We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cosy hideaway in beautiful surroundings.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Chapel House

Where the rainbow ends.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Where the rainbow ends.
The open-plan living space downstairs compliments a holiday atmosphere. It's snowing.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
97 reviews
Where the rainbow ends.
The open-plan living space downstairs compliments a holiday atmosphere.
It's snowing.
Flaming June
The view from the front door.
A double staircase circumventing a king post truss or vertical beam
The meadow opposite.
Walk from the door into open country or visit our two lovely pubs just two minutes down the hill.
Snowy frolics in the village.
The Kitchen Window
The dining area.
A spacious, light and airy bathroom
The newly extended car park.
The well-equipped kitchen, part of the open-plan downstairs. Cook, socialise and enjoy the view.
The Gate, voted 'Most Unspoilt Pub in England 2017' by The Good Pub Guide. Good food too.
A few hundred feet from Chapel House.
Cosy bedrooms with fabulous views across the valley.
Period features; the original Victorian shutters and bolts.
The White Peak at sunset
The small bedroom.
Up, up, up and away in my beautiful balloon - fly from Tissington or Chatsworth.
Through the arched window.
High up on the edge of the village but feels like open country.
A 12kw woodburner and electric heating will keep you warm in winter.
Friendly locals.
Near Rainster Rocks (10 mins walk). Panoramic views towards Parwich. This was once a tropical sea.
Everywhere that I roam...... Show me the way to go home.
A green and pleasant land.
Harboro rocks on the village outskirts. A Mecca for climbing beginners.
Not far from Pemberley?
View from the bathroom. Brush your teeth and watch buzzards at the same time.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Brassington, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 97 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
hilary w
leigh
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cosy hideaway in beautiful surroundings.”
Reviewed 15 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Lovely accommodation. Very cosy and spacious at the same time. Everything you could need. Washer, drier, dishwasher, fully equipped kitchen, great bathroom, log burning fire and more ....... Spent a week as two couples, but certainly spacious enough to allow privacy. Friendly and helpful owner. Would definitely recommend. Many thanks for a great holiday.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
janiebee1...
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“The best location ever!”
Reviewed 23 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Quirky chapel conversion in a stunning location, with everything you need for a lovely vacation. A great base to totally relax and chilled out after a day walking and sight seeing in the Peak District. David is the perfect host, so helpful.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kim w
1 review
“5 Stars Are Not Enough”
Reviewed 1 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

As you enter Brassington the first thing you feel as if you've been transported into Ken Russels 'Women in Love'. This 17th century village has beautifuls bursting gardens of color and little foot paths that wind through this tiny village.
As I chef, I was very pleased to see David's well stocked kitchen, lots of pots and pans and utensils and even a small pantry of necessary items. After dinner we took the permissive pathway to the top of the hill for a 360degree view of the sunset. I swear you could see Cornwall! And in the morning, we were greeted by the sound of a thousand birds, each singing a different tune... then the cows stopped by for a visit. It was a truly magical 5 days and I'd like to thank David for his hospitality and generosity of spirit. He was only a text away from whatever we needed and was genuinely interested in making sure we had whatever we needed.
Brassington is a very special place... and this California native will be back!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret...
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Peace in the Peak District”
Reviewed 27 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We enjoyed our stay at Chapel House. It is very comfortable and equipped with everything you need. The wood burner was fun and Arthur's logs kept us warm in the evenings.The location is exceptional, views from the windows over the roofs of the village at the front and baby lambs at the back. The local roads are quirky but lead to what must be some of the best countryside in the country. We enjoyed Wirksworth and Cromford where we dined at La Mistral and The Boat Inn. Great coffee at Fcoffee in Matlock Bath.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannie S
1 review
“An unforgettable stay in Chapel House”
Reviewed 14 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We had a wonderful time in Chapel House. A comfortable and well equipped cottage in a nice friendly village and in a beautiful environment Two nice pubs with excellent food. And not to forget being able to walk from the door into the countryside.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah F
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“BEST CHRISTMAS EVER!!!!!”
Reviewed 13 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at the STUNNING Chapel House for Christmas as a half way point for myself in London and my family in Leeds.
I got there early with my wife in order to make the place all Christmassy.
The Chapel House itself is absolutely beautiful. With a very well equipped kitchen - if you can make a Christmas dinner in a kitchen without bringing anything then I would say that's a kitchen equipped for anything!! The living space is perfect, the log fire is addictive (Arthur a local man supplies wood, buy double what you think you'll need - trust me - the poor bloke ended up coming round three times in one week)!!
Upstairs there is a bathroom/shower which never ran out of hot water - and three double bedrooms, clean, comfy and from one of the bedrooms you can see the stars from lying in bed - does it get any better!!
Yes it does - It is walking distance to the two local pubs - no local shops however The Miners pub does have a gigantic vending machine with all the corner shop necessities in. We had everything delivered (for the whole christmas week) by Morrisons which also worked out perfectly!! We thought they may struggle to find us or get up the village roads - but the guy was early!!!
Everyone in the village that we came across was lovely - they welcome you in to their pubs and like a chat too. None of those 'what you doing in my pub' looks!!!
Overall our stay was fantastic - David was extremely helpful before booking, before we got there and during our stay!! BOOK IT NOW!!! you will not regret it!!!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing