We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great welcome!”
Review of Sorell Hotel Speer

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sorell Hotel Speer
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Rapperswil
Certificate of Excellence
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great welcome!”
Reviewed 2 September 2013 via mobile

Part of the Best Western owner run chain the Speer extends the hearty welcome one expects. I was pleasantly surprised by the quality of the accommodation. Rooms seem uniformly decorated with up to date features and of a decent size. Staff very helpful and a great location opposite the train station and taxi rank. The old town and lake are right on your doorstep. One word of warning, if you are a light sleeper, take earplugs as the church bell chimes frequently!

Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank AliTrev2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    94
    15
    2
    1
See reviews for
25
41
8
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

The hotel was nice enough with breakfast served in the morning. Our room was on the top floor and had a nice balcony with patio furniture. I would have given it five stars, but we were told that there was not any air conditioning in the hotel, but later found that other guests had air conditioning in their rooms. We had a stand alone fan, but it seemed to just move the warm air around. Best thing we could do was keep the doors to the balcony propped open.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cpetrini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 273 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

I only can reflect the other reviewers' positive remarks. The hotel is appealing, centrally located and staff is very welcoming. We booked and received the suite on top floor what enabled us to have both best sides rooms have to offer: a terrace overlooking parts of the lake and a tranquille panorama of the castle and into (historical) housing next to the hotel. For sleeping quality, the quiet back side was perfect for us. I am not sure how much the road (with a lot of constant traffic) would have impacted our sleeping.
The suite was nicely decorated. Bath room was more old fashioned but well maintained and functional.
Breakfast was good. Here again friendly service. We did not try the restaurant but had a drink at the bar, sitting outside.
We walked the boardwalk towards a nearby village with high quality restaurants (20' walking but there is also a local train running).
I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marbella, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

A good hotel located very central. The rooms are comfy, bathrooms are ok - shower pressure a bit volatile - service with a smile and a good breakfast buffet. We had a room on the top so had a very nice roof balcony overlooking the lake.

Room Tip: choose 504
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allandubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aalst, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

I spent only 1 night at this small but nice hotel. Well situated opposite of the train station. Great welcome from the receptionist who was very kind to lend me a swiss adaptor for my laptop charger. Good bar, impeccable refurbished room, full option breakfast. Lots of restaurants in the neighourhood with good food.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wgoddaert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013

The Best Western Hotel Speer is in a great location in Rapperswil: opposite the train station, and a few steps away from the lake, old town and shops. The staff is very nice and attentive, but the hotel itself is quite standard, and so are the rooms, although the special touch is in the bathroom: a rubber bear courtesy of the hotel, and a Japanese style toilet, the first one I've seen in a European hotel.

Wi-fi is free of charge, but I had problems with it and I was lent a cable to help me access the internet. And there's no fitness area, but they provide access to a gym 5 minutes away.

My only complaint is that I found the hotel too expensive for what it offers, but I guess it's a price in line with other properties in Switzerland, so given the chance I might come back.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank josmon10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Piedmont, South Dakota
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

This is a good hotel located right next to the historic waterfront in old Rapperswil. The rooms are faily basic but clean and comfortable. The front rooms at least have a small balcony with chairs overlooking the lake and train station.

The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful.

Parking is just a couple of hundred feet away in a city garage. Make parking arrangements beforehand as it can be a bit complicated getting in - but the location is specific to the hotel and is locked at all times.

The breakfast buffet was adequate with a good selection of foods.

Coming from the United States this hotel was quite expensive - but then again everything is in Switzerland and this hotel was a very good value.

Room Tip: Get a front view overlooking the train station - not as bad as it might sound.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rapperswil
0.1 mi away
Hotel Jakob
Hotel Jakob
#2 of 4 in Rapperswil
26 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Hirschen
Hotel Hirschen
#4 of 4 in Rapperswil
42 reviews
2.0 mi away
Seedamm Plaza
Seedamm Plaza
#1 of 2 in Pfaeffikon
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Rossli
12.9 mi away
Romantik Seehotel Sonne
Romantik Seehotel Sonne
#1 of 1 in Kusnacht
323 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Marina Lachen
Hotel Marina Lachen
#1 of 1 in Lachen
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sorell Hotel Speer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sorell Hotel Speer

Property: Sorell Hotel Speer
Address: Untere Bahnhofstrasse 5, Rapperswil 8640, Switzerland (Formerly Swiss Q Hotel)
Region: Switzerland > Canton of St. Gallen > Rapperswil
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Rapperswil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sorell Hotel Speer 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylishly decorated and with a unique light and colour concept, the air-conditioned rooms features accommodation in modern setting. All units come provided with a flat-screen digital TV with 200 domestic and international channels, as well as with a minibar and a safety deposit box. Free WiFi is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, HRS, Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sorell Hotel Speer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Rapperswil
Rapperswil Best Western
Best Western Speer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing