We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a well kept secret”
Review of Sorell Hotel Speer

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sorell Hotel Speer
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Rapperswil
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 June 2014

On my numerous trips to the Zurich area the Hotel Speer stands out as a great value, a good location (on the train line) and the very courteous staff. The rooms are on the smaller side (it is Europe) but they are more than adequate. The location is great - the city of Raperswil is a great little town. There are numerous restaurants to choose from and the town is a delightful walk. The Hotel's affiliation with a local fitness place is a great option. The Hotel's consistent high service level makes it a tough place to book - plan ahead it is worth it!

Stayed: July 2013
Thank Jeff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Urs H, Leiter Front Office at Sorell Hotel Speer, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear guest
With great pleasure we have discovered your feedback. Thank you so much for taking the time to do so. We are very happy you liked your recent stay in our hotel. It is an honour to get a feedback like yours and will encourage us to give a 100% every single day with all the power we have. Thank you again.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again.
BEST regards
Marianne Kniest
Head of Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (169)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 169 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

I found myself alone with my son and no baby sitter was available. The director offered to look after him during my ironman race. Very kind of her and way beyond her obligations.
On top of that the hotel is clean and modern. Not luxury but very good any way.

Stayed: May 2014
Thank Federicopolese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Urs H, Leiter Front Office at Sorell Hotel Speer, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014
Google Translation

Geschätzter Gast
Herzlichen Dank, dass Sie sich die Zeit genommen haben, unser Haus zu bewerten. Wir versuchen stehts, die Anliegen und Wünsche unserer Gäste nach BESTen Möglichkeiten zu erfüllen. Es freut uns sehr, wenn wir Ihnen einen Gefallen machen konnten. Wir hoffen, Sie bald wieder bei uns begrüssen zu dürfen.
BESTe Grüsse von Rapperswil
Marianne Kniest
Chef de Réception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

The staff at this perfectly allocated hotel are incredibly friendly. The rooms, though lacking the fancy water view you might get down the street, are more modern, and perfectly comfy and clean with nice balconies. The resto and bar downstairs are popular for non-hotel guests as well because they are that great. The free pass to Aura Vita health club is a wonderful feature. And, as is always important to us, they were very accommodating when it came to our small dogs. Totally recommended for a perfect home base for both business and pleasure.

Room Tip: You most certainly want the mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JLS813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Urs H, Front Office Manager at Sorell Hotel Speer, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.
Your business is very important to us and we value your Feedback. By telling us what you like about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior esprerience for you and other guestes in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.
BEST regards
Marianne Kniest
Head of Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

This was our second visit to this hotel and compared to 3 years ago, it is even better. The rooms got an upgrade and they really look nice. Excellent beds made us sleep like babies. The suite is also used as a family room, which is not completely what it is. It misses some storage space and a larger bathroom or separate toilet would be great. The coach which serves as an extra bed has a very thin mattress, resulting in a bad night for our doughter. But with just a simple question, this was solved by the hotel staff. They all are very friendly and helpful.
The hotel is easy to reach and plenty of restaurants and shops are around. yet it is very quiet at night.

Room Tip: rooms facing the street have a great view over the lake and surrounding hills.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank folker_lamote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013 via mobile

Rooms very clean and nice. Perfect location. Friendly staff. Had a family suite that was very roomy with nice views! Beds a bit hard, but comfy pillows and nice fluffy comforters! Bathroom could use an upgrade but was very clean ( that's being somewhat picky). Breakfast average

Stayed: December 2013
Thank 7Christian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Warm welcome, personnal friendly and helfull. Rooms are pretty large and really clean.
Parking is city underground one and expensive.(20 swiss francs a night!).
Nice view over the lake and old city. Nice bar and lounge, with outside sitting places, large choice of beverages and cool bartender.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J-C B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Fantastic stay and comfortable bed for a work trip. Air con would have made it great. Hotel restaurant amazing but busy. Great mini bar and power shower. Nice clean and comfortable. Would recommend, right opposite train station and set in a lovely area, great shopping and restaurants.

Room Tip: Ask for Air Con
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dionne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rapperswil
0.1 mi away
Hotel Jakob
Hotel Jakob
#2 of 3 in Rapperswil
28 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Hirschen
Hotel Hirschen
#3 of 3 in Rapperswil
45 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Rossli
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Seedamm Plaza
Seedamm Plaza
#1 of 2 in Pfaeffikon
287 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Marina Lachen
Hotel Marina Lachen
#1 of 1 in Lachen
134 reviews
15.1 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant Flyhof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sorell Hotel Speer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sorell Hotel Speer

Address: Untere Bahnhofstrasse 5, Rapperswil 8640, Switzerland (Formerly Swiss Q Hotel)
Region: Switzerland > Canton of St. Gallen > Rapperswil
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Rapperswil
Price Range: £136 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sorell Hotel Speer 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the historic town of Rapperswil, the traditional Sorell Hotel Speer is in a prime location. The "Speer" is a great place where people can meet up and a starting point for trips out into the Greater Zurich area or the nearby Old Town. The Sorell Hotel Speer is in the centre of Rapperswil, just opposite the railway station and the lake promenade. Rapperswil is well-connected by road and easily accessible by car or train. It is only 35 minutes away from the city of Zurich or its airport. The hotel's mountain bikes are the ideal way to discover Rapperswil and the surrounding area under your own steam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Sorell Hotel Speer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Rapperswil
Rapperswil Best Western
Best Western Speer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing