We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spacious, luxurious rooms, but no AC”
Review of Hotel Baslertor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Baslertor
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Muttenz
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Spacious, luxurious rooms, but no AC”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

For $260 a night, you expect AC, but there was none. It was only in the 60s/70s (F) outside, but we couldn't keep the windows open, because there were no screens, and we started to get some mosquitoes. The result? It ended up pushing 80 degrees in the room, and I couldn't sleep.

Other than that, the hotel was great. The room was huge with VERY comfy beds (and fluffy comforters, a rarity in European hotels), the bathroom was equally huge, and they provide a tea and coffee set along with a fairly full set of toiletries for the bath. The decoration of the hotel was quite interesting. To me, it felt a bit like being in a 70s- or 80s-era James Bond movie.

Muttenz is a small town outside Basel. It takes about 20-25 minutes to get into the city by metro, and hotel provided us with a free metro pass.

We had some trouble with the wifi - it worked fine on the iPhone, but not on the PC. I ended up having to connect to the network manually, since the login page wasn't coming up as it should have.

Breakfast was not included, and we ended up having our own yogurt, cereal, and coffee in the room - there's a Coop grocery store right next door to the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lph4248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manuela H, Manager at Hotel Baslertor, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Guest

many thanks for your kind review.

Here in Switzerland there are just a few really hot days.
Because of this we have deliberately decided against aircontioned rooms. So we make a major contribution to protect our environment. We feel confident that you will appreciate this.
To make the stay even on hot days as comfortable as possible all guests will find a fan in the room. Also we provided 2 free bottles of mineral water per day in the minibar.
Also during your future stay maybe in low season for a cheaper rate (we have daily rates and specially during Art fair the prices increase) you will profit from this.

We look forward to welcome you soon again.

Kind regards

Manuela Hosch, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    30
    12
    2
    0
See reviews for
11
7
6
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Porvoo
Level Contributor
43 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Hotel is in the middle of the quiet little town. The check-in and out service was efficient and polite. The room was what you would expect from a 3-star hotel but it was also spotless and quite spacious. However, there is no aircon and the room got very warm although it is only March. Fitness room is fine and everything worked ok. Breakfast is another story: this is the strangest arrangement that I have come across. The hotel guests with the breakfast voucher are only allowed to enjoy some bread rolls and cold-cuts and non-bottled drinks. The warm dishes and bottled juices etc. are for the non-guests of the hotel - I presume. I was firmly instructed to return a small bottle of juice i had mistakenly taken from the tray that was not apparently for the hotel guests..

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank globetrottingfin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manuela H, Manager at Hotel Baslertor, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Guest

many thanks for staying with us at our ***Hotel Baslertor. We would like to thank you for your review. It is only possible for us to maintain our standards or even improve ourselves, if we get a feedback from our guests.

At the moment we have very cold temperatures in the morning and warm temperatures during the day. We know the problem of this special season. Our heating system is still working to hold the rooms warm for the morning hours. In every room the heaters can be switched on or off to adjust the right temperature by the guests themselve .

About our breakfast buffet: You are right all take away staff (botteled drinks and sandwiches) are not included in our breakfast buffet. But we feel confident that we have a good price/performance ratio. There is a big selection, also of warm dishes (eggs, omelett...) If you miss anything else on our breakfast buffet during your next stay please le us know.

All in all, we hope to welcoming you soon again here in Muttenz and we wish you all the best in the future.

Yours sincerely
Hotel Baslertor

Manuela Hosch, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

As you emerge out of the elevator from the underground carpark into the Baslertor lobby, you are met with the most bonkers carpet ever chosen for a seemingly reliable but decidedly middle of the road city centre hotel. It is bright tangerine with black polka dots and there are acres of it. All through the lobby, up the wide stairs, down the room corridors. It is a gaudy and odd choice, not what one would expect, and kinda nice and funny because of that!
The reception was warm, friendly and efficient and the room clean, spacious, well equipped. And it was a deep joy to find a modern hotel with windows that opened entirely. A point to note here is that the reception desk closes at 10pm, so if you are out of the main body of the hotel after this time, you need to be fully aware of the alternate procedures for getting back in.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manuela H, General Manager at Hotel Baslertor, responded to this review, 18 June 2016
Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Almere, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
107 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We stayed in this hotel on our way to Italy and had 2 rooms. We had a very good price (50% discount on the normal rates).
The rooms are spacious, with a moving "wall" as a door to the bathroom. The bed is at the entrance of the room, the bathroom is at the window side. As mentioned by others: THIS HOTEL HAS NO AIRCONDITIONING!!! At our stay it was 30°C plus and in the room it was HOT. There is in every room a ventilator but due to the layout of the room and the window shutters it only moves hot air. Our other room at least had a window in the bedroom so that helped a bit cooling down.
At our arrival we were handed out vouchers for breakfast (or at least we thought so, there was no other explanation by the deskstaff), which was a pleasent surprise since we did not book breakfast. The wakeup at checking out was huge: the voucher was for 15 Franks, but per person, and not inclusive. The charge for breakfast was almost as high as our room! And that in a restaurant of a supermarket. So, stay at the hotel and pay for the items you eat in the restaurant itself (unless you eat a lot at breakfast, the prices are high in Swiss).
There are lot of free parking spaces next to the hotel if you only park at night.

