying that families with children would not appreciate the experience offered here.
Teanie is friendly and warm soul who was so happy to spend time talking about the local area, her hobbies and amused us with the excuses she was dreaming up to get out of going to her Palaties keep fit session. Nothing was too much trouble, tea, home made Bakewell tart or an evening coffee before bed. Full marks from me in every respect. Now the best bit was the breakfast. What a choice to rival any top restaurant and prepared to perfection.
Many thanks for making our short break so enjoyable.

Room Tip: Just ask for anything you need to know.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kings lynn
1 review
Reviewed 7 June 2013

If you are looking for somewhere to stay in Derbyshire,you could not do better than stay with Teanie and Richard.A lovely house in a quiet location,wonderful breakfasts and Teanie is a very attentive host,very knowledgeable about her home county and a pleasure to spend time with. MUST BE THE BEST LANDLADY EVER.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

We were given a warm welcome and homemade Bakewell. The room was nice and clean and had everything you need. We had a great night's sleep and breakfast was lovely. Can't find fault with anything. A very English Bed and Breakfast with everything homemade and lots of effort made by the hosts to make your stay picture perfect. I can see why all reviews are so great. Non-English travellers would really love staying here as they would really feel part of a typically English experience. Well done!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulandJennyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

This was the second stay at the Yew Tree Cottage B & B in Tansley for us. This year we stayed 25 nights and enjoyed every one. From the welcome you get when you arrive to the farewell you get when you leave the whole experience was exceptional. Teanie and Richard both cater to your every request and are always more than happy to provide information or a cuppa tea and some bakewell pudding. The breakfasts are fantastic with a wide variety of choices available, see photos. The rooms were always clean and furnished beautifully, and a very comfortable bed to top it all off. All in all absolutely exceptional. We would not hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tansley
2.2 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
294 reviews
5.1 mi away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
4.4 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wirksworth
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Riverbank Guest House
Riverbank Guest House
#4 of 52 in Matlock
309 reviews
1.0 mi away
Castle Green B&B
Castle Green B&B
#1 of 52 in Matlock
430 reviews
1.7 mi away
High Tor Hotel
High Tor Hotel
#3 of 7 in Matlock Bath
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yew Tree Cottage B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yew Tree Cottage B&B

Property: Yew Tree Cottage B&B
Address: The Knoll, Tansley, Matlock DE4 5FP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock > Tansley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Tansley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Teanie provides luxury five star B&B in traditional cottage surroundings and specialises in providing for the requirements of each guest with an amazing attention to detail. The property is mainly over 300 years old in an extremely tranquil setting. The 3 en-suite bedrooms are one flexible super-king/twin suite with large seated shower one king-size double with bath and separate shower and one standard double. Breakfasts have an Eggcup Award from the AA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Yew Tree Cottage B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yew Tree Cottage B&B Tansley, Matlock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing