We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Chapel House

Where the rainbow ends.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Where the rainbow ends.
The open-plan living space downstairs compliments a holiday atmosphere. It's snowing.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
97 reviews
Where the rainbow ends.
The open-plan living space downstairs compliments a holiday atmosphere.
It's snowing.
Flaming June
The view from the front door.
A double staircase circumventing a king post truss or vertical beam
The meadow opposite.
Walk from the door into open country or visit our two lovely pubs just two minutes down the hill.
Snowy frolics in the village.
The Kitchen Window
The dining area.
A spacious, light and airy bathroom
The newly extended car park.
The well-equipped kitchen, part of the open-plan downstairs. Cook, socialise and enjoy the view.
The Gate, voted 'Most Unspoilt Pub in England 2017' by The Good Pub Guide. Good food too.
A few hundred feet from Chapel House.
Cosy bedrooms with fabulous views across the valley.
Period features; the original Victorian shutters and bolts.
The White Peak at sunset
The small bedroom.
Up, up, up and away in my beautiful balloon - fly from Tissington or Chatsworth.
Through the arched window.
High up on the edge of the village but feels like open country.
A 12kw woodburner and electric heating will keep you warm in winter.
Friendly locals.
Near Rainster Rocks (10 mins walk). Panoramic views towards Parwich. This was once a tropical sea.
Everywhere that I roam...... Show me the way to go home.
A green and pleasant land.
Harboro rocks on the village outskirts. A Mecca for climbing beginners.
Not far from Pemberley?
View from the bathroom. Brush your teeth and watch buzzards at the same time.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Brassington, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 97 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
RTD1
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great location”
Reviewed 9 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Ideally located for sight seeing and walks. Our two children loved the field opposite the Chapel and seeing the sheep. Chapel House was as described and comfortably furnished - children slept very soundly in their beds, which is always a bonus! Excellent communication by the owner with lots of hints and tips. We were very happy with our choice and would certainly see if we could stay again if we visit this area in the future.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PReader59
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ideal for a few days away”
Reviewed 5 July 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We booked Chapel House so our adult family could spend some quality time together for a long weekend, away from work and home responsibilities.
Chapel House was perfect. Bedrooms for two couples and one single so ideal for party. The house really did have everything we might need. Every pot, pan and utensil. Books, DVDs and CDs, something to suit everyone's taste. So should the weather be bad, no worry.
We are in on the Friday and Monday evening and ventured to Ye Olde Gate Inn on the Saturday. This was with some trepidation because of comments read online about the landlord. Fair enough, not a bouncy personality but he runs a lovely pub and the food? Outstanding in both quality and quantity. So we recommend it.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mellonz
Englewood, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Chapel House - The perfect escape!”
Reviewed 30 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My Mum and I recently stayed at Chapel House & thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

The accommodation is beautifully maintained & very clean. It is well equipped to make meals at home, but I can also highly recommend Ye Olde Gate Inn public house located only a very short walk from the house.

There are three very comfortable bedrooms; the small back bedroom is perfect to experience the sounds of the countryside & I thoroughly enjoyed waking up to the sounds of the spring birds & sheep located in the field opposite Chapel House.

Communication from the owner, David, was excellent & the information that he sent was extremely helpful, he even took the time to send a photograph of the best way to park in the allocated car parking space, which can be tricky depending on the size of the car. For any people concerned about parking, there is plenty of parking in the village which is only 5 mins walk from the house, you can cut through the church grounds where there is a pathway to the left which brings you out right by Chapel House.

The location of Chapel House is excellent with easy access & beautiful scenic drives to Bakewell, Buxton Castleton and many more areas. I highly recommend a drive through Winnats pass, which is absolutely breathtaking (Address: Winnats Pass, Castleton, Hope Valley, Derbyshire. Postcode: S33 8WA for your Sat Nav.) Haddon House with it's breathtaking gardens is also just a short drive away.

I would not hesitate to recommend Chapel House; it is the perfect getaway, situated in an utterly idyllic location.

Thank you David!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The remote location
Liked least: having to leave!
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jul 2015
Thanks very much for your kind comments. I am pleased to be able to say - prospective guests please note - that the car park is being extended and the work should be completed during August 2015.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny U
Bude, United Kingdom
1 review
“Marvellous for a holiday or your own personal bolthole”
Reviewed 29 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

My wife and I regularly rent holiday accommodation and are very hard to please. I can say, though, that I looked very hard but could not find anything to fault. The cottage was comfortable and cosy and the woodburner would be great (and a little romantic) in the winter.
Well worth the awful 10 hour journey home!

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewis G
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“peaceful, cosy & beautiful”
Reviewed 1 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Arrangements very easy. Chapel lovely for adults and young children. Excellent access to the Peak District. No garden but straight out to a path and a lovely climb up a rocky field. Ideal for a family holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: characterful property
Liked least: usage limited internet
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seb901
Newport Pagnell, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to escape, fantastic countryside right on the doorstep.”
Reviewed 5 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Very cosy place, wood burning stove really added to the charm. The only downside was no private outside space, however the house was right next to open fields with a footpath accessing acres of countryside, so not really a problem. The owner was very helpful when needed. Had a fantastic long weekend here, plenty to see and do nearby. Would highly recommend it to anyone.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 May 2015
Thank you for your kind comments. Chapel House does have a garden, with commanding views over the village. On a clear day you can see for 30 miles. You can sit on the limestone outcrops, almost 1000 feet above sea level, and watch the sun fall down. And in spring you may be joined by lambs and calves. The only thing is, it is not a PRIVATE garden but it is, literally, outside the front door - look at the pics. Seriously, if you desire a private enclosed garden, then you may need to look elsewhere but many guests remark that there is clearly no need for a 'garden' here, as long as you don't mind the occasional hiker saying hello. The footpath outside the front door runs all the way to The High Peak Trail.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keri1987
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect country getaway from a hectic city lifestyle”
Reviewed 29 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

My friends and I travelled to the Peak District from London, wanting a quiet, relaxing break and Chapel House was the perfect accommodation we could have chosen. Set in the quaint, pretty little village of Brassington, with beautiful surroundings and miles of greenery. We awoke every morning to the birds singing and looked out the window to see the lambs playing. David left some great information on where to visit in the area, and across the 3 days we were there. we always had something to do. We went horse riding, country walking, Go Apeing (not for those who are petrified of heights- like me!!!) and Caving.

We went to both pubs in the village, and ate at Ye Olde Gate Inn, which was absolutely beautiful. My boyfriend and I had the sirloin steak, which was exceptional, our friends had the venison and lamb, which they also rated very highly. The locals are very friendly and welcoming and we got some good tips of where to go in Buxton, including Poole's Cavern. It was always lovely to return to Chapel House, with the warm fire in the evenings and a glass of red wine!

One tip - do go food shopping as there isn't a shop in the village, only a small vending machine, which does sell essentials, but I would recommend getting your bits from the Sainsbury's or Waitrose in Ashbourne, which is 5 miles away- but get your meat from the butchers (also in Ashbourne).

Chapel House has everything you need for a relaxing break in the beautiful countryside, and I will definitely be recommending to all my friends and family. I wish I was still there!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing