We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for wheelchair users wanting to enjoy accesssible countryside.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brassington
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hoe Grange Holidays
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Perfect for wheelchair users wanting to enjoy accesssible countryside.”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

I had seen adverts for Hoe Grange in the Disability Press for a number of years but we had never got round to actually booking. Having now stayed for a week we really regret having not gone before and are already determined to make it our main fortnight's holiday next year. We stayed in Daisybank, we loved it, highest spec we have ever had (biggest wet room ever!), we loved the views of spectacular countryside all around, we loved the sheltered patio even with part of it covered from the rain and something we fully indulged in; the extra activities that are there for you if you wish. A day's hire of the Boma - powerchair crossed with a mountain bike that took me up the mountain behind the cabin and comfortably over every bump and pot hole I could find for 7 miles on the High Peak Trail. We also purchased the fire pit experience. Sitting out til 10 pm in March watching logs burn, drinking mulled wine and toasting marshmallows with melted chocolate are the unique experiences that made our holiday at Hoe Grange so much more special than at other UK locations. Beyond experiences provided by Hoe Grange, all credit to Felicity and David for including details on their website of a whole range of opportunities you might want to have a go at during your holiday. It was on this basis that we discovered what had to be the highlight of our holiday, a 3-hour trip round the local villages with a driver on a motorbike and sidecar. In addition we found a whole range of lovely pubs and cafes within a short drive serving fab food at reasonable prices. We have been on previous holidays where we could have gone home early as there were so few accessible things for us within a reasonable radius. At Hoe Grange we have come home with a whole list of places we still want to go to and things to do that we were unable to fit into one week. We would have no hesitation in recommending Hoe Grange. You can find cheaper self-catering but Hoe Grange is premium quality & location and on that basis we viewed it as worth every penny.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felicity B, Owner at Hoe Grange Holidays, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Wow - you certainly had an action packed week! Bill's Sidecar Safari is something extra special & glad you have some happy memories of our own Hoe Grange experiences. As you say there is much more to explore here in the Peak District and we look forward to welcoming you both back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    334
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
168
92
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Four girls and four horses stayed at Hoe Grange for 3 days. What a fantastic place to stay with your horse. We rode the high peak trail and surrounding bridleways, doing 50 miles in all. The accommodation for us in Daisybank was absolutely superb. Fresh bread, eggs, flowers. all lovely touches to welcome us. the hot tub and sauna are amazing. Just spent the Saturday night in Hail, watching the horses, chatting, from the hot tub, and then the stars came out to greet us. Life doesn't get better than this. Extremely friendly owners, who can't do enough for you. Well done. Such a great time had by us and our horses. Many many thanks from Caz.

Room Tip: All the rooms are brilliant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madwoman50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felicity B, Owner at Hoe Grange Holidays, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thank you for a great horsey review. You certainly made use of our long distance circular routes with many hours in the saddle - good job you were able to relax in our steamy sauna and log -fired hot tub under the stars on your return! Thanks for keeping the yard and stables tidy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We took Mum and Dad away for a Mid week break at Hoe Grange. Mum has had a stroke so has difficulty walking so the additional equipment provided was brilliant and meant that Dad could relax knowing that Mum was okay. We stayed in Daisybank which provided fantastic facilities and brilliant views across the farm and beyond. Mum loved watching the Calves in the morning. Dad loved the garden and we had brilliant weather so Dad was sat out as much as he could. The smell of the fresh bread on our arrival was wonderful. I would highly recommend Hoe Grange, none of us wanted to leave and I am sure we will visit again soon.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DiB966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felicity B, Owner at Hoe Grange Holidays, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thank you for your kind words - our homemade bread is always popular and it's good to know that our specialist equipment is useful - we try to make everything easy and take the worry away so that you can truly relax and enjoy your holiday to the full :0)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Amazing stay. We have recommended the cabins to many friends and family. Just what we needed to relax and have a break from our normal busy lives. We definitely want to come back in the future. the attention to detail was fantastic. Thank you!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovethecountryside1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felicity B, Owner at Hoe Grange Holidays, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thank you for recommending us - we love it when our guests feel at home and can truly relax - we look forward to welcoming you back when you next need to recharge your batteries!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 February 2014

The accommodation at Hipley was better than expected, brilliant wet room facilities, very accessible, warm and comfortable. We were made very welcome, and everything was high quality. So many thoughtful touches, we enjoyed every minute. Wonderful views and close to some wonderful places. We hope to return,

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 660Julietta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felicity B, Owner at Hoe Grange Holidays, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Thank you Julietta for the wonderful review - we really want our guests to feel at home and it's great to hear you loved all our little extra touches. Crucnhie, Twix and Fudge are waiting to welcome you back - woof, woof!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed here the weekend before Christmas on a last minute break and had one of the best weekends ever. The lodge was everything we could have wished for, the setting peaceful and relaxing. We were made very welcome by ours hosts and it was nice for us to be able to stay somewhere dog friendly. I look forward to my return visit :)

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Salie143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felicity B, Owner at Hoe Grange Holidays, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
"The best weekend ever" - wow and thanks for your 5 star review! We are delighted that you want to come back and explore more walkies from the door, but you'll have to get in quick as dates are booking up fast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We stayed in the Hipley cabin between Christmas and New Years. It was even better than we were hoping. When we arrived the cabin was lit up with Christmas decorations with a lovely real christmas tree inside. The cabin was really cosy with all the cooking equipment, cosmetics, linen etc you would need. There were mince pies and mulled wine waiting for us which was a nice treat. We made good use of the tv and DVD player. The cabins are in the perfect location to go for a refreshing country walk with plenty of animals to admire! The balcony is fully enclosed which was perfect for our dogs. We had a brilliant time. No complaints at all....we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felicity B, Owner at Hoe Grange Holidays, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
We are so glad that you had a good time, It is a wonderful area to walk with your dogs, after all they deserve a holiday too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brassington
7.9 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
383 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
15.0 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
10.3 mi away
Secret Cloud House Holidays
Secret Cloud House Holidays
#1 of 2 in Cauldon Low
95 reviews
14.4 mi away
Quarry Walk Lodges
Quarry Walk Lodges
#1 of 1 in Freehay
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hoe Grange Holidays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoe Grange Holidays

Property: Hoe Grange Holidays
Address: Hoe Grange Farm Ballidon Moor | Ballidonmoor, Brassington DE4 4HP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Brassington
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Brassington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hoe Grange Holidays 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four award winning self-catering log cabins and two gorgeous glamping pods set in the spectacular Derbyshire countryside; a real "home from home" with fully equipped kitchen/open plan lounge, spacious bedrooms and luxurious whirlpool bath. Fabulous footpaths from the door, relax in our Swedish log fired hot tub under the stars, or bring your horse on holiday to enjoy the High Peak Trail. Excellent disabled facilities, NAS rated Mobility level 3. Ideal for families and larger groups of up to 18 guests, short breaks available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hoe Grange Holidays Brassington, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing