We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful country retreat. 5 star stay!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Chapel House

Where the rainbow ends.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Where the rainbow ends.
The open-plan living space downstairs compliments a holiday atmosphere. It's snowing.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
97 reviews
Where the rainbow ends.
The open-plan living space downstairs compliments a holiday atmosphere.
It's snowing.
Flaming June
The view from the front door.
A double staircase circumventing a king post truss or vertical beam
The meadow opposite.
Walk from the door into open country or visit our two lovely pubs just two minutes down the hill.
Snowy frolics in the village.
The Kitchen Window
The dining area.
A spacious, light and airy bathroom
The newly extended car park.
The well-equipped kitchen, part of the open-plan downstairs. Cook, socialise and enjoy the view.
The Gate, voted 'Most Unspoilt Pub in England 2017' by The Good Pub Guide. Good food too.
A few hundred feet from Chapel House.
Cosy bedrooms with fabulous views across the valley.
Period features; the original Victorian shutters and bolts.
The White Peak at sunset
The small bedroom.
Up, up, up and away in my beautiful balloon - fly from Tissington or Chatsworth.
Through the arched window.
High up on the edge of the village but feels like open country.
A 12kw woodburner and electric heating will keep you warm in winter.
Friendly locals.
Near Rainster Rocks (10 mins walk). Panoramic views towards Parwich. This was once a tropical sea.
Everywhere that I roam...... Show me the way to go home.
A green and pleasant land.
Harboro rocks on the village outskirts. A Mecca for climbing beginners.
Not far from Pemberley?
View from the bathroom. Brush your teeth and watch buzzards at the same time.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Brassington, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 97 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
KateNorth...
North London
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Beautiful country retreat. 5 star stay!”
Reviewed 8 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

I took my boyfriend to Chapel House on March 20th for 3 nights to celebrate his birthday. I had been recommended by friends and what a recommendation it was!!

Chapel house: Super pretty, cosy, quirky features. Just two of us for the weekend but more than enough space and would work well for a family. Lots of hot water, a beautiful fire and stunning views onto the rolling hills. With a parking space near to the house we found it to be very practical for us. There are lots of walking route guides and attraction leaflets in the house which were very helpful for us. We took some food and there was all of the kitchen equipment we needed. Very very clean.

The village: Is very pretty, there are two pubs in walking distance.

The owner: David was extremely helpful l in answering some questions before we went and advising us about walking routes and pubs. David also gave really good instructions for the location/key info etc.

Recommended activities: We did the High Peak trail, about 8 miles and also Dovedale (my walking highlight) also lunch at The George in Alstonefield which I’d suggest booking in advance as it was very busy (dog friendly) about 30 min drive from Chapel House. We spent our evenings in the house relaxing - it was very quiet and tranquil.

We can't wait to visit again - don't hesitate booking here if you want a beautiful, countryside retreat.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful, pretty and cosy house, location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil B
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
Reviewed 26 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Really comfortable place with great walks literally on your door step. The kitchen is also very well equipped so you can really get cooking some great food for your family.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrs O
Towcester, United Kingdom
1 review
“A home-from-home in a fabulous location”
Reviewed 7 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

This cottage has a very homely feel and is equipped with everything we could have wished for. There are wonderful views from all the windows and numerous walks right on the doorstep. With two pubs in the village and a 24 hour "shop" one can have a very relaxing stay without having to head out to eat or shop.
The owner was extremely helpful and accommodating especially as we made our booking very much at the last minute, and we always felt that we could have contacted him should we have had any problems or queries.
We can highly recommend Chapel House.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa M
Manasquan, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Perfect Christmas in the English Countryside”
Reviewed 10 February 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Chapel House was the perfect location for a Christmas to remember with my family. Set on the hillside overlooking the quaint and friendly village of Brassington, the views and hikes from the cottage we breathtaking! The cottage was clean, warm and well equipped- it definitely felt like home away from home. The beds we super comfortable and the fireplace kept it nice and toasty on the chilly evenings. The 2 pubs in the village were a quick walk from the cottage and had fantastic food and warm and wonderful people. We can't wait to return sometime in the future!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Superwoma...
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely cosy cottage”
Reviewed 12 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Lovely cosy cottage with a great log burner for enjoying evenings in with a glass of wine and a book after a days walking. We had three lovely walks during our stay. Carsington water is close by with a fantastic circular walk round the reservoir and Dovedale is close too for a walk along a river. We also walked up to the High peak trail straight from the cottage. The cottage had everything we needed and was very tidy and clean. Certainly hope to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Log burner
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fran G
Oslo, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely property and super helpful and accommodating host”
Reviewed 6 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

Chapel House was very well equipped and perfectly located with lovely walks from the door and a couple of nice pubs nearby. The owner, David, was incredibly helpful, giving us tips for walks and meals and helping us with transport options when we ended up without a car. The only downside was that the house was a bit chilly. Once we had the fire really roaring for a few hours though, things definitely improved.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jan 2015
My sincere apologies it was a bit chilly when you arrived. Because of the snow and ice, the cleaner wasn't able to get up to the house until very late in the day and this may have been a factor. However it should not have happened and I am very sorry.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michycos
1 review
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 2 January 2015 for a stay in November 2014

Chapel house was a wonderful break from the city. The house itself is beautiful inside with its wooden beams and original interior. The surrounding village is very quaint and everyone is extremely friendly. David was so helpful in organising wood for the fire before we arrived and the house was in an immaculate condition. There are lots of helpful brochures and books on what activities there are to do in the surrounding area. Overall, we had a great stay and will be revisiting! Highly reccommended.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing