We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brassington
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hoe Grange Holidays
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Stafford, United Kingdom
1 review
“excellent”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Just spent a long weekend here and thoroughly enjoyed it
Level of cleanliness and facilities were excellent , and although we booked primarily for our 98 year old mother because of low level access , ramps etc and wet room our grandchildren whose ages ranged from 18 months to 14 years also loved it
The hillside setting , ability to wander the farm and chat to the owners/farmers all added to the experience.
There commitment to renewable energy was commendable without being too intrusive

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter9992014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felicity B, Owner at Hoe Grange Holidays, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thanks for another glowing review, Although we have a lot of accessile features to help our guests its nice to have it pointed out that its great for everyone, including families!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    331
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
167
90
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Four adults (one wheelchair user) and two dogs had a wonderful holiday in Rainster. Extremely well-designed bath room with adjustable hand basin and easily accessed shower/wet room. Extremely well fitted out and all eco-friendly soaps & shower gel, towels, tea towels, dishwasher plus detergent etc. Plenty of parking and room for manoeuvering trailer with Tramper. Easy access for dog-walking to local trail via fields at back of farm. Felicity and David are charming friendly hosts and bake lovely bread! We had great daily walks on Tissington, High Peak and Monsal Trails - all old railway lines with even surface and generally gentle slopes but one or two very steep ones that my Tramper handled without problems. Can't recommend it too strongly - we'll be back one day soon!

Room Tip: Electric bed for disabled member. All rooms perfect and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PreshawPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felicity B, Owner at Hoe Grange Holidays, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Best wheelchair-friendly holiday ever - Wow, what an accolade! Thank you, we enjoyed having you here and glad your dogs enjoyed their many walkies too! Hope to see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Amazing location, fabulous accommodation, wonderful hosts, what a wonderful place to sit in David and Felcity's sauna overlooking the beautiful countryside. It heated up so quickly, so cosy and warm despite the driving rain outside.
The ideal way to spend a cold, wet Sunday afternoon.
We just wished we had horses to take with us, as this really is a great place to ride out in open spaces with incredible views.

Thank you for sharing your idyllic spot with us!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheilaseven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felicity B, Owner at Hoe Grange Holidays, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Thank you! We love our new log-fired sauna too - an amazing relaxing experience and as you say it doesn't matter what the weather is like outside. We are lucky to live in such a beautiful spot and very happy to share it with all our guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We stayed in the Rainster cabin and had a wonderful time. The facilities were first-class and suited my disabled husbands' needs completely. It truely was a home from home with the added advantage of stunning views out of every window. We enjoyed watching the many farm animals from the comfort of the warm and cosy cabin. There were many places close by where we could take the dog for walks and the local resovior was one place we visited more than once! We are hoping to return some time in the future and enjoy Hoe Grange in the summer months.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felicity B, Owner at Hoe Grange Holidays, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Thank you for a lovely review - peace, tranquility and stunning views with plenty of wildlife - we have a rare combination that helps everyone relax and go home refreshed! We look forward to welcoming you all back for more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
90 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

Myself & two colleagues supported two ladies here for the weekend & we had the most amazing time. The ladies enjoyed it immensely & the equipment provided for free was brilliant.

We stayed in the Rainster cabin & honestly it exceeded our expectations. We arrived to bread, eggs, milk & cookies & beautifully decorated cabin. It was spacious, cosy & relaxing. Also the folder full of things to do & places to eat proved really useful.

We paid for the fire pit experience which was well worth the money. We had a fire set outside our cabin with ample logs, marshmallows, chocolate, biscuits, blankets & mulled wine, delicious!

The owners were really lovely even thougj we were a real pain asking for the beds splitting into two singles after we had said it was fine (sorry guys).

I am so pleased to have found this wonderful place & we will be back without a doubt.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank April J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felicity B, Owner at Hoe Grange Holidays, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Absolutely fabulous review - thank you! Pleased that you thought our fire pit experience a special memory to treasure whilst celebrating Jan's 70th birthday weekend. you were not a pain at all - we are happy to rearrange furniture to make life easier for guests - it's what we do :0)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lundin Links, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Just spent five fabulous days at Hoe Grange. The welcome pack was a lovely touch and reassured us that we were about to be well looked after - and we were. Thank you David and Felicity for making our stay such an enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janklmcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felicity B, Owner at Hoe Grange Holidays, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Delighted that you loved our special welcome pack with some tasty local treats - we love local and are proud to promote our Peak District produce. We hope we can tempt you back for more!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

I had seen adverts for Hoe Grange in the Disability Press for a number of years but we had never got round to actually booking. Having now stayed for a week we really regret having not gone before and are already determined to make it our main fortnight's holiday next year. We stayed in Daisybank, we loved it, highest spec we have ever had (biggest wet room ever!), we loved the views of spectacular countryside all around, we loved the sheltered patio even with part of it covered from the rain and something we fully indulged in; the extra activities that are there for you if you wish. A day's hire of the Boma - powerchair crossed with a mountain bike that took me up the mountain behind the cabin and comfortably over every bump and pot hole I could find for 7 miles on the High Peak Trail. We also purchased the fire pit experience. Sitting out til 10 pm in March watching logs burn, drinking mulled wine and toasting marshmallows with melted chocolate are the unique experiences that made our holiday at Hoe Grange so much more special than at other UK locations. Beyond experiences provided by Hoe Grange, all credit to Felicity and David for including details on their website of a whole range of opportunities you might want to have a go at during your holiday. It was on this basis that we discovered what had to be the highlight of our holiday, a 3-hour trip round the local villages with a driver on a motorbike and sidecar. In addition we found a whole range of lovely pubs and cafes within a short drive serving fab food at reasonable prices. We have been on previous holidays where we could have gone home early as there were so few accessible things for us within a reasonable radius. At Hoe Grange we have come home with a whole list of places we still want to go to and things to do that we were unable to fit into one week. We would have no hesitation in recommending Hoe Grange. You can find cheaper self-catering but Hoe Grange is premium quality & location and on that basis we viewed it as worth every penny.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felicity B, Owner at Hoe Grange Holidays, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Wow - you certainly had an action packed week! Bill's Sidecar Safari is something extra special & glad you have some happy memories of our own Hoe Grange experiences. As you say there is much more to explore here in the Peak District and we look forward to welcoming you both back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brassington
7.9 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
378 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
15.0 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
14.7 mi away
The Old Hall Hotel
The Old Hall Hotel
#3 of 9 in Buxton
1,040 reviews
10.3 mi away
Secret Cloud House Holidays
Secret Cloud House Holidays
#1 of 2 in Cauldon Low
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hoe Grange Holidays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoe Grange Holidays

Property: Hoe Grange Holidays
Address: Hoe Grange Farm Ballidon Moor | Ballidonmoor, Brassington DE4 4HP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Brassington
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Brassington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hoe Grange Holidays 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four award winning self-catering log cabins set in the spectacular Derbyshire countryside; a real "home from home" with fully equipped kitchen/open plan lounge, spacious bedrooms and luxurious whirlpool bath. Fabulous footpaths from the door, relax in our Swedish log fired hot tub under the stars, or bring your horse on holiday to enjoy the High Peak Trail. Excellent disabled facilities, NAS rated Mobility level 3. Ideal for families and larger groups of up to 18 guests, short breaks available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hoe Grange Holidays Brassington, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing