We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peace in the Peak District”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Chapel House

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
98 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Brassington, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 98 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Margaret...
Colchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peace in the Peak District”
Reviewed 27 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We enjoyed our stay at Chapel House. It is very comfortable and equipped with everything you need. The wood burner was fun and Arthur's logs kept us warm in the evenings.The location is exceptional, views from the windows over the roofs of the village at the front and baby lambs at the back. The local roads are quirky but lead to what must be some of the best countryside in the country. We enjoyed Wirksworth and Cromford where we dined at La Mistral and The Boat Inn. Great coffee at Fcoffee in Matlock Bath.

Date of stay: May 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannie S
1 review
“An unforgettable stay in Chapel House”
Reviewed 14 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We had a wonderful time in Chapel House. A comfortable and well equipped cottage in a nice friendly village and in a beautiful environment Two nice pubs with excellent food. And not to forget being able to walk from the door into the countryside.

Date of stay: April 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah_Fir...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“BEST CHRISTMAS EVER!!!!!”
Reviewed 13 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at the STUNNING Chapel House for Christmas as a half way point for myself in London and my family in Leeds.
I got there early with my wife in order to make the place all Christmassy.
The Chapel House itself is absolutely beautiful. With a very well equipped kitchen - if you can make a Christmas dinner in a kitchen without bringing anything then I would say that's a kitchen equipped for anything!! The living space is perfect, the log fire is addictive (Arthur a local man supplies wood, buy double what you think you'll need - trust me - the poor bloke ended up coming round three times in one week)!!
Upstairs there is a bathroom/shower which never ran out of hot water - and three double bedrooms, clean, comfy and from one of the bedrooms you can see the stars from lying in bed - does it get any better!!
Yes it does - It is walking distance to the two local pubs - no local shops however The Miners pub does have a gigantic vending machine with all the corner shop necessities in. We had everything delivered (for the whole christmas week) by Morrisons which also worked out perfectly!! We thought they may struggle to find us or get up the village roads - but the guy was early!!!
Everyone in the village that we came across was lovely - they welcome you in to their pubs and like a chat too. None of those 'what you doing in my pub' looks!!!
Overall our stay was fantastic - David was extremely helpful before booking, before we got there and during our stay!! BOOK IT NOW!!! you will not regret it!!!!

Date of stay: December 2016
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerome C
1 review
“Lovely time at Chapel House.”
Reviewed 7 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Lovely time at Chapel House. Very comfortable. Lovely space. Super village. Nice walks from the door.

Date of stay: October 2016
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunshine6...
1 review
“Superb, characterful accommodation in beautiful landscape”
Reviewed 21 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Lovely old former Methodist chapel in quiet, hilly village surrounded by brilliant walking country with some of the Peak District's finest valleys and hills within a short drive. The chapel is cosy (woodburning stove!) and beautifully appointed and there are two excellent pubs just a few minutes' walk away. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: October 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: character
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise M
Bollington, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely Stay”
Reviewed 19 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We stayed for a long weekend for my daughters first birthday and it was perfect. Loved the converted chapel, a really unique property. Wood burning stove made it really cosy and Brassington is such a beautiful area. Really well equipped and excellent cot / highchair. Highly reccommend.

Date of stay: October 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
934leee
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic property in ideal location”
Reviewed 4 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Fantastic property in ideal location for the Peak District National Park. Heart in mouth road to get to Chapel House just adds to the charm. First visit to the Peak District and all parts are easy to get to from the property with Bakewell (the town and pudding) a favourite. If you do not want to venture too far afield there is a lovely hillside walk just opposite the property, complete with sheep and cows that provide the morning alarm call!

Date of stay: August 2016
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.