Room Tip: ask for a corner room so you have a window in your bedroom for fresh air.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank piko66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manuela H, General Manager at Hotel Baslertor, responded to this review, 18 June 2016
Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lugano, Ticino, Switzerland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We stayed for two nights, my wife and I in an apartment in the hotel and my daughter and grandson in a hotel room. The room was clean, well equipped and the price was quite reasonable by Swiss standards. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful and spoke excellent English.
We only ate breakfast in the restaurant, which offered a good continental breakfast selection and the coffee, served from an automated machine, was excellent, which is quite unusual.
The hotel is located within easy reach of the motorway network and is excellent if one is on business, as there are numerous large companies within a few minutes of the hotel. The tram service into Basel city is a 2 minute walk from the hotel and offers an efficient and cost effective travel option.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manuela H, Manager at Hotel Baslertor, responded to this review, 30 June 2013
Google Translation
Sehr geehrter Herr Chris M.

Schön, dass Sie bei uns zu Gast waren und Ihnen Ihr Aufenthalt im Hotel Baslertor gefallen hat. Wir bedanken uns herzlich dafür, dass Sie sich die Zeit genommen haben, den Fragebogen auszufüllen.

Jede Kritik, ob sie nun positiv oder negativ ist, ist für uns ein Ansporn, weiterhin alles daran zu setzen, dass sich unsere Gäste im Hotel Baslertor wohlfühlen. Ihr Kommentar trägt zu unserem täglichen Verbesserungsprozess bei.

Ihr positives Feedback freut uns sehr - vielen Dank!

Wir hoffen, Sie schon bald erneut bei uns in Muttenz willkommen zu heissen und wünschen Ihnen inzwischen alles Gute.


Mit besten Grüssen


Hotel BASLERTOR



Manuela Hosch, Hôtelière
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
93 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

Stayed here 2 nights on business (we had meetings at various locals in and around Basel) and we found this a good location, both to get to our meetings, as for our dinner in town (we just took the tram around the corner).
Rooms are spacious, modern and clean. This is 3-star so don't expect anything luxurious, but the deal they have with the Coop restaurant for breakfast is good enough, and there's a bar in the hotel as well.
The only negative point is the absence of airconditioning anywhere in the building. As we had the bad luck of being here during the 2 hot days of June 2013, it was tough to get the room cool enough to sleep.
Other than that, it's quiet, comfortable, acceptable for business travellers on moderate budgets, so I can recommend it.
Room price we paid was 180 CHF per person per night, breakfast included.
There's an underground parking lot, available for a moderate fee.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slowlyraoundtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manuela H, General Manager at Hotel Baslertor, responded to this review, 18 June 2016
Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pilsen, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

I like good connection to Basel via tram 14 which stops just behind hotel. Rooms were clean, well equiped and big enough. During night there was always some noise around probably because of train station.Overall I pression is very good and I would choose this hotel again for next travel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee_CZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manuela H, General Manager at Hotel Baslertor, responded to this review, 18 June 2016
Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muttenz
Courtyard Basel
#1 of 2 in Pratteln
4.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
St. Alban
ibis budget Basel City
ibis budget Basel City
#31 of 51 in Basel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Coop Tagungszentrum
#1 of 3 in Muttenz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Eckert
#1 of 3 in Grenzach-Wyhlen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
St. Alban
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#21 of 51 in Basel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Baslertor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Baslertor

Property: Hotel Baslertor
Address: St. Jakob-Strasse 1, Muttenz 4132, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Basel > Muttenz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Muttenz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Baslertor 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The family-style Hotel Baslertor is situated in the picturesque and historic village of Muttenz, yet still close to the bustling city of Basel. We will be glad to accommodate you for lengthy stays too: in addition to 40 spacious rooms you can choose from 4 superior studios, 3 business rooms and 4 spacious and comfortable apartments for long stays. The bright, spacious rooms are quiet and equipped with the latest facilities. An integrated gym, shopping centre with pharmacy and the hotel's own underground car park provide additional comfort. Here you can take a step back and relax yet still enjoy the proximity to the centre of Basel, which is just a few minutes away by commuter train or tram. The EuroAirport Basel is also just 15 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Baslertor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Baslertor Muttenz, Canton Of Basel, Switzerland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing