We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you dont want to squeeze into it, please dont look for it”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of ibis budget Geneva

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
ibis budget Geneva
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Cointrin
GreenLeadersBronze level
Noida, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“If you dont want to squeeze into it, please dont look for it”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Its nearby to airport hence connectivity is good, in a greener quieter area with mall in front of us so every basic commodities can be found. You can catch bus to reach city which is hardly 15-20 mins from hotel.

Despite all this, I would like to be bit pessimist despite knowing its a budget hotel.
Yes its a budget hotel, but you are charging almost 80 euros for 1 night and guess what, i had to look for space in this hotel. With two person it looked like crowd staying in a hotel room. Bathroom is so narrow, its either you fit in or the shower.

What was annoying factor for us was we cannot open the window... are you kidding... with no space inside we cannot even gasp for fresh air..

it was warm weather , room baking like oven and we cannot open the window.. is it a room or microwave oven..

Sorry but you cant offer us a oven to squeeze into in name of budget hotel and that too at 80 euros for 1 night.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Raviranjan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

885 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    424
    233
    62
    38
See reviews for
160
212
155
270
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brighton
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I stayed here for 3 nights on a recent visit to Geneva. Although I’d not stayed here before I had been to the Balexert shopping centre which is opposite and seen where the hotel was. For an out-of-town location you would be hard pressed to find somewhere better connected, with the number 10 trolleybus from Rive to the Aeroport stopping opposite, and Tram lines 14 and 18 on the other side of Balexert. So although you are not in the centre of town you can get there fairly fast! Balexert itself is a major plus for me as well, housing as it does a range of shops including C&A and FNAC, as well as a large hypermarket, Migros and a branch of McDonalds. The Pathe cinema attached also shows Hollywood VO films (ie in English) although i didn't see any of those their website has details.

The hotel itself seems to have ‘refreshed’ rooms, i.e. not what Accor call the ‘Cocoon’ style of room but the more ‘classic’ bunk bed above the double bed arrangement, but with contemporary touches such as wooden floors. However they are clean and tidy, ideal for Solo travellers. I always wonder how 2 or 3 people would manage though. As I’ve mentioned in previous reviews I always hate the fact that if there are channels not in the local language, the English one is always News, eg CNN. So I was thrilled to find out that this hotel had BBC Entertainment as well as CNN. That is a big plus for me and I wish more hotels would follow their example. I need to rest in the evenings and you get sooo bored with news channels after a while, although i do like to dip into the local tv as well.

I had a north-facing room with a lovely view of the mountains (and the Airport) but Airport noise didn’t bother me as you only heard the odd plane and it was lovely to wake up to the Mountains.

The free wi-fi is very good when it works but having to constantly log back in and pick up a new code every 24 hours became a bit of a pain!

All in all very happy with my choice and hope to return again sometime soon - Merci!

Room Tip: Choose a north facing room as away from the traffic and with a mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrightonMiranda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 June 2014

On a direct bus route from Geneva airport so easy to find. Modern hotel with WiFi . Very clean rooms well thought out space with larger than average shower. TV in room . Comfortable bed. Bus stop across the road straight into the heart of Geneva . 24hr travel pass free from reception.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank charltoneb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Awful customer service, thin walls & no separate bathroom. Greeted by man on reception who couldn't even find our booking, even though hotel up road (we'd gone to in error) had confirmed we were booked here. Even tried to blame us for the confusion-surely all you need is a last name, how hard can it be! Anyway, was tired from long travel so took keycard & went to room. Walls are thin, like cardboard. Was kept awake by loud banging & shouting from various rooms. Was only 1 night so didn't complain even though banging & shouting started early morning too. Got to reception, waited patiently for receptionist to finish with another customer but too large african men decided they should be seen first, pushed to front of reception & staff said nothing. At this point I lost my temper, left card on side & left. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone, ever & certainly will not return & it's a dodgy area-not recommended

Room Tip: there are no good rooms-spend your cash elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nesskins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcFISCHER, Directeur général at ibis budget Geneva, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear sir,

Thank you for taking time to give your feedback on your stay in our establishment.

Please let me offer you our most sincere apologies for the inconvenience you encountered. We are very concerned to learn of the difficulties you had while a guest at our hotel. Our goal is to deliver high-quality hospitality to every guest on every stay, starting from your arrival at the hotel until departure. I am truly sorry we did not meet your expectations on this occasion.

Please rest assured that we are most grateful to you for having taken the time to bring these matters to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cointrin hotels

Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Has the chance to stay here on a visit to Geneva. The rooms are very small, there were no dental kits and they serve a very cold breakfast. On the positive side, the location is perfect. Bang opposite to a mall and close to the airport. Staff members were helpful at large and gave us free tickets for Zone 21. An easy come easy go place. Recommended for one evening though bookings in advance would save cost.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the mall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Parijat2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
162 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Very convenient for the airport, the frequent Number 10 bus in 5 minutes, which can also take you to the city centre. This is a new hotel, part of the Accor group (with a Novotel adjacent, and sharing a restaurant). My room was an adequate size: double bed, reasonably comfortable, with bunk for a child above suitable for kids above 6 and, I guess, below 11 (I was alone). Small shower with good shower pressure in a plastic cubicle - fine. Loo in another plastic cubicle - fine. Very good housekeeping. Efficient front desk. Wifi free and worked well. But this is a budget hotel, so the towels aren't really thick enough, the sheets are a bit rough, breakfast buffet and coffee not good. There's a big mall across the road, Balexert, where you could probably find something better. I wouldn't want to stay here more than a night or two, and certainly wouldn't want to come for a romantic interlude. It caters for business trips, which is why it's much cheaper at weekends CHF 118 vs CHF 143.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian_de_Kilburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tegryn, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

OK, so it is clean, but that is the only positive I can find.

Stayed here one night as everywhere else full in Geneva. Room tiny, bathroom and toilet tiny - breakfast ridiculously expensive for what it was. Thankfully I was alone in the room - definitely not room for two in the double.

Only thing non-budget about this place is the price! CHF189 for room only!!

Thankfully found a room in the Swissotel Metropole for my second night....bliss!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueGlorney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cointrin
0.6 mi away
Ibis Geneve Aeroport Hotel
0.6 mi away
Nash Airport Hotel
Nash Airport Hotel
#5 of 6 in Cointrin
620 reviews
0.0 mi away
Novotel Suites Geneve
Novotel Suites Geneve
#2 of 6 in Cointrin
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
ibis Geneve Centre Nations
1.4 mi away
NH Geneva Airport
NH Geneva Airport
#2 of 2 in Meyrin
865 reviews
2.2 mi away
ibis budget Geneve Petit Lancy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis budget Geneva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis budget Geneva

Property: ibis budget Geneva
Address: avenue Louis-Casai 30, Cointrin 1216, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Cointrin
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Cointrin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — ibis budget Geneva 1*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ibis budget Geneve (ex Etap Hotel) is an economy hotel located across from the Balexert shopping centre, a 15-minute walk from the airport. The hotel has 204 comfortable rooms with air-cooling system, free WiFi, pay parking and a restaurant nearby. Enjoy an economical stay on a weekend or during the week in Geneve for two, with the family or in a group. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your ibis budget Geneva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etap Hotel Cointrin
Etap Hotel Geneva
Etap Geneva
Ibis Budget Geneva Canton Of Geneva, Switzerland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing